We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someone needs to get fired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #30 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Someone needs to get fired”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Booked my Christmas vacation with loved ones several weeks prior to our arrival. We applied online and received a confirmation email. When we arrived at the hotel the felt clerk told us that would "confirmation" email was incorrect. We pulled up the email and showed the front clerks our confirmation email and he told us that we were wrong. Service was very poor and our vacation was stymied. We spent all day looking for new accommodations. What's worse however is that the clerk had a very horrible attitude. Not going to recommend this one to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulkicksbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    39
    13
    12
    11
See reviews for
18
34
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This little hotel is awesome. The location is perfect, the staff were wonderful, and I loved my suite!! This quaint hotel was so comfortable; the grounds were lovely and the food was some of the best I have ever had! The pineapple margaritas were heavenly!!! The TVs had more English channels than other hotels, but that didn't really matter because between the location and the lovely grounds and pool and staff, sitting in my suite watching television wasn't high on my list of things to do. This rooftop was also amazing; what a wonderful place to watch the sunset over the ocean, and you also have an amazing view in other directions. I plan to go back again soon during high season and look forward to seeing the upgrades they were in the process of making when I was there! I loved this hotel and am so glad that I chose to stay there!! I would like it to stay a bit of a secret....so debated posting this! :) I do agree about the beds, it's the only complaint I could come up with, but I still slept well because it was so quiet...other than the ocean!!

Room Tip: always go ocean view. that's my opinion anyway, the rest of the rooms also would have had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asylumboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I found this great little hotel on the internet a few years ago and have since returned many times and partially because of the previous owner, Peter, he always made us feel at home and very special - I have sent many others there as well- The employees were wonderful, helpful and kind - right on the beach and yes, the upgrading is happening with the new ownership and management - the food is wonderful in the new restaurant - not fancy but totally practical and a lot of bang for your buck - sweet, sweet swimming pool - replace the beds with really good ones and I'd say it would be almost perfect.

Randy Tredway
In The Music Room Studio & Listening Room
Waxahachie, Texas, USA

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancionesdelMar, General Manager at Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
The Canciones del Mar staff is happy to hear that we were able to make your stay special. We would also like to thank you for your support, and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waurika, OK
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Very nice place, very clean the staff was great. Great location on the beach. Very close to town, market, shops and a very short distance to several restaurants. Food was very good. Renovations were being done at time. Rooms has great air conditioning.

Room Tip: Room #15, is on the third floor, has two rooms with two double beds in each and a bath in each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffinWaurika_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancionesdelMar, General Manager at Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
The Canciones del Mar staff is happy to hear that we were able to make your stay special. We would also like to thank you for your support, and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Have stayed here several times - great beachfront location. But - in need some major attention. Quite rundown overall. The beds definately need to be replaced . Too bad it's in this shape for such a good location, and great staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2dragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancionesdelMar, General Manager at Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that your stay may have caused you and your guests. We have recently gone under new ownership and we are diligently improving the hotel as quickly as possible. We are in the process of renovating the jacuzzi and the swimming pool first and then moving to the guest rooms. I would like to extend an invitation to you the next time you are in the area to stay at the hotel again or just stop by and see the improvements. We value you as a customer and respect your thoughts as it is a crucial impact on our changes here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I took a vacation with my wife and two children to Costa Rica for 10 days from July 16 to July 26, 2011. The first six nights was heavenly and we had a great time till we drove to Jaco Beach and Canciones Del Mar Hotel for the last three nights. We were so shock that we sat in our car for at least 15 minutes and could not believe our eyes. The neighborhood was very run down and dirty. People were camping in front of the hotel in between a few palm trees. The hotel appeared very old and not being taken care of for a long time. The cook was outside watering a small planter and the service man with a dirty handkerchief on his shoulder both kept starring at us like they were more in shock to see us there. Kids started crying and I decided to go in and check the room. The room smelled, the furniture were very old, the bed very uncomfortable with old pillows and sheet with holes. Window unit air-conditioner did not work, the safe did not have a door and shower you did not want to touch any thing. Balcony door had no lock and not very safe. The swimming pool appeared dirty and could see algae with murky water. We left to see if we can find another hotel, but due to the holiday weekend in Costa Rica, we did not have any luck. We spent most of our time away from the hotel and Jaco and only went there late at night to sleep. We finally checked out one day early and left to San Jose.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hassan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancionesdelMar, General Manager at Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that your stay may have caused you and your guests. We have recently gone under new ownership and we are diligently improving the hotel as quickly as possible. We are in the process of renovating the jacuzzi and the swimming pool first and then moving to the guest rooms. I would like to extend an invitation to you the next time you are in the area to stay at the hotel again or just stop by and see the improvements. We value you as a customer and respect your thoughts as it is a crucial impact on our changes here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We were excited about the property being right on the beach but became more and more disappointed as we walked into our room #12. The floors were coated in a sticky film. The lights were dim, sheets were covered in stains and hairs, pillows were lumpy, and towels were rough. The water in the shower smells rank and the faucet never completely turns off. They seem quite proud of their new rooftop jacuzzi, though it remains a luke-warm temperature and cannot be adjusted. This was our third hotel in Costa Rica and our first disappointment. Beachfront location is not worth it compared to the rest of the problems. We strongly suggest you go somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayneand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canciones, Owner at Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Guests,

We are very sorry for your unconveniences. Our hotel is proud of its policies of cleanliness and I will research what happened.
Our jacuzzy is not heated but is more of a refreshing experience.
Again our sincere apoligies and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Very truly yours,
Peter van Hussen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 42 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 42 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#17 of 42 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tuanis
Hotel Tuanis
#2 of 30 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daystar Bahia Azul
Daystar Bahia Azul
#10 of 69 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Costa Rica Surf Camp by SUPERbrand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel

Property: Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Bri Bri | Playa Jaco, Jaco 86 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small 15-room hotel is a classic! The sea, the surf, the beach, the palm grove, the hotel-it is just as you might imagine a small unique tropical beachfront resort should be. The “Songs of the sea” is a quiet and cool oasis amidst the busy Jaco town scene, with each room’s small deck looking out over the ocean or on the lush gardens surrounding the pool. The hotel is built in Tropical Spanish Colonial style and the fully equipped rooms are spacious and quiet. It is the one place in Playa Jaco that combines the convenience of central location with beachfront location. Wake up to a delicious fresh fruit and buffet breakfast under the thatched roof of the beach side restaurant, then wander down to the beach for some sun and surf. If it gets too hot, retreat and cool off by the pool and Jacuzzi or catch up on your reading in the breezy elevated thatched roof tree house while you enjoy the view below. We have a small gourmet restaurant for lunch and dinner, and our Costa Rican chef serves international gourmet and or local food. Also enjoy our Tapas Bar terrace and Jacuzzi on the third floor with a spectacular view over the ocean and green mountains where you can enjoy the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Ocean. We also do weddings and special events. We are committed with national sustainability programs and protecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canciones del Mar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canciones Del Mar Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing