We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #23 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Reviewed April 19, 2014

On the plus side:
Good looking hotel right on the beach , and a couple of hundred yards from the main strip. Very helpfull staff, large a/c rooms with fans, comfy beds, great shower with plenty of hot water, iguanas climbing in the trees.
On the negative side:
Our room , no 4 had a stove with only one ring functioning that was permanently on unless switched off using the fuse box, it is built next to a creek that was rather smelly at this time of year.
To conclude:
We had a great time in Jaco ,go there.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outdoorandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 118 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

I recently stayed at this resort and was very impressed with the entire experience. The service was great, we got to check in at 1:00 when we arrived, the room was spacious and loved the balcony! I was so impressed when I arrived and was shown directly to my room which was already nice and cool because they had turned on the AC early. The place has a nice sized kitchen and fresh cut flowers. The view was stunning and I was so pleased that this will be my home in Jaco for all future trips.

Room Tip: The ocean front suites are like a small apartment right on the ocean. I've stayed in Jaco 3 time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatorfan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Good Hotel located right on the beach and has a decent sized pool where you can enjoy with your group or hang around with a drink from the bar. They have a little bar right next to the pool. Rooms are a very good size and have a kitchenette (not the best but decent enough) /living area and the bedroom is separated by a sliding door. The beachfront rooms are slightly more expensive but have a balcony and worth the extra $.
Some might consider the rooms run down but for the price I paid (which was pretty good) I had no complaints and my room was great!

Free wi-fi is available and it's pretty reliable and fast.

Staff is good. They had some billing issues in their system when I was checking out and tried to overcharge but a quick talk and proof of payment resolved everything.

The hotel is about a 2 minute walk from the main street on a quiet (at night) street but nothing dangerous or intimidating at all.

Overall a decent place and recommended .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank atabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The other review where the guy says the pictures are deceiving I cannot emphasize how true that is. The place is really run down, by the old pictures you can tell it was nice at one time but now it looks like its on the verge of shutting down.. rooms are a little dirty, the thing that bothered me the most was the stains on the bath towels. Gross. The restaurant is a joke your better off eating in the town. The only good thing about the hotel is that its cheap and its beach front. Although I did not like the town of jaco. No one there was friendly. We stayed in la Fortuna before jaco and it was such a nice friendly town so big difference. The beach is jaco looks dirty because of the dark brown sand and all the rocks. We did go snorkeling, they took us to a different area and that was pretty fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystalpistal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a funny place. Absolutely love it. It is a quaint "family hotel" right on the beach. The setting could not be beat. It is obvious from the reviews that they have redone the entire place and looks great! Next door is the "Copacabana" one of those hotels that provides Ladies of the evening for the middle aged, mid life crises, jacked up on Viraga, male, (There is a mote with gators to protect you!) Ok so some of them make it over, and you should see them at this hotel, but way more discrete. After all this place is owned by the "Del Ray" in San Jose. (If you do not know why that place is famous for, you need to do more research on your stay in Costa Rica.) A must do for those that enjoy Irony, go to the Monkey bar (right up the street). Nothing like hot American backpacker girls (who don't shower) getting down with the hot Costa Rica prostitutes (who shower 5 times a day). Go with a open mind, Jaco is that type of place that will exceed your expectations, if you do not have any.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeaselSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We ask the manager (a Colombian girl) why this Drunk Americans in the lobby with the local 'ladies' her answer was so rude and she was so arrogant, we got threatened by her, the zone is scarry and trash everywhere, Police shows up every couple of days heavely armed to check on God knows what, i personally saw the manager insulting outloud and try to scare the local kids and local families from the city of San Joae from the public beach with the security guards claiming that she is the manager and she doesnt want any local at the Beach in front of the Hotel (public Beach) some locals called the cops on her and she started to insult the cops, by the time that the Show started we left the 'scene' check out and left, we heard (next day) that the cops fine her and she is still working at the Hotel, besides that, the service is terrible, the place is not a hotel, its a Brothel and its filthy, NEVER AGAIN unless i want to punish my own self for something terrible i do

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Costaricatodayandnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in Jaco for 3 nights before moving to another area hotel for my sister's wedding. My fiance and I wanted a King bed so we got the Honeymoon suite for a very reasonable price. The location was good and central to several good restaurants and a grocery store. Both room's balconies on the third floor connect to one another and there is no way to prevent it, it was fine because we had family staying next door but it may be a concern if you're going alone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#18 of 40 in Jaco
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#26 of 40 in Jaco
55 reviews
1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 40 in Jaco
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Green
Hotel Green
#22 of 40 in Jaco
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#20 of 40 in Jaco
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Bri Bri | Playa Jaco, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 86 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range: $142 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small 15-room hotel is a classic! The sea, the surf, the beach, the palm grove, the hotel-it is just as you might imagine a small unique tropical beachfront resort should be. The “Songs of the sea” is a quiet and cool oasis amidst the busy Jaco town scene, with each room’s small deck looking out over the ocean or on the lush gardens surrounding the pool. The hotel is built in Tropical Spanish Colonial style and the fully equipped rooms are spacious and quiet. It is the one place in Playa Jaco that combines the convenience of central location with beachfront location. Wake up to a delicious fresh fruit and buffet breakfast under the thatched roof of the beach side restaurant, then wander down to the beach for some sun and surf. If it gets too hot, retreat and cool off by the pool and Jacuzzi or catch up on your reading in the breezy elevated thatched roof tree house while you enjoy the view below. We have a small gourmet restaurant for lunch and dinner, and our Costa Rican chef serves international gourmet and or local food. Also enjoy our Tapas Bar terrace and Jacuzzi on the third floor with a spectacular view over the ocean and green mountains where you can enjoy the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Ocean. We also do weddings and special events. We are committed with national sustainability programs and protecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canciones Del Mar Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing