We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Ranked #2 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying 2 nights at this boutique hostel.
Mericel the front end lady was a hoot and just all around fantastic place.
Safe, lovely atmosphere. Great pool and lounging area.
I met many lovely people there as well.
I will return!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank cheryl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for Buddha House Boutique Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 359 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Accidently found this hostel and it was a happy coincidence. There is one dorm with 5 beds but the double rooms with air con are more comfortuble. I stayed her for 2 weeks because of the tranquility and ambiance amidst the bar noise of Jaco. Jaco is a good place to learn surfing and the staff here were happy to help me with my spanish. After a short walk to the beach every day I could come back here and relax in the pool or one of the hammocks. The staff are friendly and the place was generally a quiet oasis of greenery and music. If you want somewhere to stagger drunkenly back from after spending all your money in the and then collapsing in a pool of your own vomit with some kicking baseline blaring from the loud speakers then this hostel is probably NOT for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Situated in amongst the frenzied town, Buddha House is a beautiful calm place to gather and recharge....the staff are also very helpful and friendly. The hotel has a charm of its own, painted in bright colours with lovely Buddha and Ganesha statues and paintings, all beautifully lit up in the evenings!

Room Tip: Book in advance...they have a nice dorm room, good singles and suites...to suit your budget.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettComley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent one night at the Buddha House. Which was plenty. The staff were very friendly, however our room was super tiny, and the bed was so uncomfortable. The springs poking through the mattress. It is located right in the middle of Jaco, which is quite noisy. Thankfully we had AC in our room which drowned out majority of the street noise. I think Jaco is more expensive than many places in CR? But we still felt like what we paid was way too much for what it was. We have had great hotels in the three weeks of travelling that have been much cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveltheworld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends for 8 nights. The atmosphere of this place is incredible. You feel safe, comfortable and clean. Staff are friendly and very accommodating. Perfectly located in the heart of Jaco. Everything is within a 5 minute walking radius - beach, supermarket, restaurants, bars, shops. Hermosa beach is also a 5-10 minute cab ride away, which is beautiful (we went to watch the International Reef Classic Surfing Competition there).

We had a group/family room with AC and private bathroom. Excellent! Our rooms were cleaned everyday. Bathroom was very clean as well.

They also have a little pool which is perfect for dipping in when it's incredibly HOT. Their mango tree is awesome as well, when they're ripe, they fall and you can just put them in the fridge and cut them up later to eat fresh :)

Room Tip: Room 8 for a group/family room! Spacious and clean.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

my brothers and I decided to come to Jaco for some fun and sun. Buddha house was our choice of lodging based on all the great reviews here. We booked for five nights and thought maybe if we didn't like it, we will go elsewhere. but after meeting amazing people and enjoying the beautiful grounds *comfortable rooms,refreshing pool,common area* we decided to spend all 5 nights. we felt like this was home away from home. They have plans to expand the hotel in sept! so make sure you plan accordingly. can't wait to come back and visit here again. Oh and Marisela at the reception is the best!! xx

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinselthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My boy friend and I stayed here for two nights and it was the best choice ever. The receptionist was so nice and accommodating and this place has a pool! The atmosphere here is crazy awesome and its clean cozy and fun. Our single room was spacious and clean, and if you like mangos this hostel happens to be right under a mango tree!!!! Mangos all day long = the best!
Also the location is perfect! your so close to the beach and around all the restaurants and shops.

I hope you choose to stay here and enjoy your adventure!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
459 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#13 of 41 in Jaco
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
0.6 mi away
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddha House Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha House Boutique Hostel

Address: Pastor Diaz Main Avenue | Facing El Bohio Street, Centro, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range: $26 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Buddha House Boutique Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel/backpacker Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Buddha House Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cometa Hotel Jaco
Buddha House Boutique Hostel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing