We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room with a great location and good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Luz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mar de Luz street, Av. Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great room with a great location and good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

our 5 day stay here was perfect. we originally had the garden room but was given a standard room instead (same price). our upstairs corner room was better than the garden room that i saw. we had more room, a larger bed, upstairs, and next to the pools. this place has a great value and we made much use of the pools and computers as we were planning our day trips to manuel antonio for ATV, rafting, canoeing, and hiking. it is a 45min shuttle down there, but the trips got shorter and shorter everyday. quepos looked too rural, definitely a good decision to stay in Jaco instead. Manuel Antonio had some great hotels really close to the park but no real areas to relax like the large beach in Jaco. would gladly stay here again next time. daily breakfast, access to phone to setup trips, internet/wifi, clean. staff were GREAT.

Room Tip: ASK for a standard room upstairs room over a downstairs room or garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    98
    29
    21
    10
See reviews for
91
115
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am an International Wildlife Photographer and have traveled many times to Costa Rica. I always stay at Hotel Mar de Luz when i photograph the Crocodiles of the Tarcoles River. The staff there is EXCELLENT! They were friendly and extremely helpful! The staff also speaks English & Spanish..The owner speaks German, English, Spanish and a several other languages..The environment is pleasant, and everybody is friendly!!!

The prices were reasonable. The swimming pool was the cleanest in Costa Rica. The food was good.

Sophie & Fanny (staff) are the best!!!!!

Also, this Hotel is located very close to many needed amenities. There are many places to eat, a grocery store (super market), movie theater, bank, etc. They are all within a short walking distance.

Also, the Ocean/beach is very close and within a 5 minute walk.

If you want a SAFE & friendly place to stay, I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to help you decide which room is right for you. The staff is very helpful and very hon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Having decided to go to Costa Rica for a few days I chose Jaco as the destination, looked up available hotels and took a punt on Mar de Luz. Although the property is not new it has been well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly the girls at the front desk, Sophie and Fanny. The price of the air-conditioned room I had was reasonable and the location couldn't have been better. I plan to revisit Jaco and re-book Mar de Luz.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for one night on the way to our main destination. This hotel has several misrepresentation problems. First, the rooms look nothing like the photo- nothing at all. The room we stayed in was old, dated, worn dirty linens ( and by that I mean speckled with old stains, and scratchy), dirty, cracked tiles. Beds were horrible, even by costa rican standards, with springs that poked into our backs. thin walls meant we heard every passerby, and our early riser neighbor's tv. The ac worked, but was loud with a light that illuminated the room throughout the night ( we nicknamed it the "eye of sauron"). Many rooms appeared to be living there as a long term rental.

The pros? It was family oriented, so pretty safe. Good coffee at breakfast. Nice garden/ pool area, even if it was overrun by kids. And the location was fine, although it is a solid three blocks to the beach.

I don't think it was worth more than $70 a night in high season.

To get there turn at the subway off the main drag. It is the direction away from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenGateTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been to the Mar de Luz 12 times over the last 15 yrs.. The hotel is awesome, staff is friendly and Victor the owner is the best. The location is perfect and the price is great. We have had so many fine times in Jaco, the weather, food and people. I love it there and would recommend the hotel to all. Thanks Victor !

Room Tip: Stay in the older section. The rock walls are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed for one night on 1/12/2013 in room 25 or 27 (can't remember the exact number).

Plusses: Room was very large, secure parking available (lot with locked gate), furniture was in excellent condition, nice property, excellent location near the main strip, very friendly and helpful German girl at check-in

Negatives:Bath towels were somewhat worn and I did not like that they placed the towels in a pattern on the bedspread. (Bedspread could be dirty.) Television was small. I did not find any tissues in the room. Water had a metallic smell. One or two ants in the room.

Observations: this hotel caters to families so expect a lot of children in the pool and around the courtyard. The bathroom and shower had liquid soap dispensers - no soap bars were provided.

Overall I was glad I chose this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the minute we arrived until we left 1 week later everyone and everything was perfect. The staff and owner Victor did there very best to please everyone. The location was perfect for us to walk everywhere and anywhere we wanted. Our room was spacious for the 4 of us and over looked the pool and the exotic gardens that surround the property. Breakfast was more than enough. ( great coffee, fresh fruit, and much more) included. Its certainly not for stuffy uptight people but for the price it will be a great deal for anyone looking for a little taste of Paradise. We would definitely return in the Future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.3 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
4.6 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Property: Hotel Mar de Luz
Address: Mar de Luz street, Av. Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mar de Luz you will find an oasis of peace where you can relax after a day of discovering the many attractions of the area. Only a few steps from the hotel a long, sandy beach allows for many activities and where ocean waves have invited surfers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing