We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveler rating
278
106
33
22
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
278
106
33
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rocking chairs costa rica breakers restaurant small window tiki hut king room surf lessons best kept secret overlooking the ocean after dark coffee maker zip line spent nights horseback riding nice pool scarlet macaws the main strip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 457 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

Despite some bad reviews, my friend and I had a great stay at Jaco Laguna. The service was friendly, rooms clean and comfortable. The beach access is incredible, with a nice pool. The tiki bar was an added plus. Would definitely come back here, and wish we had stayed longer.

Plus- the surf school on site is amazing and reasonably priced !

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank miller5328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Upon Arrival into parking lot there a signs warning you about people breaking into your car . Check in at front desk was ok . Christian was a very nice . Upon arrival into our room though there were cockroaches in the shower that ran down the drain to hide and a very pungent smell of deodorizer. Smelled horrible. There was no coffee for the coffee maker . We had to go to the front desk to request coffee and then the coffee maker didn’t work right and leaked all over the place . Half of the male staff skowed at us and didn’t even say hi or smile . The guy doing the surfboard lessons didn’t even offer his services or even smile and skowed at me like he was annoyed . We were the only one staying at the hotel so it was kind of creepy and they acted annoyed that they had to come to work just for us . The beach was completely full of trash disgusting amounts of trash . The tiki bar was playing nonstop dance music from 11 AM to 11 PM that echoed through the entire resort driving us nuts . They asked us what time we wanted breakfast since we were the only ones in the resort they had to come in special to make us breakfast. We requested 8 AM and we stood around with no help or nobody to greet us until 9 o’clock . We had to ask the waiter to bring us coffee twice . The only positive things about the hotel was Christian at the front desk in the pool . We had booked a return trip there but cancelled due to our experience and expectations. The place needs proper management.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank tlbchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

After booking the place (and after cancellation period..) we got a mail saying there is no pool during our stay, for maintenance reasons. They offered the pool in the hotel “next door” which was 15 minutes walk.
Even if none of this would have happened, the place looks much better in the photos than in reality.. Except from being right at the beach, the rooms are pretty poor, like the rest of the place and the location is awful and you’d have to use a car or cab to get anywhere. This is all in relation to the place we took instead :) but that is for a different review.

In full disclosure, after some arguing, and contacting Hotel.com ourselves, they agreed to cancel the reservation.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Calips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Although the place looks very nice on the Internet once you get there you get a much different feeling. Driving up the area looks somewhat unsafe as many people were hanging around on the street. They do have a guarded front gate but signs warning you of possible theft. Checking in was not "customer friendly" as we arrived about an hour before check-in and told we could not check in until the check in time. There were 2 cars in the parking area and the place was much less than half occupied. The front desk person was very unfriendly and said nothing can be done. After checking my reservations, we were told that breakfast was not included any more (said it had been discontinued) even though my reservations clearly showed it was included. After some back and forth they agreed to reluctantly honor it. The rooms are not very well kept and even basic amenities like A bottle of water were missing. They need a serious improvement on the customer service and hospitality. Cleanliness of the rooms left a lot to be desired of. Definitely much better options elsewhere, so my advice is don’t let the professional photos fool you because the actual experience falls significantly short from what you expect by looking at the photos and reading the descriptions

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clermontcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Although the place looks very nice on the Internet once you get there you get a much different feeling. During our stay the pool was under maintenance and no one told us however the staff did make good on it by giving us a discount and providing an option to a nearby hotel to use their swimming pool however the rooms are not very well kept and even basic amenities like A bottle of water were missing. They need a serious improvement on the customer service and hospitality. Cleanliness of the rooms left a lot to be desired of. Definitely much better options elsewhere so my advice is don’t let the professional photos fool you because the actual experience falls significantly short from what you expect by looking at the photos and reading the descriptions.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 366guillermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews