We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mar de Luz to your Saves list
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jaco Beach | next to Subway Restaurant, Av. Pastor Díaz, Jaco 143 Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A good sized room, well appointed and comfortable - a real oasis. The staff are very helpful, it has excellent facilities (fridge, satellite telly, air conditioning) and downtown is a short walk from the hotel. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelACox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A friend and I decided to take a brief siesta in Jaco after we'd been doing some hard volunteer work for a week, and we picked this hotel quickly based on a description in the Lonely Planet guidebook. That turned out to be a fantastic decision. I didn't love Jaco as a town (the reputation for drugs and prostitution is true), but this hotel is a great haven. The pools are beautiful, the staff are wonderful, and it is very family-friendly---the hotel has signs indicating that they do not condone prostitution, and no guests are allowed. They did a fabulous job cleaning our very dirty laundry, which we were very grateful for. There are also three very cute dogs who live there. And the hotel is in the perfect location-- far enough from the bars to be quiet, but within very easy walking distance (~ 2 blocks) to shops, restaurants, and the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_CA_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location. Very nice people. Specifically to mention the name of Jonathan, Gabriel, and the woman at reception desk(sorry....forgot the name!). Jonathan made calls for us to arrange tours and transportation and he was clearly not getting any commission out of it. Staff also provided helpful advice for us regarding the rest of our Costa Rica travels. Decent breakfast. We had a room on the second floor which was pretty clean and comfortable (it IS a hotel-- the bed wasn't that comfy, but was clean and functional, and really, what more can one ask?). Hot water and A/C were both very welcome. The place had a family feel and there were always people chilling in the pool which was in the middle of the property. Could get a bit loud but it didn't bother us-- we only were there to sleep basically and were exhausted after activity-filled days. The cute little dachsunds all around were fun. Overall decent stay for the amount we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tavikiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, null, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Second time to stay at this establishment. Excellent staff that helped us find the best places to visit, best places to eat, or shop, best view of the sunset, their local knowledge and recommendations are excellent - they will send you to safe, honest establishments. If you want to truely see Costa Rica, this is the place to stay. Warm, friendly, safe - why pay more for a common "motel" experience (tourist trap) when you can experience a true Costa Rica lifestyle. Awesome place, service excellent, clean, safe, good food, lots of fun! What more can I say, except stay here! You will not be sorry! We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Reasonably priced and beautiful, and the resident dachsunds are adorable. My son and I shared a nice room with river rock walls near the pools (they have three!) Breakfast was delicious. And the staff...wow! Are they ever helpful and friendly. This hotel is only a block from the beach, handy to anything you need to see or do. Pura vida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlette945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

our 5 day stay here was perfect. we originally had the garden room but was given a standard room instead (same price). our upstairs corner room was better than the garden room that i saw. we had more room, a larger bed, upstairs, and next to the pools. this place has a great value and we made much use of the pools and computers as we were planning our day trips to manuel antonio for ATV, rafting, canoeing, and hiking. it is a 45min shuttle down there, but the trips got shorter and shorter everyday. quepos looked too rural, definitely a good decision to stay in Jaco instead. Manuel Antonio had some great hotels really close to the park but no real areas to relax like the large beach in Jaco. would gladly stay here again next time. daily breakfast, access to phone to setup trips, internet/wifi, clean. staff were GREAT.

Room Tip: ASK for a standard room upstairs room over a downstairs room or garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am an International Wildlife Photographer and have traveled many times to Costa Rica. I always stay at Hotel Mar de Luz when i photograph the Crocodiles of the Tarcoles River. The staff there is EXCELLENT! They were friendly and extremely helpful! The staff also speaks English & Spanish..The owner speaks German, English, Spanish and a several other languages..The environment is pleasant, and everybody is friendly!!!

The prices were reasonable. The swimming pool was the cleanest in Costa Rica. The food was good.

Sophie & Fanny (staff) are the best!!!!!

Also, this Hotel is located very close to many needed amenities. There are many places to eat, a grocery store (super market), movie theater, bank, etc. They are all within a short walking distance.

Also, the Ocean/beach is very close and within a 5 minute walk.

If you want a SAFE & friendly place to stay, I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to help you decide which room is right for you. The staff is very helpful and very hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#3 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
4.6 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Jaco Beach | next to Subway Restaurant, Av. Pastor Díaz, Jaco 143 Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mar de Luz you will find an oasis of peace where you can relax after a day of discovering the many attractions of the area. Only a few steps from the hotel a long, sandy beach allows for many activities and where ocean waves have invited surfers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Low Cost Holidays and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing