We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best so far...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Ranked #2 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best so far...”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

After our less than stellar stay in La Fortuna this was the perfect place to land. Secure parking for "Jimmy" and a very clean and comfortable room. We had only planned to stay one night but may extend to two if avail. Particularly love the covered patio with hammock and was able to enjoy the rain without getting wet.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    77
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
100
95
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dimona, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The place is highly invested. The room is beautiful and the owner is nice. And then came the night. Without any warning before we closed for a night, we discovered that right next to the hotel, there's a dance bar that plays music very loudly. We couldnt get any sleep at all! When we tried to go to the desk, the guy told us that there's nothing to do.
Consequently, before you are closing, make sure that the bar is not opened that night. Or else bring your most massive ear plugs. Pura Vida

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aviad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here one night in a room with a shared bathroom. There was no hot water but it was freezing, just refreshing. The bed was comfortable. The air worked great. I actually woke up to turn it down. It was quiet even though it's right in the middle of the Main Street. The grounds are beautiful, colorful and serene. There is a small, clean round pool. A communal kitchen is available. The front desk staff was very helpful especially with bus information. I met some very nice travelers, mostly from the states. My friends had a great private room with a bathroom and a patio with seating. There is a community sitting area outside under a roof as well as an indoor area with a television. My room also had a tv but I nevere turned it on.

The Buddha house is one block from the beach. The main gate is locked at night for security and there is a staff member there 25 hours a day.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traversecity4961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This place is nice, really nice and at $80 a night it better be. The room was clean, water was warm in the shower, and the staff was very helpful. Be warned, laundry is price by piece instead of per kilo. One load cost us $40 which was a surprise. Nice pool as well!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Banjo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hostel while we were on vacation for a few days.The place is very nice, clean and has a little kitchen and pool. It is right in the middle of the center nearby all of the shops and restaurants. It has nice hindu decorations and the receptionist Carla is awesome!

Wifi is pretty good here inside the main hostel, I don't know about the dorms or private rooms with bathrooms. I worked online and for the most part the reception was pretty good, although sometimes a little spotty.

Room Tip: They have dorms for $15/night as well as private rooms with or without bathrooms from $55+
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brookealicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I found it after a quick search on town. the Price very reasonable. the facilities were far better tan expected and the staff very helpfull.
Further tan a Hostel, the facilities and private romos, plus the swimming pool drive the service to a hotel service for less tan half of the Price.
And like in real estate. Location Location Location. Near the beach, near the shopping , and right where the night life goes on. Dont need a car at all.
Thanks for your help.

Room Tip: room number 1 ihas nice doublé bed ok for couples or single traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reservations R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I planned to lay over in Jaco for 2 nights..we rented a private room which was perfect, and ended up staying an additional 2 nights! The private room (10) was great, and served us perfectly. Jaco was very central for all our day trips and excursions, and it was always nice to come back to the hostel after a long day. Facilities were great, we cooked dinner, swam in pool, and very much felt comfortable. Most importantly, Carla was extremely helpful to is. We lost our camera during the flight, and didn't speak any Spanish. She consulted and coordinated with the airline and was able to track down our camera and have it sent to San Jose airport.

The location is ideal, close to many restaurants and shops all within a 10 minute walk, and there's a grocery store nearby as well if you prefer cooking at the hostels kitchen!
Only thing to know is that on some nights there can be noise from the club next tot the hostel, and the A/C is loud, but you can sleep through it and will want to have it on!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 41 in Jaco
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.6 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
5.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha House Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha House Boutique Hostel

Property: Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Address: Pastor Diaz Main Avenue | Facing El Bohio Street, Centro, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Buddha House Boutique Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel/backpacker Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Buddha House Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cometa Hotel Jaco
Buddha House Boutique Hostel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing