We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German Owner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pochote Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pochote Grande
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
San Ramon, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“German Owner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Close to beach, rooms are nice but the owner is German and acted like he did not like Americans. he needs to be more friendly..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delphi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
15
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prevost
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed two nights and we will stay more nights next time. They are located very close to the beach and they have the best location in Jaco for the beach sand quality and cleanliness.
The room was clean, we had two double beds, air conditioning, hot shower and the breakfast (not included) very good. A large pool was front of our room with an impressive garden and a 700 years old tree (pochote is the name of the tree).
If you come by car, there is a safety guard always on duty around the property.
We recommend this place for several days.

Daniel & Celine

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaves, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

nice clean rooms, located on the beach, delicious food and beautiful flowers! just a bit far from the center (to walk with heavy rain;)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank X_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Great vacation spent at the Pochote Grande; many thanks tot the super staff (Dank schön, Mannfred!, super clean rooms and very quiet setting.
Jean Pierre

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacoNormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

A good ending by the beach to a fantastic 10 days in Costa Rica. My wife booked online, and I was a bit concerned! - was very happy with it in the end. There were a couple of bad reviews on trip advisor, and I thought I would correct them!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richie165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Pochote Grande in 2005. We have decided to go back to Costa Rica in October. We are so excited about going back. Manfred was so great and the staff was also great. In the morning after breakfast, the cook would throw all the leftovers out to the iguanas. It was so neat ot see the iguanas come down out of the tree for potatoes and fruit.

  • Liked — Manfred and the staff
  • Disliked — nothin'
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank catcat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

Awful - from the moment we parked the car in the lot across from the construction site where they are building a hotel next door. *Warning - As of January 09, it's still several months or more from being finished.
Check-in to our desperately-in-need-of-renovation room was with a man who seemed to know nothing except that we should talk to someone else. We subsequently met his wife who was a lot nicer and a lot more knowledgeable.
Towels were sandpaper and the bathroom felt more as if it belonged in a hostel rather than a hotel. Also strange that they nickel and dime you for everything - $3 extra to use the safe deposit box in the room, $5 for the TV, etc.
Noise from the construction across the street started early in the morning - no mention made before we arrived and no allowance afterward. If we had booked for more than a few days, we would have left after the first night.
Only thing good about the hotel is that it's on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank caballeroviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar and Hotel Oz
Bar and Hotel Oz
#34 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.7 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#22 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#16 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#26 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pochote Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pochote Grande

Property: Hotel Pochote Grande
Address: Pochote Street, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pochote Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family-owned hotel with 24 rooms, seeking to attend each guest individually. We are proud to have a lot of happy, frequently returning guests. We have a privileged location with direct access to the beach. We represent an excellent alternative for those who are looking for relaxation and tranquillity away from big tourist centres. We are located at the quiet northern end of Jaco beach. Nevertheless alternative entertainment is only few minutes away: CROC`S Casino Resort is located across the street, and the centre of Jaco is only a 15 minute stroll away, offering all kinds of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pochote Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pochote Grande Hotel
Hotel Pochote Grande Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing