We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food and a great view”
Review of The Point Beach Bar & Grill - CLOSED

The Point Beach Bar & Grill
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner
Description: Quaint little beach bar located on the south end of the beach in Jaco (by far the cleanest and safest part of town).
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice food and a great view”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed within easy walking distance of the Point while we stayed in Jaco. We often walked down for breakfast and lunch. Fun atmosphere, good, inexpensive food and a great view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TN_Explorer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    36
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great spot”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were staying just down the street and ended up at The Point every day of our trip! The staff was very friendly and the view was unbeatable. I'm vegetarian and although the selection of vegetarian items was slim, the vegetarian tacos with black beans and rice were incredible. Great little spot!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Close and friendly”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

small beach front place in South Jaco near our condo...go early. the food is decent local food, staff is friendly, view is to kill for. They do allow the local prostitutes to hang out front and meet clients so..if this bothers you ..if you even realize who they are..then go for breakfast. Eaten there twice have not been disappointed ..service is slow as each meal is cooked to order

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank oliver831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerling Tatiana C, Manager at The Point Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Oliver831

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I would like to take the time to clarify your comment about the "local prostitutes". Our beach bar has a great reputation and we DO NOT allow prostitutes to come and offer services to our clients, this goes completely against our beliefs. We do not have a special hour when normal people should visit us, we are a serious and respectable family running this business and we are very blessed to have great clients who know well the operations of our place. We reserve the right of admission and it is important to us that people know that our beach bar is very different than many of the places in Jaco.
By Costa Rican law, we are not allowed to discriminate anybody specially for their profession and unfortunately we can not stop a client and his "date" to enter our bar.

If when you visited you saw this happening, I offer you our sincere apologies but as you mentioned this was something that happened out front which shows clearly that they know we DO NOT allow solicitation in the bar. We can not monitor who visits the beach since it is a public place but we are very focus on our location and what happens inside of our bar.

I can assure you, there are not many cases like this. We are located in the most quiet, clean side of the beach and we promote our bar, restaurant and hotel to be a family and pet friendly atmosphere.

I hope you find our explanation sufficient for your comment and we hope to see you again some day.

Regards,
Tatiana
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Small open air & beach front”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Point is a small place a couple of doors down from where we are staying. The food is very good and reasonably priced. I had a shrimp taco and chips. Others had a cheeseburger, a quesadilla with chips and hot wings. If you like your salsa to be hot you will love their salsa because it is H-O-T! Others went

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lorisfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great food and awesome location”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I came here for breakfast one morning and the owner Todd greeted me right away. The location is perfect, right on the beach in south Jaco. Its hidden but worth locating....great vibe, delicious food and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank TraveloverWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing