We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice, Quiet spot on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pochote Grande

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pochote Grande
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet spot on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Super clean rooms. North end of beach away from busy area. Beautiful plants, trees and flowers on grounds. Restaurant has good food and a great bartender. Not a large resort hotel and a nice mixture of people from all over stay there. Each room has a patio or a balcony/deck area. We could see the ocean from ours through the palms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QCChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tinian, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We loved not being in the middle of Jaco and still had an ocean view from our room. The AC works well, the shower is relaxing and stays at a constant temperature, and the room was spotless. Very nice little place. Yay for German efficiency!! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mystiquemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Average size rooms w table and fridge, luggage closet, pleasant balcony.
Hearty breakfasts in open air, clean pool, casual. Good security. Hotel is well maintained.
Beautiful location on a quiet section of beach, on north end of town. There is a feeling of seclusion here even though it's close to town. While sunsets are not viewable from the hotel, beautiful views by the water or just around the adjacent point of land. Walking distance into town (about 1/2 mile) by beach or by street, but more convenient by taxi or car, for nightlife & shops.
German is definitely spoken here! English and Spanish are also fine.
By the way, Pochote is the enormous tree in the middle of the property.
Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank like-mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Close to beach, rooms are nice but the owner is German and acted like he did not like Americans. he needs to be more friendly..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delphi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevost
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed two nights and we will stay more nights next time. They are located very close to the beach and they have the best location in Jaco for the beach sand quality and cleanliness.
The room was clean, we had two double beds, air conditioning, hot shower and the breakfast (not included) very good. A large pool was front of our room with an impressive garden and a 700 years old tree (pochote is the name of the tree).
If you come by car, there is a safety guard always on duty around the property.
We recommend this place for several days.

Daniel & Celine

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaves, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

nice clean rooms, located on the beach, delicious food and beautiful flowers! just a bit far from the center (to walk with heavy rain;)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank X_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Great vacation spent at the Pochote Grande; many thanks tot the super staff (Dank schön, Mannfred!, super clean rooms and very quiet setting.
Jean Pierre

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacoNormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar and Hotel Oz
Bar and Hotel Oz
#31 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#29 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#39 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#13 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#26 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pochote Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pochote Grande

Property: Hotel Pochote Grande
Address: Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pochote Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pochote Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pochote Grande Hotel
Hotel Pochote Grande Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing