We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Party Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Cancun
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent Party Hotel”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We party the 6 days and 5 nights that we stayed at the Copacabana, they have activities, like karaoke , open mic, live music. is a great hotel the rooms are clean and comfortable, They just open a new pool with mediterranean rules the only hotel in Jaco with one.
The staff is amazing, helpfull, The atv and jet ski tour that they have is great.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SolCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    59
    32
    23
    33
See reviews for
5
143
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

This place caters to men looking for prostitutes. They all hang out at night in the restaurant and the "ladies" (not) circulate from table to table. Needless to say we cut short our stay there and went on to the Manuel Antonio are which was very nice. Lots of thievery in Jaco, witnessed with out own eyes. Never try to drive yourself on the road to Jaco - VERY SCARY.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amethyst2938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

My husband and I spent four nights Copacabana Hotel. Very friendly receptionist gets us to our room in no time. We are even given tickets for welcome drinks. My husband negotiated the price for a pool view room prior to our arrival. I agreed to a $3 per night charge for an in-room safety box but this was waived at check out. Small room but it has air conditioning, a mini-frig, microwave and coffee maker. Two cups are supplied. Two chairs and a table were on the balcony for our use. The hotel is on the beach and walking distance of everything, including grocery stores for coffee and snacks. Great wireless service and I enjoyed checking my email while sitting on the balcony that overlooked the pool. Our visit was during the weekdays and not during the time when the live bands are entertaining. Our Thursday night stay we noticed the noise level going up and the party life really getting underway. If you are not interested in the nightlife, avoid weekends. Prostitutes frequent the hotel (as they do in the rest of Jaco) so if this offends you, you may want to stay elsewhere.

The hotel doesn't provide amenities for the beach but we like to walk the beach and not sit so it wasn't a problem for us. We enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. The pool area was nice. The restaurant was very good. Service of both hotel and restaurant was very good and friendly. We didn't have a car so the location was perfect for us. The hotel can use some maintenance but overall it was a great choice for us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDNPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Had a pleasant trip, beautiful country, nice people, warm sand beach, clean rooms, easy check in. We had a little difficulty locating the hotel when we arrived, but after asking a local it was easy. The location was wonderful, right on the beach, parking right on the premises, food was superb, staff was friendly especially Ginger, guests were friendly and were easy to visit with. We do wish they had more amenities geared for the sun bather. We didn't have any chaise lounge chairs, only little folding chairs that we carried out to the beach for every beach visit. They only have two folding chairs. The sun is very warm which means I need to be in the shade most of the time and we simply walked to the next resort that had sand under their palm trees. Guess I'm saying that if you want to spend a lot of time at the beach you might want to check another resort on the beach. This resort is geared more for the fisherman groups that aren't interested in the beach as much. There was a considerable amount of noise in the evenings, so be prepared to stay up late and sleep in the morning. We were in the studio rooms which had more exposure to the noises.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My wife and I just returned from a 10 day 39th anniversary trip to CR in February, with 2 days at the Copacabana. We were more than pleased. From the complimentary welcome drink at the cozy bar in back to the Jacuzzi suit with a stunning ocean sunset view, our stay was just outstanding. Myrna (with the wonderful smile), at the front desk, will take care of your every need. Ginger, taking orders in the restaurant, made our anniversary dinner especially memorable (ask for her "made with love" ice tea).
While Jaco is not a particularly family oriented location, it is not the nest of drug dealers and prostitutes that some reviewers would lead you to believe. This is a popular tourist destination, with the attending "services" that are found in any such location. If you look for them, they will be found, but please don't think that's the main point of interest.
This is an older property, but well maintained. They have a fine restaurant and bar, nice pool and new construction underway for what appears to be a giant hot tub. We stayed in a suit, but the regular rooms looked perfectly adequate, if a bit small.
I would recommend the Copa, and hope to stay there again soon.

  • Liked — Location, service and restaurant
  • Disliked — stairs and Internet service
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gibby1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

I have been staying at the Copa every time I visit Costa Rica, which now has been about 10 times over the past 2 years. I love the Copa, its staff, food, entertainment and definitely its location. I love hearing the music in the morning till night. The karaoke nights are awesome along with the live music. The renovations to the hotel are great especially the pool. The rooms are adequate and the prices, reasonable! I have become like family to the staff including the watchdogs, Scruffy and Sally. I always overstay my visit as the Copa is addictive because its so great! Thanks to all the staff, Fernando, Pablito, Edgar, Vivianna, Raquel, Ginger (the best karaoke singer, ever!) and of course the cook Norma and a special shout out to Keki. I can't forget Luis and Katia for their hospitality as well as Vivecca, Ronald and Myrna for their welcomes and Santiago for watching out for me at night! Gracias a todos, los quiero mucho!!!!!!!! Thanks guys, Pura Vida from la chica de Canada, ya sabes, besos y abrazos fuertes!!!!

  • Liked — The staff, food, accomodation!
  • Disliked — There is not enough time to stay!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fresa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Excellent is the only word I can use to describe my stay.
Let me start with my room I stayed in one of the suites with jacuzzi on the Balcony while I was relaxing I was having a drink and watching the ocean.
The food at the Restaurant was amazing, the parties at the Bar incredible.
The Staff is helpful they booked all my tours.
I am booking again for new years everybody told me The Copacabana has the Best New years party and dinner with The Blind Pigs. I will be there for sure.
The Spa was great, relaxing.
They have an Adult Area where you can tan with jacuzzi .
Everything was perfect THANKS.

  • Liked — The room with private jacuzzi on the balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monoperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tangeri Hotel
Tangeri Hotel
#17 of 41 in Jaco
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copacabana Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Property: Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Address: From Banco de Costa Rica 200m South 100m West, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copacabana Hotel is the only Adult, Clothing Optional, Beach Front Resort in Costa Rica the area. Is nestled in the famous town of Jaco, on the beach in Costa Rica’s Central Pacific Region. Our resort offers a party atmosphere with daily and nightly activities, pool parties, live music, karaoke, DJ’s, theme parties, and much more and spectacular views of the sunset. Our knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable staff looks forward to welcoming you to one of the most relaxed and friendliest ocean front resort in Costa Rica. While staying with us, enjoy a relaxing massage or other spa treatments in our new spa, Coconut Palms. Enjoy fine dining or local dishes in our on-site ocean front restaurant, Ocean Waves with a large menu Seafood, BBQ, from asian to mexican to italian to peruvian. Have a drink, catch up on the game and make new friends at Naked Iguana Sports and Wet Bar and restaurant. We offer two swimming pools one clothing optional and one nude and nude Jacuzzi. Inquire at our front desk about fishing charters, tours and golf packages. We are certain that your visit to the Copacabana Hotel and Suites will be a lasting memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copacabana Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Hotel And Suites
Copacabana Hotel Jaco
Copacabana Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing