We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent 2 Star Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pochote Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pochote Grande
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent 2 Star Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Although this hotel is only rated a 2 star, it is an excellent choice for the following reasons:
1 - It is super clean
2 - The food is outstanding and very reasonably priced - how about bacon wrapped filet mignon for $18.00 USD?
3 - The location - right on the quiet low key end of Jaco Beach
4 - The staff are really attentive, friendly and willing to please
The facilities are nice - nice pool area with lovely foliage and it is a small complex, only 24 rooms so it's not crowded and noisy - no lineups at the bar!
The rooms are very basic - but the a/c works great which is most important!
Bring your own shampoo and beach towels, and enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovetravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Don't be fooled by the professional photos of the pool area. While the pool area is nice, it's the highlight of the place. Way over priced for uncomfortable beds, crappy showers, loud air conditioner and poor breakfasts. The operator, Manfred, is curt and unfriendly. To get to the hotel you have to drive up the back alley. On top of that, construction workers of a thirty story building right next door are hammering 16 of 24 hours a day. Nor is this place within walking distance of the tourist./main strip of Jaco as advertised, more like a half hour. Not impressed and believe us, we are easy going people, and don't stay in resorts, but really... this place is worth $75 dollars a night maximum not the $135.00/night we paid. Will return to Costa Rica, but won't return to this hotel or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The rooms are good size, but the amenities (or should I say amenity) consists of two small bars of soap. The curtains appear to be tie dyed sheets. The shower was beyond awful--clean, but just a sort of stream dripping at you. There was a small fridge, which was a plus. The place is very basic, but it has a nice pool with some shade at some hours of the day, and the beach is right there, which is a plus. If you were expecting a white sand beach, you'd be disappointed because it's brown and sticks to you and is very pebbly, but that's not the hotel's fault. The proprietor runs hot and cold. When we checked in he was not particularly nice or helpful, but the next day he was much more pleasant. We took a River Crocodile Cruise which was close to the hotel and was excellent. We had a nice lunch there and the breakfasts were good. Town is a short walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very nice small hotel. Clean, safe, goood food! perfect for families to relax. The pool is Ok but there is no pool for kids. The room was just a few steps from the pool and very close to the beach. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aluxcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stay with some other friends. Breakfast is great, very clean areas. Manfred is very friendly guy and always looking to make you feel great. The bar is not a regular fancy place, but is OK. Beach is just a few steps form the room. NIce and clean pool area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco-Nunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012. Right on the beach, a/c, fridge, pool and right on the beach. I could hear the ocean from my room if all was quiet.
The staff was friendly and provided me with information about safety in the area and good places to eat. The house keeping was great and very through. Everything was kept clean and the grounds well maintained. I felt safe as a single female traveler.
The kitchen was affordable and they would make me anything I asked for. It was the low season so there weren't many guests around. I was able to check in early and check out late at no extra cost. I would go here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mstazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Glad to see the Hotel is still kept up the great service of Manfred(Max) and his employees.

The travelers photos are exactly how we found it way back then.

The food was delicious and Max really made sure that everyone was happy, well done.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jockeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar and Hotel Oz
Bar and Hotel Oz
#32 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#29 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#40 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#13 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#26 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pochote Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pochote Grande

Property: Hotel Pochote Grande
Address: Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pochote Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pochote Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pochote Grande Hotel
Hotel Pochote Grande Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing