We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location Not so great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Hicaco

El Hicaco
Ranked #21 of 155 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, Spanish, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: El Hicaco Restaurant, located in Jaco Beach is a beautiful place where you can enjoy a beautiful sunset and a delicious meal at the same time. Our speciality is the Seafood, we have the best Lobster Dishes in town such as Termidor Lobster, Lobster Cream and of course Grilled Lobster. Come and enjoy a good wine in our beach front terrace and spend some time playing chess or cards while you listen to Lounge & Chill out music. You won't like to miss our Wednesday nights! We have the best buffet ever. Jumbo Shrimps, Seafood Plate, Lobster, Grilled Mahi-Mahi, Chicken and Meat Cuts, Salad Bar, Sushi, 6 Side dishes options, Pasta Station, Table Desserts, drinks, cocktails, wine...You can eat and drink all you want!
NJ
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location Not so great food”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Right by the ocean, a great place to maybe have a drink and watch the sunset. Cannot get any closer to the ocean. Definitely skip dinner. Used to be a good restaurant but the upgrades made to "upgrade" the restaurant did not make it to the kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    90
    40
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“El Hicaco Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently dined at this restaurant for the first time. The restaurant is right on the beach, the food is top notch and the ambiance is very romantic.

Our waiter wasn't typically Costa Rican friendly , but he did little to deter our dining experience.

Fortunately, for the waiter, 10% tips are included in all Costa Rican restaurants or I would have given him like 3 cents.. I ate the whole Pargo ( small red snapper ) and the wife enjoyed fresh shrimps.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 111ChuckG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Avoid this place at all costs!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Horrible experience. While the restaurant is great looking and has a nice ambiance at first glance, I highly recommend eating out of a garbage can before patronizing this restaurant. Service is thoroughly apathetic at best, nonexistent or downright rude and contemptuous at worst. We stood at the hostess stand looking over the menu for 5 mi turns without being greeted. The "hostess" just watched apathetically from the bar. Then we stopped looking and stepped forward indicating we wanted to be seated, not just menu gazing. Still nothing fir several minutes. We flagged down a server and asked for a table. The "hostess" came over and without a word grabbed 4 menus and walked over to a table, put them in a pile and walked away. A nameless, cheerless waiter took our orders reluctantly. The beer wasn't very cold. Food was OK, not great or horrible. Overpriced. Eternity passed between trips to check on us to see if we wanted more water or another drink. Had to track down the waiter to get the check. Overall a crappy dining experience based on the I don't give a damn service. Don't spend your money here, maybe they'll go out of business and do something else besides service which the suck at horribly.

The only reason I rated the service a 1 is because there's no zero.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigerbacker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I Plained my family trip in Jaco for the Buffet that didn't happen”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Soooo upset right now we had plains to eat at the Buffet that we really enjoyed 2 years ago also spoke about how great they where and drinks & food was on top I called way ahead of time told them it was for the seafood buffet and Today getting ready to go I called to double ck my table time and they tell me with no care oops we are not doing the buffet right now we stopped 2 weeks ago
That seem like not a big deal just find some where else to go but I Plained my Trip around this Wednesday night dinner for my family in Jaco it's so disheartening

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Landlubergranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good service”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were in that restaurant several times. We used to eat there because it is on the beach, and the sea food is fresh and tasty;but it looks like every time we get there the waiter is slower, and the prices are higher. One of the better places for dinner in Jaco, but nothing special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edobosarevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Hicaco also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Hicaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing