We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Still riding that wave!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Guapa Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vista Guapa Surf Camp
Ranked #4 of 28 Jaco B&B and Inns
Manasquan, New Jersey
1 review
“Still riding that wave!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was a trip I gave to myself for my 50th birthday! Wow!!
50 is off to a great start!

We were greeted by Edwin! Alvaro and Wendy make you feel right at home! Accommodations very clean and comfortable. The week was just magical! I'm still talking about my trip! I drink coffee every morning out of my mug with my surf pic on it! Wendy makes you look like a Rock Star! I never surfed in my life! Hard to believe coming from the Jersey Shore. I always loved the beach ... but this trip made me love the water again like when I was a kid! When were you last in the water till your fingers wrinkled up like a prune! Surfing till the sunset! I will try surfing at home this summer. We also did flat water SUP in the morning... views were great! The water is perfect! We were in a large group sponsored by YOLO... What a great group! Too much fun!

The food is top notch!! At breakfast I would suggest the Salvetti special! Every morning fresh juice... nothing I ever tasted before!! Dinner out every night! Everything was great! The whole staff very nice!

I would book a Massage! I had 2!! Monsterat is wonderful! The lessons were great! Your confidence builds each day... before you know it you are riding a killer wave at the end of your trip! Thank you Josymar and Alvaro! I have memories to last a life time.... but it doesn't end there! Planning another trip for the Fall!

I hope to bring my kids here one day... 6 and 10. My daughter wants to come when she's 7!!..lol She would love it! My husband will hopefully make the trip soon :)

I highly recommend this trip! Over and over again!!

Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattyexit98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
13
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wall Township, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have just returned after my 4th visit to Vista Guapa Surf Camp since Nov 2012.

I can report I am still smiling! Alvaro is a Master! I am so happy I started to surf with Alvaro. Each time I return he builds upon my skill set (both regular and SUP surfing). I cannot be happier with my accomplishments under his guidance. Wendy is a very talented photographer and always delivers such memorable photos of your time in the water, Thank You Wendy!!! The photos really help to get me through the time between trips.

The camp remains a refreshing slice of heaven when your out of the water. The food and fresh fruit are out of this world GOOD! I never enjoyed coconuts before my visit and now I cannot drink/eat enough what a difference when picked right from their own trees and that goes for all the fruit in Costa Rica YUM.

For those of you traveling alone DO NOT HESITATE! No worries as a female or just learning the craft of surfing you will love it here! If your already an expert you will love it here! Waves for every level so please just go visit and see for yourself! Whether you are single, married, with friends or your kids you will love it here!

Already planning my 5th visit!

Pura Vida!

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same they are clean with a porch and hammocks overlooking the beauty of Jaco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappySurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

After easily making our way through the San Jose airport we were met immediately by Edwin Rojas of the Vista Guapa Surf Camp. After stopping for lunch near the airport we were shuttled for a 1.5 hour drive to Vista Guapa. There we were met by Alvaro and Wendy Solano who graciously welcomed us for the weeks stay. Our cabin had excellent views of the lowlands of Jaco as we were up a beautiful hill/rock that also got a nice breeze. The cabin was clean, spacious, and most importantly had a hammock on the covered deck. The next morning we were met by Alvaro, Wendy, Josymar, and Edwin for our first water experience. Good boards and paddles were provided for us to explore flatwater at Herradura Beach and the fishlife was abundant...turtles, rays, and baitfish everywhere.
That afternoon (every morning and afternoon) we were shuttled with gear to exceptional surfing and paddling spots including Jaco Beach and Hermosa. Alvaro and Josymar were very patient teachers helping the most beginner of us catch waves immediately! Their generous spirit and helpful advice is the best I've experienced. Wendy Solano was also at each session taking the most professional photographs.She made us all look good. At 50 years old I arrived a beginner/intermediate surfer and left a solid rider with more knowledge of surfing than I had imagined possible in one week. My travel companion at 66 years old arrived with zero surf experience and was surfing with the rest of us within 3 days.
I can't say enough about the camp and it's proprietors as they are most humble and accommodating!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YOLOBoardAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I had a great experience at Vista Guapa. All of the staff were extremely friendly and professional. The breakfast every morning was incredible, and we were taken out to dinner every night. The bungalows are neat, comfortable, and cleaned daily. Alavaro and Wendy went out of there way to make our stay one to remember. We surfed every afternoon and were provided with top of the line surf gear. I would recommend Vista Guapa to anyone traveling to Jaco!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I recently went to Vista Guapa with my brother. We spent 3 days there and it was the highlight of my trip to Costa Rica. I had high expectations for the camp and them 100% exceeded them! Alvaro was extremely kind and professional. He get us up and taught us all the basics of surfing. The entire staff was extremely friendly and made us feel right at home. The breakfast in the morning was first-class (coffee, fresh fruit, omelets, and smoothies). And dinners out in Jaco with Alvaro were a unique way to see the city. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a new way to experience Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinmpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

At first, arriving at vista guapa, i tought this was going to be ok. As the hours passes, i realized that this was going to be a fabulous experience! Alvaro and wendy have a way of making you feel right at home and i would even say as part of the family. The cottages on the mountain are spacious, clean and offer a panoramic view of the region. I really enjoyed the hammock on the balcony after my surf lessons. Being a beginner surfer i needed a good patient teacher and Alvaro Solano...the best! He chose perfect waves for my level, gave me simple instructions and up i went! Alvaro teaches with his heart! As for wendy, she serves the best breakfast i have had in costa rica! She also takes beautiful professional photos, if you want to take some home. Alvaro invited me to go try paddleboard one morning and it was great. Another time, i tagged along as he was going out to playa hermosa to coach dennis and emily, two young competing surfers. The waves being too big for me , i watched intermediate and expert surfers catch the best surf that morning. I could go on and on...but to make things simple...the vista guapa gang will make everything ok for you and much more. Vista Guapa is a rare gem!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Parise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I believe I was either the first or second visitor to Vista Guapa back in 2002. I was a little anxious about visiting Costa Rica for the first time, but I wound up having a fantastic time. Alvaro took very good care of me and my two friends during our visit. I really enjoyed my surfing lessons with Alvaro and only later realized that I was being taught by some of the very best surfers that Costa Rica has ever had. Alvaro was kind enough to take us down to Manuel Antonio for a day and we had a fantastic time in the park. Alvaro also took us to several other locals-only locations that made our experience even more memorable than I could have imagined. If you're interested in really learning how to surf and in experiencing "Pura Vida", you can't do any better than Vista Guapa!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Florida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
2.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
3.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
1.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Guapa Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Guapa Surf Camp

Property: Vista Guapa Surf Camp
Address: Las Lomas de Jaco, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Guapa Surf Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our surf camp features three lovely guest bungalows, each with an unobstructed view of the ocean. Each of the bungalows has two individual rooms with private baths, air conditioning, two single beds or one queen-sized bed and large porches. The porches are ideal for relaxing in hammocks and watching the sun rise and set over the Pacific Ocean. Our bungalows are equipped with small safes for the storage of valuables. However, our rooms do not have TVs, telephones or Internet connections, enabling our guests to leave the daily stresses of home behind and to enjoy the Pura Vida of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Vista Guapa Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Guapa Surf Camp Hotel Jaco
Vista Guapa Surf Camp Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing