We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable in Jaco'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #32 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable in Jaco'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This was the first place I stayed apon arrival to Costa Rica (we went on to visit Mal Pais, Nosara, and Flamingo) I purchased a package deal through living social and included surfing lessons, stand up paddle, and yoga, with airport pick up (through Del Mar surf camp.) It was well worth the price and I had so much fun. The hotel itself is very nice and cozy with about 12 rooms i think. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating morning noon and night. They were very attentive and the morning breakfast was great with nice wait staff. You get fresh fruit every morning and another plate like rice and beans and the best plantains I've tasted. I usually saved the rice and beans for later and the dinner there was excellent as well. The hearts of palm salad was good, and seabass with avocado butter was to die for! I like the rooms, very spacious and good light with a kitchen. The one negative thing was the shower and it got noisy at times (there is a bar next door). There was no water pressure to speak of (more like a trickle) and it was only cold water, so I would always shower at a neighboring outdoor hotel shower (the one by the pool didn't work either.) Also, there was an unfinished feeling to it, like it was going under construction. The pool side bar was closed and the upstairs hot tub and lounge was also empty and unfinished. It has potential for being a lively place, but I didn't mind it was very peaceful there as I wasn't looking to party. Overall, I would stay again, or for a more upscale place with yoga and surf lessons, try Del Mar on the way to Playa Hermosa.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneBug83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    39
    13
    12
    11
See reviews for
18
34
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Having stayed at Canciones del Mar 3 times, this will be our last. It has changed ownership and it shows. It looks run down. The service was friendly, but mostly useless. There was one peson who came to change a light bulb I found particularly rude. It seems as though some friends of the staff stopped by for breakfast and the entire front desk shift was hanging out at the buffet bar providing a very big distraction to the servers who were very neglectful. Dirty dishes were left out from one afternoon to the next on our neighbors outside table. Numerous staff members walked by time and again - I'm sure one of them saw the dishers - the guests sure did. The gardens while still very beautiful did look neglected as did the pool cabana with rafters needed to be tacked back up. It was a disappointment. For that price, I expected much more than we got. Sad because it used to be so nice. I loved the pool and garden. I hope it improves soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnie615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

las vegas, nv
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

I am sorry to disagree with the other reviewers but we found this property to be run down. Several hours on three occasions over two days without water and no hot water, ever. The sunset views were great but part of our lack of total satisfaction may be the town/beach; the beach is too muddy/gritty, unlike Manuel to the south which has the clean blue waters we came to swim in. Fundamentally, the price of a room in the similar property in Hawaii for example would be half the price. I guess that is costa rica however so be prepared. The food was good as well however and I think adventure travelers will enjoy the property if they have to be in Jaco. The staff were definitely cool for the most part but overwhelmed by the required facility work in plumbing, electrical, and refurbishment.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Great location to watch the sunset. We never would have found this restaurant if a friend didn't recommend it. They have super sweet staff, and amazing on the beach location, which is not that common in Jaco. The meals are superb, fish cooked perfectly and the ceviche is something to write home about. Definitely give this place a try!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LankaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel really made the long trip from Europe worth all the effort! Fabulous location, amazing food, exceptional staff, and sheer perfection all around! What makes this hotel so special is how it is just steps away from the hustle of the main street but it is able to make you feel like you have been transported a million miles away. I was able to take full advantage of the beautiful pool and beach while my boyfriend stepped outside the door to go surfing. Canciones del Mar is the perfect place to get away from it all and feel like you are truly in paradise!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Canciones del Mar. It is right next to the beach, and also has a large pool with many lounge chairs if the surf isn't your thing. The rooms were clean, and nicely decorated. We had no issues with housekeeping, and service throughout the hotel was wonderful. The restaurant was FANTASTIC, the complimentary breakfast was always excellent. Make sure to check out the bar and jacuzzi on the roof!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMK215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel has the best of all to offer. Beach front and right downtown in the middle of all of the action. Rooms were very charming and clean. Service was impeccable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 44 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#25 of 44 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#20 of 44 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tuanis
Hotel Tuanis
#2 of 29 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daystar Bahia Azul
Daystar Bahia Azul
#12 of 68 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Costa Rica Surf Camp by SUPERbrand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel

Property: Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Bri Bri | Playa Jaco, Jaco 86 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small 15-room hotel is a classic! The sea, the surf, the beach, the palm grove, the hotel-it is just as you might imagine a small unique tropical beachfront resort should be. The “Songs of the sea” is a quiet and cool oasis amidst the busy Jaco town scene, with each room’s small deck looking out over the ocean or on the lush gardens surrounding the pool. The hotel is built in Tropical Spanish Colonial style and the fully equipped rooms are spacious and quiet. It is the one place in Playa Jaco that combines the convenience of central location with beachfront location. Wake up to a delicious fresh fruit and buffet breakfast under the thatched roof of the beach side restaurant, then wander down to the beach for some sun and surf. If it gets too hot, retreat and cool off by the pool and Jacuzzi or catch up on your reading in the breezy elevated thatched roof tree house while you enjoy the view below. We have a small gourmet restaurant for lunch and dinner, and our Costa Rican chef serves international gourmet and or local food. Also enjoy our Tapas Bar terrace and Jacuzzi on the third floor with a spectacular view over the ocean and green mountains where you can enjoy the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Ocean. We also do weddings and special events. We are committed with national sustainability programs and protecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canciones Del Mar Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing