We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hang Ten” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Beach

Jaco Beach
Book In Advance
$60.00*
and up
Surfing Lessons in Jaco Beach
Ranked #2 of 44 things to do in Jaco
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hang Ten”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A beautiful beach with villas, condos, hotels and entertainment establishments that make up the shore line. I just hope they continue to keep the beach clean. A beauty!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasFilly811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    308
    232
    82
    41
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Loved the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Lots of surfers to watch learning and practicing, good beach for strolling. Strong undertow, so be careful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

IT's a BEACH!!! swim! watch the surfers, learn to surf, horse back riding, fishing.... Sunsets and rises. gorgeous!! all around! Pura Vida!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Riana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Jaco Beach is 4+++”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Visited April 12 - April 19th 2013

Saw no evidence of prior posts (dirty, trash, etc).

The beach itself is sand for 100'+ and then pebbles further away from the shoreline (due to a 8 - 10' tide).

I checked the tide charts (free maps at all restaurants / talk to the locals). If I wanted a day at Jaco Beach to sun and swim - I took my lawn chair and beach towel, layed on the sand and waded out to the Pacific Ocean whenever I wanted to (while tide was going out). If I wanted to see the surfers, or sit at a beachside restaurant enjoying the views, sound of surf crashing or watching the sunset .. I'd stage myself in a restaurant while tide came in.

For a completely NEW diversion, I'd walk up to the 'community beach' on the north side of the Jaco beach and watch the local kids on the swing sets, monkey bars and teeter-totter. This kept me busy for hours ... the local families and kids know how to enjoy the Jaco beach, for sure!!

The only way this beach could have been described as dirty would be:

1. Tourists may have made a mess during high season
2. Visitors are not used to Pacific beaches / brown sand / pebbles further up the tide line

I'll be back for sure. This beach offered nice sand, exploring, surf ogling and affordable beach side bars / restaurants. Beach to the south (5 minute ride) had surf crashing on shore 24 / 7 ... no way to sun or swim, town was miniscule. I wasted an hour going there and getting back ... should have stayed on Jaco beach!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“better beaches to go to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

the only reason to go to this beach is for the little surf. Good beach surf for beginners and less experience surfers and a good beach to teach kids to surf...otherwise there are many other beaches close by that are prettier and cleaner

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JFLocust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaco Beach also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Jaco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing