We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Beach Bar & Grill - CLOSED

The Point Beach Bar & Grill
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Mexican, Pub, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Quaint little beach bar located on the south end of the beach in Jaco (by far the cleanest and safest part of town).
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you want to enjoy a good cocktail, a cold beer, or some greats eats at a beach bar, this is the place to do it. You can watch the sunset and the surfers catching rides into the evening. The bar tenders are great, especially the Italian dude. Guy knows how to make a drink. The owner is a cool family guy that shows great hospitality. I would recommend this bar to anyone traveling to jaco that wants to enjoy a relaxing time at a bar/restaurant on the beach.

Pura vida

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    36
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Point was right down the beach from our condo. The owner(s), managers are all very friendly and accommodating. We ate dinner and breakfast there during our stay. The food and drinks are very good, but the banana bread is the specialty and very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“Best Fish Tacos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Love the food in this place...From the fish tacos to the great breakfast! We loved the owners, they are really hands on and the views are spectacular!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“View to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband read excellent reviews so we embarked on an adventure to find it. We then got our rental stuck in the sand in front. (Dont go obto the sand). Girls sat at bar to have a drink while men dug it out. Owner Todd heard of our plight and not only went out to offer assistance, he let the guys wash up, gave them towels. He & his wife very nice. Treated us like family. Bartender & cook also amazing. We then sort of took over the place. We were a group of 11. Great prices, drinks and food started to flow and we had a wonderful few hours. The rain came but we were seated at the b ar facing the ocean!
They also run a 5 rm B&B with pool right behind restaurant.
We ended up booking 9 zip lining tours and 2 massages for the next morning thru Todd at a great price!! He has and shares many tips of area.Of course would return. PURA VIDA

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cybrpinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Beach Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Once we found The Point -- and their grilled carne soft tacos and cocktails -- we were nightly regulars. The staff is very friendly, the food and drinks are good and reasonably priced, and the atmosphere is relaxed and awesome. The view from the bar is pretty great -- we watched a number of technicolor Costa Rican sunsets from our front-row seats.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank courtpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Point Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing