We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good but not great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good but not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I got a great deal for one night here. The room was pretty unremarkable, nothing special. The gentleman at the front desk helped me to arrange a canopy tour and instructed me to be in the lobby at 12:40. I waited and waited and the front desk called for me and they were expecting me to drive to them, and because I needed to hot the road for Quepos, I missed the tour. Not a huge deal but a minor annoyance. However for those going to Jaco Beach the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    58
    31
    24
    18
See reviews for
24
68
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this place and was more than happy with everything. The restaurant is awesome for some pretty american type food. The room was clean, sizeable, and had air-conditioning. The staff was great and the pool was a nice touch for after the beach relaxing. Speaking of the beach, you're practically on it as well. Throw in its location to the beach and being right in the center of town and your in a perfect spot for pretty cheap. Would definitely head here again if I needed a cheaper place to stay without going full out hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEdibleThong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked this place through a Lonely Planet suggestion and were underwhelmed. We saw no one else at this hotel while we were there and the staff looked bored and slow to react to our needs. Granted it is June, but this is prime honeymoon season and feeling welcome is helpful. Our room was certainly not tastefully decorated. The bathrooms had nice showers but we were put in the only room without a nice curved shower, a room back in the corner without any light and the place was empty (?). Stayed one night and the breakfast was the first half of what you normally get in CR, fruit and bread. That's it. We had our items and left. The wireless didn't work in the room we were given, had to go down to the pool. Swim up bar was closed and the patio needed cleaning. All in all seemed like an off season lazy time, which normally was fine across the country, just seemed like people were taking it easy on the efforts on the place. Room was big but the walls were dingy and light switches were stained brown, maybe the place used to be smoking allowed? A coat of white paint and some decent lighting and it might not be too bad. Springs in the mattresses were prominent. Paid $80, felt like this was too much.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the pool/reception for good wireless connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoseidonOwner, Owner at Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are sorry that you did not feel our staff was very "welcoming" as you stated. Normally we like to put Honeymoon couples in the back area for some privacy. You stated that you did not think the decorations were "tasteful", most people do like the decor of our rooms though we admit there are elephants on the bedspreads instead of Monkeys or Macaws. I just finished looking in the room you described, which we are pretty sure is #14. The shower is just as big as the other rooms though, not curved as you stated. Since you stayed with us in June and now review us in July it is hard to know if a light bulb or 2 was out or what you mean by "not lit very well" . The switch plates were clean when I just checked them, all lights are working as well. The matresses have been flipped and one replaced. As for our Continental Breakfast, it did included Coffee and Juice as well. Again thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I was only able to stay here one night, because they were fully booked the other nights. The staff was great and the food was amazing. The chef recommended the tuna and it did not disappoint. I highly recommend staying at this hotel and eating the food in the restaurant. I will be staying and eating here in all my future trips to jaco.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grego2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Read about this hotel in a 3-year old Frommer's guide to Costa Rica. In the guidebook the hotel was described as being clean and new, and was in the "Top Shelf" category. Instead of being clean and new, the hotel was tired, and slightly grimy, with poor mattresses where bulging springs discourage a good night's rest. The breakfast was basic and unexceptional, but the staff was friendly. The location, however, is excellent, so if you can get them to make you a good deal on the room you might want to overlook the generally poor quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbaldwin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoseidonOwner, Owner at Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not think the hotel was being kept up. It is a constant job is this climate and we are always working on the hotel. Lightning strucj our hotel on May 10th and this has forced us to re-direct the budgeted money for maintenence to replacing 4-TV's, 3 computers and much more. We just bought 3 new matresses in the last 2 weeks. Without knowing what room you are in, it is hard to know if you changed the matress you spoke. Please email us to let us know which room you stayed to make sure we changed it. Also, if you could give us more specifics of how our hotel looked "tired" it would be helpful. Again thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I travel to Costa Rica quite often for our girls surf getaway. We found this hotel during one of our trips while we were walking to el Bohio restaurant, and we decided to stay there on our next trip. Yes the rooms are small, but the bed was comfortable enough, the bathroom was a decent size, and the rooms were clean, and there's a huge bonus - each room has an A/C unit! We would wake up early for a morning surf then head back to the hotel for breakfast which I also recommend. After breakfast if we were not in the mood to walk back to the beach to lay out and wait for the tide, we used the small pool in the hotel. The staff members were welcoming and very down to earth. This hotel is not a resort by any means but it's exactly what we look for when we go on our surf trips to Costa Rica - I will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyMinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Steps away from the Pacific ocean and the shops in Jaco, the Poseidon is ideally situated as a base for your relaxing vacation. You're a short walk from the beach, and you have a beautiful indoor pool if you have had enough sun. If you're hungry there is a wonderful restaurant on the first floor, and a sports bar on the second floor with brand new HD tvs to watch your favorite teams.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#13 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#21 of 45 in Jaco
5.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#39 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#27 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Jaco
Posada Jaco
#24 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Property: Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Address: Calle Bohio 50 Mts West | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel with a quality restaurant and air conditioned sports bar. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We are in the center of Jaco near all of the shops and restaurants that Jaco has to offer. Our service is what keeps people coming back!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing