We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Luz
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed for one night on 1/12/2013 in room 25 or 27 (can't remember the exact number).

Plusses: Room was very large, secure parking available (lot with locked gate), furniture was in excellent condition, nice property, excellent location near the main strip, very friendly and helpful German girl at check-in

Negatives:Bath towels were somewhat worn and I did not like that they placed the towels in a pattern on the bedspread. (Bedspread could be dirty.) Television was small. I did not find any tissues in the room. Water had a metallic smell. One or two ants in the room.

Observations: this hotel caters to families so expect a lot of children in the pool and around the courtyard. The bathroom and shower had liquid soap dispensers - no soap bars were provided.

Overall I was glad I chose this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    123
    36
    22
    10
See reviews for
130
148
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the minute we arrived until we left 1 week later everyone and everything was perfect. The staff and owner Victor did there very best to please everyone. The location was perfect for us to walk everywhere and anywhere we wanted. Our room was spacious for the 4 of us and over looked the pool and the exotic gardens that surround the property. Breakfast was more than enough. ( great coffee, fresh fruit, and much more) included. Its certainly not for stuffy uptight people but for the price it will be a great deal for anyone looking for a little taste of Paradise. We would definitely return in the Future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Aside from the perfect location - central but set back from the main strip, and the very fair prices, this little gem really stands out as a very unfussy haven from the throbbing hub of jaco. The owners clearly care about the place and appear to have invested for the long term. The staff have been hand-picked for their courtesy and willingness to please the guests. A perfect choice for families, couples or single travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WombleDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The owner Victor will help you with anything u need. We were going fishing at 5:30 and we couldn't make the hotels breakfast so he bought food with his own money for us. The employees are helpful and kind . The pools are amazing . Don't think twice its amazing

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Costaricalovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived early for our reserved room and were greeted warmly by the manager and staff. Every employee that we met was friendly and made sure that we were made to feel comfortable. The two pools were always well maintained as was the hot tub. The grounds are kept very clean and well maintained. The room that we had (#209) was a good size with a queen bed. The mattress was not the most comfortable and the pillows were very old and thin. We were given new pillows but again they were not the most comfortable. The breakfast that was served as part of the room fee was better than expected. Fresh fruits and selections of eggs, pancakes and a fruit plate. Good coffee. I would highly reccommend this place for families as the palce is kid friendly. Right in the center of Jaco but well removed from the noise of the main street. Wi-Fi connection is available throughout the hotel although the signal does get very weak the farther you go from the reception area.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that is far away from the pool are very audible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isyc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alum, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our third visit to Jaco. The hotel and staff were great, as usual, and the free breakfast was outstanding, (crispy bacon), Once again Victor (the owner) went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect. See you in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The best part of this hotel was its central location. It was central to a number of great restaurants and it is pretty close to the beach. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The neighbourhood is reasonably safe. Of course, you do have to watch yourself anywhere you go. The service was also amazing. The owner realized that we would be leaving before breakfast the next morning and he went to the store and personally brought us some bread, butter, jam and coffee. Also, when I taught I lost my wallet in the hotel, the desk clerk personally strip searched all the beds and moved a lot of the furniture. I really appreciate the trouble he took for me.

The swimming pool was great. It just gets really bright in the early to late afternoon, so I recommend swimming late evening or early morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.5 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#14 of 41 in Jaco
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Property: Hotel Mar de Luz
Address: Mar de Luz street, Av. Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#7 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mar de Luz you will find an oasis of peace where you can relax after a day of discovering the many attractions of the area. Only a few steps from the hotel a long, sandy beach allows for many activities and where ocean waves have invited surfers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel
Hotel Mar De Luz Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing