We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here October 2004”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pochote Grande
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Nerja, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Stayed here October 2004”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Glad to see the Hotel is still kept up the great service of Manfred(Max) and his employees.

The travelers photos are exactly how we found it way back then.

The food was delicious and Max really made sure that everyone was happy, well done.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jockeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Friendly owner, helped us with breakfast and getting us glutenfree food which was really very friendly. Nice pool. Basic rooms, clean, right next to the beach. A bit too far to walk to the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Great little hotel right on the beach with a lush tropical courtyard and pool. Excellent security too. The rooms are simple and clean.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjc85250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Thankfully we only booked for 1 night. No service at all, Securityguard with a gun was needed to watch our car. Filthy very fat German owner didn’t care about anything except his beer. We felt very unsafe here. Didn’t even try the included breakfast or pool.

Would not advise to go here.

It could be because we were here in low-season August, but we were glad we could leave after 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichielMazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

If you remember old fashioned customer service and yearn for genuine guest care, this is the place for you. I am not talking about the rehearsed training the majority of the staff gets at big name places; I am talking about truly caring for you but not being overwhelmed type place. Excellent food, I mean yummy good and good prices. Although we didn't get a chance to try it, other guests raved about the Bar-B-Q. At arrival, we were greeted and offered dinner. Manfred (the manager) recommended the fish -FRESH- we jumped at the opportunity and were presented with what I can described as the best fillet of fish I have ever tasted. Perfect seasoning, beautiful golden crust on the outside and buttery-melt on your mouth inside. Just superb. The French fries were identically good, golden brown and delicious. You can tell they change the fryer oil often. The veggies were wonderful, too. Jaco has many options for food, and we try some of them, but none of them compared to the great quality of the Pochote Grande kitchen.
The Hotel is quite charming. Rooms are basic but comfy; A/C works great, it has a couple of beds, small closet, small fridge, and 1 bathroom/shower. You didn't come to the beach to stay in the room, right? But don't get me wrong, they are clean and nice. They all have a patio or balcony, ask for the 2nd floor, they have a bit more privacy and they are a good place to hang out with your fav mag or book or some friends and a couple of cold ones. The staff keeps the rooms super clean. The grounds are awesome, very lush with vegetation and trees. Talking about the trees, the Pochote (700 yr old tree) is something to admire. Hotel is right on the beach on the quiet side of the town, we can hear the parties going on in the distance at night, but not loud enough to disturb the peacefulness of the place. Many families here, and some couples. The pool is large enough to allow some playing time, but small enough to be cozy and make new friends.
My son left his Teddy Bear behind. We just called Manfred; he found it and immediately sent it in a package via bus the next day. We picked it up at the bus stop in San Jose. We wanted to pay him for the cost and trouble but he just said that next time we come we can take care of it. When is the last time that happened to you? He bent over backwards to accommodate us and his easy going style made us feel at home and relaxed. Manfred, you betcha we will be coming here again and again, and we will be spreading the word around to everyone we know. My dad also loved the place and he belongs to AGECO, I am pretty sure he will be coming back and spreading the word as well.
We came with friends and we all think this is the perfect place for the family, or couples looking for some "me" time. Or maybe a group of old friends. In any case, if you're looking for something good, nice, and not expensive, this is the place for you.
So, if you were like me, reading all the reviews and making sense of it all, take it to heart, you will not be disappointed if you choose Pochote Grande. And if you surf like us, walk to gate and you're in the beach, a few more yards and you're in front of a peak that breaks both ways. What else can you ask for? Loved this place. Old charming customer service, clean and top notch food. You guys rock! Keep it up!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have more privacy and you can't beat the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alejandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Super clean rooms. North end of beach away from busy area. Beautiful plants, trees and flowers on grounds. Restaurant has good food and a great bartender. Not a large resort hotel and a nice mixture of people from all over stay there. Each room has a patio or a balcony/deck area. We could see the ocean from ours through the palms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QCChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinian, Mariana Islands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We loved not being in the middle of Jaco and still had an ocean view from our room. The AC works well, the shower is relaxing and stays at a constant temperature, and the room was spotless. Very nice little place. Yay for German efficiency!! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mystiquemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.9 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 41 in Jaco
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#29 of 41 in Jaco
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
445 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.8 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#20 of 41 in Jaco
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pochote Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pochote Grande

Property: Hotel Pochote Grande
Address: Pochote Street, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pochote Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family-owned hotel with 24 rooms, seeking to attend each guest individually. We are proud to have a lot of happy, frequently returning guests. We have a privileged location with direct access to the beach. We represent an excellent alternative for those who are looking for relaxation and tranquillity away from big tourist centres. We are located at the quiet northern end of Jaco beach. Nevertheless alternative entertainment is only few minutes away: CROC`S Casino Resort is located across the street, and the centre of Jaco is only a 15 minute stroll away, offering all kinds of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pochote Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pochote Grande Hotel
Hotel Pochote Grande Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing