We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaco Find”
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Luz
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at a great small hotel in Jaco Beach. Breakfast was fantastic - eggs (made to order), bacon, fruit, coffee +,- and was included in the cost of the room. Hotel is about 1/4 mile from the beach, shopping, restaurants, and clubs. But since it is off the main road, the hotel is very quite. The hotel is family friendly and the pools are full with kids early in the day, and parents and couples in the afternoon. The staff is very friendly and helpful in arranging tours and providing directions. My room was a corner room across a small wooden bridge, so I had a lot of privacy. My room was very comfortable and I didn't have any issues with it. You don't need a car in Jaco Beach, just transport from SJO. Everything is close by and many people are out and around.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralphday13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frainer-Ch, Director Comercial at Hotel Mar de Luz, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear guest.

We appreciate that you took part of your time to let us know how did you feel at Hotel Mar de Luz. It's very important for us to make our guests feel comfy and satisfied.

Thanks in advance for highlighting the location and installations. Remember that we will always be willing to provide the best quality to our customers.

Please come back soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 471 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this small hotel in Jaco gor three days. I wad ver happy with the overall service. The hotel is a two story building but it also has a number of charming individual units. We stayed in an individual unit, very lovely inside. The walls are made of stone liked, thete are picnic table in front of each unit, swimming pool in the middle ad well as a yacuzzi. Both were cleaned and propely , maintained. There is a small playground for toddlers and small children, very safe gor kids. Gardrn is nice , big trees, i saw several iguanas in the tree as I was sitting in the shade in a comfortable chair. My unit cabin was like a studio, the floors were tiled, small kitchen with utensils, charming breakfast table, the matress was comfortable and the
linens soft, actually they felt silky, the bathroom clean, no bathtub but I didnt care as the entire unit felt cozy. I recommend this hotel as it was not expendive, it was safe and not right in the main street which can get noisy at night, the hotel is located one block from the main street, easy access. Petfect for families, staff was helful and friendly. The free breakfast which came included in our tab wad traditional, fresh and ok. We March, and we paid $70.oo per day + tax. No fitness centet, this hotel had only I think one stationar bicycle. Ah, I forgot to mention that the air conditioning works but the ventilation its poor at least in my unit.

Room Tip: I would choose the infividual cabins again, all are located in a good atea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huitzilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frainer-Ch, Director Comercial at Hotel Mar de Luz, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear customer.

Thank you so much for telling us about your experience at Mar de Luz, Jacó.

It was a pleasure to have you here as our guest. I'm so happy that you liked our rooms.
We emphasize in creating big rooms in order for our customers to feel comfortable and bring their families to join this good experience too.

Since we like to take care of our customers we know that the location of Hotel Mar de Luz is a good spot for being far away from the noise of the town but at the same time close enough to walk downtown.

Thanks in advance for highlighting our strenghts and we hope you to be here soon again.


Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Place is good and quiet, perfect for families. No prostitutes and narcotics allowed. Near Jaco centrum, so all was close by walking. Breakfast nothing extra ordinary, but average. Helpful personnel. Big minus is that there was not any water in the room and fridge was warm.

Room Tip: Second floor was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frainer-Ch, Director Comercial at Hotel Mar de Luz, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear Mika G.
Thank you for letting us know how your experience at Mar de Luz was. We'll take this comment as something to get better and fulfill our customers expectations.

Please come back soon, we grant that you won't have any inconvenience.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Close to centre, but down a side street so no noise.

Family hotel so pools busy with people playing.

Rooms very big with space to relax, downstairs rooms I think have full kitchen facilities, ours had lots off cooking related stuff but we did not use them.

Breakfast good start to the day, but my egg was very salty, so next day I asked for no salt and was fine.Breakfast doesnt end really early unlike at some places.

Check out at noon which is as good as we found in Costa Rica. Staff very friendly and helpful. For the price paid this was the best value hotel we stayed at on our trip. The bed was not small unlike most other places we stayed in the country. Pillow was a bit small and soft, so had to ask for another one, there was also a lack of hooks to hang clothes/towels on, so we drapised stuff over the various furniture items.

We arranged a private transfer to SJO airport at a price very similar to a shared shuttle service for 2 people, which was a pretty good deal and saved messing about with buses. We came from Quepos by public bus which was easy, cheap and less than 2 hours.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimmyWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frainer-Ch, Director Comercial at Hotel Mar de Luz, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017


Dear guest,

From all Mar de Luz staff, we thank you so much for sharing your good opinions with others travelers on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure for us having you as one of our guests. We are always working on giving the best service and rates. Thanks in advance for highlighting the good quality of the food that we provide.

Hopefully you can come soon to join some good vacation with us.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Perfectly located (everything nearby without any Jaco night noise). Nice, spacious rooms that are either partly or fully equipped. The Dutch owner is very nice as was the rest of the staff. Nice pools and if traveling with kids: they have a big playground.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Geeskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frainer-Ch, Director Comercial at Hotel Mar de Luz, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Dear customer.

We thank you so much for sharing your experience at our Hotel Mar de Luz.

It was a pleasure having you here as our guest, we focus on giving the best service to all of our customers, read comments as this one is what makes us being better every day.

I hope we can see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hotel Mar de Luz answered all of our expectations!
the hotel is located in a quiet street about 70 mt from the main road and a short walk to the main beach of Jaco.
the rooms are big and fully equiped, has a nice balcony to the pool, hot water, wi-fi and a/c, really comfortable and clean.
the staff was very nice and helpful and made us feel welcome!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lital H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frainer-Ch, Director Comercial at Hotel Mar de Luz, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2017

Dear customer.

We appreciate the time that you take to share your good experiences at Mar de Luz Hotel, it was a pleasure to host you.

Our staff, as the hotel properly, is committed to provide a top notch service and the best food quality in order to make our customers feel at ease and happy.

Our equipped rooms provide the comfort that you need to feel like at home. We are so glad that you liked it.


Come back soon, it will be a pleasure to serve.



Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This place is unique, because everyone has personal access to the owner, a smart, ethical European and seasoned hotel owner. There are no granite countertops, or marble floors here; instead you'll find a hospitable, safe, well located place that makes you feel at home.

Stay here and you will wish for more accommodations with owners on the premises, and fewer chain hotels with corporately trained staff.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frainer-Ch, Director Comercial at Hotel Mar de Luz, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2017

Dear guest.

From all Mar de Luz Hotel's Staff, thank you so much for letting us know your opinions about us.

We appreciate the time that you take to share your good experiences at Mar de Luz Hotel, it was a pleasure to host you.

Our staff, as the hotel properly, is committed to provide a top notch service in order to make our customers feel at ease and happy.

Please come back soon.


Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 40 in Jaco
105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#8 of 40 in Jaco
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Mar de Luz street, Av. Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Garabito Municipality, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#6 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $74 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mar de Luz you will find an oasis of peace where you can relax after a day of discovering the many attractions of the area. Only a few steps from the hotel a long, sandy beach allows for many activities and where ocean waves have invited surfers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing