We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too costly for what you get.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had quite a few problems with this hotel. When paying 200 a night you don't expect any. At first they tried to squeeze us in a tiny room with no space that was hot. It was supposedly the room we picked but was not at all like it was pictured online. The one pictured online had a bedroom and living room but the one they put us in was just one tiny room. Than after they finally moved us to a bigger room of course they charged us more even though the room we booked was pictured completely wrong. Once we were in the bigger room the toilet didn't flush. When we went to the front desk to tell them about the problem they blamed us! They said they couldn't move us to a new room so we had to sit through about an hour of them trying to fix it until we finally told them we wanted to go to sleep and to please deal with it in the morning when we would be gone. They did finally fix it. Also, it was a pain getting fresh towels. Sometimes they wouldn't give us any other times only like 1 or 2. They only thing that kept us from completely hating this place were the employees. They had great personalities. Thanks to them we were able to enjoy our stay a little more. The restaurant in the hotel is very good. Everything is made fresh and its delicious. Well to get to the point the hotel charges way to much for what it is. If I am paying 200 a night I expect to get taken care of much better. I hope this helps.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 20Mayra13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 299 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is a PARTY HOTEL. Get it? I have stayed here a few times, knew what was up and enjoyed it.

There was a woman checking in on 12/23 and did not understand what PARTY HOTEL means. Imagine this, she was from the USA and did not understand English. She threw a fit because there was music, people drinking and in general people having fun.

Do I love this hotel......NO! is it luxurious, NO! is the food and drink good YES! Are the owners and staff cool? YES!

So here is is! This is the most fun 2 STAR hotel you will ever stay at in the world.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a balcony facing the ocean, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went with a group of about 40 (lifestyle and nudists) to this hotel and had a blast.. Plenty to do with monkey tours, manual antonio park, a day spent ziplining, waterfall rappelling, and riding ATVs and most importantly time to lie in the sun and relax. We had great massages and great food. The staff was wonderfull especially Katia (sp?) and Kayke (sp?).
The hotel definatley is in need of some maintenance but it was clean and the employees seemed to really care about the guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coloradoheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our (wife & I) first trip to Costa Rica and we picked the Copacabana due to it being the only clothing optional hotel we found online in C. R. We choose the Halloween week looking for a fun filled week and party. It appears the time of year we picked was kind of an off season so we really were unhappy that the hotel was not more occupied. However, that being said, we had a great time, the result of a very caring staff, great food and weather to match. We were able to work on maintaining our lack of tan lines and had a lot of fun at the Halloween Party. We had a great ocean view room with oversize king bed, kitchen and balcony with jacuzzi. We took the all inclusive and I highly recommend that option unless you arrive with your own transportation and are interested in checking out other bars and restaurants. We were content to remain at our hotel with everything provided. Walks into town for shopping and a zip line adventure sufficed for us. Suggest you try to book for a busy season at this "adult" hotel and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thanks for your nice comments, we hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I went back to Copacabana for the second this year.My other trip was in jan.I think this place got better.Small but good Halloween party.If you want a full body tan in Jaco this the place to go,This place is right on the beach great location

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for taking a time to write a review and thanks for you nice comments.
We hope to have you staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I find it hard to write a completely honest review as the time of year my wife and I went was wrong...or the tourist's just do not care for this type of location. We have been to all the "lifestyle" locations in Costa Rica searching for that "one" that stands out...perhaps this would in the right time of year.

We went for a weekend (we live in Costa Rica) and originally booked two nights; however, cut the trip to only one night on the disappointment that the only other guests were worn out americans tired from a day of fishing. When we arrived, the first disappointment, which unfortunately was the game changer, was that the website advertized a "Hawaii" theme party...to which there was none. We had packed accordingly to party Hawaii style to no avail.

To give credit where it is deserved, we stayed in the Junior Jacuzzi suite, which seemed to have been renovated and was more than pleasant. We enjoyed a jacuzzi and felt comfortable together with the door open. The bed (King) was more than comfortable and the layout was perfect if we had been hosting.

The staff, when we were in contact with them, were nice and amiable. I did not take the time to get to know names as the lack of "Hawaii" night left me a bit sour. Breakfast was not included in our package, but no big deal, the cost was not extortionate and the food was very delicious.

Jaco in itself is not a bad location for tourists; however, as I said, we live in Costa Rica, so it was a nice one night get-a-way. We will probably go back when the season is different to be with other couples...this obviously was the wrong time of year.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank laurence_baird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thanks for taking a time to give us your feedback.. We are working to make sure that all our theme night are ON no matter how many rooms are occupied. We hope to see you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on mid july and we had a blast. We booked room only but at check in we change to all inclusive without a problem. we enjoyed the pool bar atmosphere , and we party every night, good bar music and the live band amazing. Our room was perfect ocean front, king bed and jacuzzi. The staff was great from Katia (the manager) keki at the bar, raquel at front desk, the maids, maintenance. The food is excellent special thanks to the cooks because thanks to them we put on 5 pounds . We will be back...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank biholeta03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We want to thank you for your nice comments, We are happy you had a great vacations with us.
Once again thanks for staying at the Copacabana , We can't wait to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
4.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 40 in Jaco
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#4 of 40 in Jaco
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copacabana Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Hotel & Suites

Address: From Banco de Costa Rica 200m South 100m West, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $127 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copacabana Hotel is the only Adult, Clothing Optional, Beach Front Resort in Costa Rica the area. Is nestled in the famous town of Jaco, on the beach in Costa Rica’s Central Pacific Region. Our resort offers a party atmosphere with daily and nightly activities, pool parties, live music, karaoke, DJ’s, theme parties, and much more and spectacular views of the sunset. Our knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable staff looks forward to welcoming you to one of the most relaxed and friendliest ocean front resort in Costa Rica. While staying with us, enjoy a relaxing massage or other spa treatments in our new spa, Coconut Palms. Enjoy fine dining or local dishes in our on-site ocean front restaurant, Ocean Waves with a large menu Seafood, BBQ, from asian to mexican to italian to peruvian. Have a drink, catch up on the game and make new friends at Naked Iguana Sports and Wet Bar and restaurant. We offer two swimming pools one clothing optional and one nude and nude Jacuzzi. Inquire at our front desk about fishing charters, tours and golf packages. We are certain that your visit to the Copacabana Hotel and Suites will be a lasting memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Copacabana Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Hotel And Suites
Copacabana Hotel Jaco
Copacabana Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing