We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice clean place, away from the Jaco strip noise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Luz
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice clean place, away from the Jaco strip noise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Nice hotel, clean and with a nice pool. I was disappointed in the town/beach of Jaco itself, very dirty! However, the hotel was great and good breakfasts. It was within walking distance to the beach and restaurants/shopping. Since Jaco beach was so dirty, we probably won't be returning to that town again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustangsally50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    102
    31
    21
    10
See reviews for
99
119
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

This was our second trip to Mar de Luz and it was better than the first which was so nice we came back again! My wife is a tica , while I am gringo we have a 4 year old son and two children by her first marriage ages 8 and 11. While Jaco is the closest beach to our Apt in San Jose it is not the most familt friendly town. Since I live in In the USA our time is precious and this Hotel is perfect. With a womderful breakfast cook to order and included in the price , with a clean room with a kitchen and fridge and the cleanest pools in the country I would reccomend it to anyone family or couple on a romantic get-away. Victor we will be back and hopefully soon...Pura Vida

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank machspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

The staff at Mar de Luz were very helpful. The garden and pool area are delightful. But I felt like I was staying in the secure compound for Jaco. Jaco has become a dump. It is sleezy and the streets are filled with people I would prefer not to encounter. It was the only place in Costa Rica where I was a bit nervous on the street. A very pleasant American warned us, I believe accurately, that "This is not a safe place to go out at night."

That of course is not the fault of the people at the hotel. We used this as a stopover for travel elsewhere. If I had booked two days, I probably would have eaten the second and gone elsewhere, far away from Jaco just to get away.

I am not horribly put off by beach behavior, we live in San Diego, where believe it or not, I have noticed a dope deal or two being carried out at local beaches. But I did not feel safe in Jaco. I feel sorry for the owners and staff of this hotel, because it is a pretty clean if funky budget beach hotel with a nice pool and garden. Unfortunately, it is in Jaco.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unity, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We stayed here as part of a high school EF Tours group. Why they pick downtown Jaco for their free day for kids when it's a town where drugs are freely offered on the street, and every night is "ladies night" in the bars to draw women in, is beyond me. However, Hotel Mar de Luz is in the outskirts of the central area, away from the noise and negative aspects of Jaco. The pool is nice and clean. The rooms are average, with kitchen facilities. Saw one cockroach, but I fully expected this in Costa Rica. Bathrooms were basic, with plenty of hot water in the shower. AC in the room worked well. There is a safe in the closet for valuables.
Our stay included meals, which were ok. No choice, they just plunk the plate down in front of you. It was obvious that they were looking to serve food that was cheap and quick - spaghetti, burger and fries (which they sent as a box lunch for a day trip - ? - 3 hrs later it's pretty gross). Other guests at the hotel had a choice. One morning the served coolaid with breakfast.
There are 2 free computers with internet in the lobby area.
Ok place, but I wouldn't visit Jaco again.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelchicxoxo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

We checked in with the friendly staff at reception and were personally welcomed by the owner.

The rooms were nice considering the price we paid. The grounds were beautiful with ample space to lounge around in cute hidden patios.

The owner of the hotel, Victor, was especially hospitable and took personal care of us!

Perfect, romantic vacation!

  • Liked — Convenience - walking distance from everything
  • Disliked — could have been cleaner
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank angelchicxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Great hotel, great owner, great time. Key area in Jaco, right near the main strip. You can do virtually any activity from this spot. The owner is a very nice man and the hotel was very warm and well taken care of. Highly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank fellownarrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

September 16-20.
Ecellent price range and secure location with 24 hour personnal ready to assist you no matter what time you come in. Price includes a full breakfast and the rooms are excellent with kingsize beds and air condition. The location is central with it´s own secure parking. a block from the cities center and 2 blocks from the beach.
My stay here was pleasant because of the friendly staff that made it feel as if you were at home and all your belongings were secure.
I even had an inceident with a lost security key for my car and 6 staff members helped me look for my key. The owner even offered me to stay in a room until the mechanic arrived from San jose.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone, they even have a sister hotel to the south at Playa Bejucca r something like that and the place is just beautiful along the beach.
I will be back and bring as many people as i can......

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatIsOnII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
4.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#13 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Property: Hotel Mar de Luz
Address: Mar de Luz street, Av. Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mar de Luz you will find an oasis of peace where you can relax after a day of discovering the many attractions of the area. Only a few steps from the hotel a long, sandy beach allows for many activities and where ocean waves have invited surfers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing