We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food and drinks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mono Verde Bar & Grill

Mono Verde Bar & Grill
Ranked #14 of 141 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Costa Rican, American, Bar, Spanish, Fusion, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Mono Verde tapas & restaurant is a high end cuisine establishment with reasonable prices.Offering $2 margaritas with different flavors, sangrias, wide wine variety and more.If you are a sport fishing lover then feel free to bring us your catch to be cooked for you as you desire.Enjoy our later night weekend parties with the best DJ's of Jaco beach!
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Great food and drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I finally got a chance to go into Mono Verde on Father's Day and I must say that I was very impressed. The mahi mahi with shrimp sauce was amazing!! The margaritas with passion-fruit was equally tasty!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toddinjaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    47
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ever!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A group of 7 guys including myself spent 4 days in Cost Rica. We happened to stumble across this restaurant and I am sure glad we did! First and foremost the food was Fantastic and the service and care for us was Exceptional. We enjoyed the restaurant so much we ended up going there two days in a row. Had we been staying longer we would have definitely made Mono Verde a regular spot for us. The second day we took in about 11 lbs of Yellowfin Tuna steak from all the Tunas we caught that day. The cook and staff treated us like Kings making several types of Tuna for us and it was the best I had ever had. The cook even came out to great us and he received a round of applause. The waitress who I believe was named Olga was magnificent as was the bar tender and other attendants who helped. Bottom line is if you are ever in Jaco Cost Rica, Mono Verde Bar & Grill is a must visit restaurant where you will be treated great the have some of the best food you can ever imagine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My GF and I were on vacation at Jaco Beach, and we picked up a little guide book for travelers. While looking at it, we read a little add stating $2.00 margaritas at Mono Verde. My GF decided to give it a try, here's our review:
Ambiance: outside not so cozy, inside very nice. Good decoration, good music.
Service: Excellent!!! The waitress' recomendations were precise, and she was very friendly/helpful.
Food: Very good. A nice mix of everything for every taste. Margarita was very tasteful!
Prices: just about right!
This is a place we will definately come back. You should try it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCSurfCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT food, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My daughter and I chose this restaurant because they had air conditioning and we were sweltering, even at 8pm! We each had a delicious, reasonably priced cocktail before dinner. They brought bread to the table and it was wonderful. My daughter ordered 2 appetizers (instead of a meal) and they brought both of them at the same time as my meal. All of the food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The staff was very attentive. I'd highly recommend Mono Verde!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A trendy big city jewel in a unsuspecting local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

From the outside Mono Verde Looks just like every other tourist trap eatery in the town of Jaco, Costa Rica. But step in side and you would think you were in Manhattans trendiest of bistros! The wait staff is wonderfully friendly and polite.
We ordered the Caprese Skewers and a chicken dish as appetizers. And the Avocado stuffed with Shrimp and Chicken Kabobs for our main courses. Before our appetizer arrived our waiter brought a special plate of bruscetta - garlic toast with a yummy citrus tuna salad and a tomato bruscetta - as soon as we tasted this we knew our meal was going to be so good! Aside from the absolutely beautiful presentation of the food, the chef uses only the truly freshest of ingredients, every ingredient is so fresh that his technique is preparation seems to be to let the natural flavors speak for themselves, without overwhelming the food with sauces. And wow, does this technique please the taste buds!
My husband and I would count ourselves in the foodie categorize and both of agreed that this meal was the best we have had in years! We found it so good in fact that every meal we ate after that in other places just couldn't stack up! So, on our last night in Costa Rica we dined at Mono Verde again!
For those wondering about price... This was the most shocking part! While it was the tastiest meal we had all week, it was also the most reasonably priced! We had 2 cocktails, 2 appetizers and 2 main dishes, we increased the automatic 10% tip(all restaurants charge it) to 20% and the total bill was still only $52 American dollars! This meal would easily run $150 in America!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrstrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mono Verde Bar & Grill also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Mono Verde Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing