We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night interesting, but glad we stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our driver got us into the hotel late on a Saturday evening and the only room left apparently was a handicapped room. It was large with a walk in shower and no smoking as we requested so we agreed to the accommodation. All was well until we took a shower and the shower flooded due to a blocked drain. We quickly had an inch of water rolling out in the bedroom.
However, when we notified the staff, the manager quickly responded and soaked up the mess. It had been a long day and he offered to move us to a regular room in the morning. In the morning, he cleaned the drain and we decided to stay put. It worked out very well as my husband was having knee problems and couldn't climb stairs.
The Breakers restaurant food was good, filling and reasonably price. You have a lovely view of the ocean. The front desk staff, Judy and Carla, are helpful. The beach itself is very wide and clean and you are only a few hundred yards from a great breakfast and lunch beach-front bar called The Point. We love to body surf and the surfers were respectful of swimmers and you never feel crowded.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennsylvaniaSuzieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 398 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had some visitors come into Costa Rica from Ottawa on short notice and they wanted to go to the coast for a long weekend.............all the usual places we go to were solidly booked up and over the internet I stumbled onto the Jaco Laguna.................we got very lucky because it was exceptional..................from the moment we hit the reception we knew that it was going to be a first class weekend and so it was.All staff friendly and helpful..............the food was very good and reasonably priced..............a nice mixture of typical food plus international...........the rooms comfortable and the beds were super comfortable...............plenty of hot water..................very, very clean place. A bit off the beaten track which was a big plus. Our sons youngsters wanted to learn to surf and they were admirably handled and had a great time.In future we will be back................what more can I add?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blazer1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We visit Jaco often but have never stayed at this particular hotel. The rate was better than many of our usual places so we decided to try it. The reviews regarding service were negative but we are not a particularly needed family so we thought, "how bad can it be?" Wow, was it bad! From the moment we got on the property, we felt like we were inconveniencing the staff. Never were we asked, "how can I help you?" We would stand at the reception or hostess station in the restaurant and just wait while staff occasionally glanced at us without addressing our presence. It was all very uncomfortable and unlike anything I've experienced in CR. We've lived here two years and had tremendous luck with our lodgings, except here. The final straw was when I went to ask for an extra blanket this evening for my son, who has a cold. Reception did not answer the phone at 8:45, even though they are supposed to 'close' at 9. I took at walk there where the extremely unfriendly receptionists said, "no, we are full and have not one extra blanket." Seriously, there are three cars in the parking lot and even if you were full, what hotel does not have extra blankets? One that rests in its laurels (or in this case, it's location on the beach) and doesn't care a bit about the customer service it provides. We won't be back. We'll spend our $$$ on the much friendlier nearby Club del Mar, Las Palomas or Hotel 9!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crisevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Recently returned from an amazing vacation at Jaco Laguna Resort. I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff was, we have never been treated better at any other resort. Rosie, Angie and staff were always available to serve us and the drinks and food were the best we had in Costa Rica. They all spoke English very well and they also helped my husband brush up on his Spanish. The surf instructors were fun, friendly, accomadating and most of all very patient with those of us who had never surfed before, thank you Alex and Smiley! The views of the sunset from the TIKI bar were breathtaking. Our room was fantastic, number 23, with a view overlooking the pool and beach right outside the door, there were rocking chairs right outside the door if you just wanted to sit on the balcony. We had two kings size beds that were very comfortable, the AC worked great as did the the WIFI. No complaints at all. Close to town, you can walk down the beach then up to town then take a taxi ride home for $3.00. Jaco Laquna Resort...Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I just returned from spending 11 nights at this resort - what a great time. Service by the staff was impeccable and they are most accommodating - very friendly and mostly speak English. Then menu and food are very good and moderately priced. Located on the south end of the beach - quiet and clean. The beds are new and comfortable and the cleaning staff did an outstanding job every day. Will definitely stay there again. George and Charlotte

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgeving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Jaco Laguna Resort is a boutique 4 star hotel with on site restaurant and beach front tiki bar. It is only 1 hour & 15 minutes from airport. I felt catered to on the important things an American traveler would need. The rooms were clean with very comfortable beds. The AC was freezing cold. Coffee maker included with Costa Rican Cafe Britt coffee(and I used non bottled water with zero problems). Bathrooms/showers were outstanding. The staff communicated well in both English or Spanish. The Restaurant was better than all others I visited in quality, price and variety. After 3 days in Rica our group only ate in the hotel. Gotta be honest...we fell in love with the staff.

With kayaks, paddle boards, surf/boogie boards and instructors on site. We had ages 8 thru 55 all stand up and catching waves(i will upload pics soon). Even if you dont stay in Jaco...YOU MUST CATCH A SUNSET. This is "Where the sun sets" in Jaco. and no place does it better.
Grab a beverage with Rosie and her staff. You will witness the a breathtaking event every night

I read a few negatives on tip advisor like wifi issues and shade by the pool...That must have been corrected because shade was everywhere and wifi was seamless. By the way, If wifi was down each room is hard wired(with cables available at front desk) for fast internet access every time.

Again everything a modern traveler needs plus the cute authenticity of Costa Rica

Room Tip: Every room is a little different. Request first floor access if necessary, there is no elevator. GRE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We really enjoyed the TIKI Bar. The property is right on the beach as far south as you can be. Downtown is more North but it is walkable. We took a $3 taxi ride to downtown Jaco every evening and walked on the beach back to the hotel after dinner. It's a long walk but we liked the exercise. I would book transportation before you get to the hotel since the only phone to use is at the front desk. We scheduled excursions with the actual tour operators while in town. We booked a standard room with no view which was fine but the bathroom was WAY too small. Your knees hit the wall if on the toilet. Two people cannot fit in the bathroom at the same time. There are other rooms with bigger bathrooms so I would spring for that if you can. There was a box fan in our room which was awesome because we had it on and were not woke by people, birds, etc. We got great sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maintzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.7 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#2 of 48 in Jaco District
1,366 reviews
4.7 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 40 in Jaco
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club

Address: Calle Madrigal | 800mts south from municipality building, before Madrigales street entrance., Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $102 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 26-room boutique hotel and Costa Rica beach resort is located on an intimate oceanfront property on the south side of Jaco Beach - within a few minutes walk to all of the stops, restaurants and activities that the city has to offer, and is the only four-star rated resort in all of Jaco. We feature the top rated surf school on site, a full service spa, the most unique beach front tiki bar and beach front restaurant in all of Costa Rica. Take a stroll down the beach, let us arrange an excursion or adventure for you, explore the streets of Jaco or simply lounge by the pool. Enjoy our excellent restaurant, have a relaxing beach front message, take a surf lesson from the 3 time Costa Rican world surfing champion, or relax by our beachfront tiki bar for a more casual fare. Bask under the sun and enjoy a spectacular panoramic view of the endless Pacific Ocean, exotic jungle and magnificent mountains, all while experiencing a breathtaking, colorful Costa Rican sunset. Here at Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club, we are committed to providing you with the most memorable Costa Rican experience possible. The hospitality of our resort team is truly one-of-a-kind. Jaco Laguna is one of the scenically most spectacular Costa Rican beach resorts and the ideal Costa Rican vacation destination whether you are planning a honeymoon, wedding, celebration or simply a Costa Rican hideaway or adventure experience. Room rates are based on single and double-occupancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing