We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great little hotel,helpful staff,good food and cold beer!
Located right in the middle of town and 2 minute walk to the beach.
Check out the sky lounge during football season.
Lots of TVs to watch your favorite team and a balcony to people watch on the street below.

Room Tip: Toward the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chefandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 252 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My family (all guys) and I decide to make a first-time trip to Jaco beach, we found the staff and the owner to be pleasant and very friendly. The hotel is very close to shopping and only a few steps away from the beach. The food is very good and at a fair price with regard to the other restaurants in the area. This is a small hotel but all in all I had a great time there and I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williams_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

In this travelers book this establishment is like "One Stop Shopping". The owners and staff offer you that "warm and fuzzy family atmosphere" during your entire stay. The room is a value and clean. The food is AMAZING, breakfast, lunch and dinner in the downstairs dining area. If you want to chill, have a drink and look out over the town, they even offer a ROOFTOP SPORTS BAR! Everything you could want under one roof and one block to the beach. Do yourself a favor.....

Room Tip: Downstairs in the back are more private
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasFilly811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

In the travelers book this establishment is listed as a top end hotel at $105, not worth more than $50. This is a 2 star at most. Very basic small rooms and the a/c barely works as the room never gets cold. You have to pay for parking separately across the street. Clean but basic with a small pool inside no one seems to ever use. Small areas so you hear the cleaning people yapping outside in the early morning. Beds were not comfy at all, was like sleeping on a hard cardboard bed. We left the next day and booked Morgan's Cove which was the same price of $60 with breakfast and had beach access and beautiful pool, much bigger room with balcony and secure parking included. It's a 10 minute walk to town which is no big deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoseidonOwner, Owner at Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

New York/New York-
We are soo sorry to hear you did not have a good experience at our hotel. The title of your review is curious, we do not advetise as "top end". Look at the review posted just before yours. "Good Budget Hotel". All of your comparisons are to Morgrans Cove. A Very different place you are right. Huge grounds, lots and lots and lots of space, restaurant, meeting rooms, Casino as well. You got really good price if you only paid $60, they normally advertise for $100 or more, depending on the season and you were here in May one of the slowest times of the year.

You are right, in the US the Poseidon might be a 2 Star Hotel. We do, however have a 3-Star Creditation with the Costa Rican Tourism Inst. We always strive to keep our rooms comfortable, though we need feedback. So, thank you for letting us know the A/C did not work well and the the mattress felt like cardboard. We will check all of the rooms downstairs as this where you heard our maids yapping in the morning. Believe us, they will see this review, maybe one needs to go. We have asked many times in the recent past and now we may have to take action.

Finally, I am curious if you let any of our staff know of your unhappiness before writing this review? If you could let us know what room you were in, we can address your complaint quicker, though we do only have 14 rooms and 5 downstairs.

Again thanks for your review, we are family run business and rely on your feedback
Tim Odom
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

You could find a discounted deal without too much difficulty, like on expedia, where it was "today's special" or something. You are there for the outdoors, so if your room's clean and they have security, you have a reasonable deal. There's cable TV when you're tired at night. The showers are tepid, solar assisted, but warm enough. The drains may have some beach-sand clogging but they worked OK although a little slow. Meet the housekeeping staff and the desk staff. They were all very wonderful Ticos. We enjoyed the breakfasts and a few snacks, but did not try dinner onsite. You're in town, so you will hear the nightlife. There is a disco next door that is booming till 3 or 4 but we hiked & swam all day and with a few drinks we still slept OK. Internet access (no charge) is available; you may have to wait your turn. Jaco was a good place to stay on a 1st trip to CR. Car recommended. They have mandatory insurance. Make sure you rent a GPS (that "speaks" English if you do).

Room Tip: Doesn't matter, but we enjoyed upstairs where there is a balcony/porch outside along the length...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Poseidon a couple of years ago and didn't hesitate to book it again. Clean rooms, friendly staff, great food and walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops, etc. Can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyMount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We were stayed in nice hotels in Costa Rica until we came to Jaco, we ran away from the hotel we booked, booked 2 nights n stayed one night, we booke Poseidon Hotel last min without doing much research. After we booked it, my husband went online n read the reviews, we were freaked out by the bad reviews, so we purposely stayed around until 8pm to check in, cause didn't want to spend too much time in the hotel.
The check in reception desk is basically the cashier counter for the restaurant, you have to walk thru the restaurant then go up stair to the rooms. The hotel is old, the room is okay, not as dirty as it described on the reviews. We asked for nonsmoking, but the Room did smells. There is a bar on the top of the building, bartender was nice. Didn't use the pool, because the whole experience here we got freakout by the other reviews. It's locate in the center of Jaco, you can park your car across street in the parking lot for a fee. Continental breakfast is just some fruits and bread, but I think you get what you paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnyflowerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.3 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
581 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Address: Calle Bohio | (towards the beach), Jaco 4123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Price Range: $80 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel with a quality restaurant and air conditioned sports bar. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We are in the center of Jaco near all of the shops and restaurants that Jaco has to offer. Our service is what keeps people coming back!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing