We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel that is safe and Gringo friendly”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paraiso del Sol
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Paraiso del Sol has been our home in Jaco for the past seven trips to Costa Rica. Matt and his staff are very helpful and friendly. The security is 24 hours and we've never known anyone to have anything stolen from their room or the cars that are parked out front.

The rooms (beds, bedding, etc.) are getting a bit worn down, but you still can't beat the value.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the back corner rooms away from the pool to avoid any noise from the pool or the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tikijoe32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Paraiso del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 18 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have been going to Matt's place for 20 years and it gets a little better every time I go. Mathew takes pride in his business and it shows. The staff is great and the hotel has a lot to offer for vacationers on a budget. I will continue to vacation here for the next 20 years. The motel is close to everything weather you want to surf,bird watch,explore waterfalls,canopy tours or just relax at the beach/pool. Everyone I have taken over the last 20 years have loved his place and have returned to Pariso del sol. What a great place to vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a kitchenette so you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Great place to take your family and friends. Matt and his wife were so welcoming and helpful. We where there from Nov - Dec and it was such a great place we are taking our daughter and her boyfriend with us in Feb. We are a surfing family so it is a place we will be spending lots of time at.
The rooms are clean and loaded with all you need. I love the huge shower. Memo was great and all of the staff were great. Matt's dog Spike (pint sized guard dog) is so welcoming too. He never barks.
I would recommend this place to anybody coming to visit Jaco for a week or a month.You are walking distance tto town and the beach.
Big thanks and lots of hugs to Matt and his wife for running such a safe comfortable, and relaxing establishment to make our surf trip wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surftrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2008

We've stayed at Hotel Paraiso del Sol four times for a total of two months. Each stay was excellent thanks to Matt and his staff.

Hey Matt, its Rick and Cherri from VB. We miss you.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rfeineis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

This hotel is by far the best hotel in Jaco, especially when it comes how great of a guy the owner is! Matt, is one of the nicest guys you can meet, and is always there to help out w/ anything you need! Ive stayed at Paraiso del sol over 10 times, starting since 1997 and its always been such a highlight of our trip and we always considered it our "home base"! Usually where we start and end our trip! Matt can make a 1 to 2 month surf trip as convienent as it can get! He has done so much for us, even going as far as allowing us to leave some things w/ the hotel as we traveled north or south to hit a few surf spots for afew days! The rooms are spotless and so is the pool! The entire crew at del sol are so nice and always have a smile on their face! I havent been there in about 3 years now, but am looking foward to see matt at the paraiso del sol soon! Matt thank you so much for everything you always done for us, i hope everything is beuno!! the long island boys will be back soon, johnny and josh, chip and scott, and tyson all say whatsups and will we deff be seeing you all lsoon!! Thanks for always making our trip that much better!! cant wait to see you again!! and the air cond is amazing in this place, as cold as you can handle it!! thanks again for everything!
Respect, Johnny

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nesta17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago illinois
13
Reviewed May 1, 2006

My friends stayed here last year and I came by often. They serve no food at this hotel. It Always looked very nice to my experience and the owner drove me to the airport since he was going that way anyway. Nice people. My friends stay there every year. There must be another place with a similar name.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2006

The "bad experience must have been at another hotel, paraiso del sol has no food, and if the beach was bad, that has nothing to do with the hotel. I have stayed there MANY times and it is alway clean, friendly, safe, and affordable.. In fact I will be there next week again. Honor system bar show you how good the people are. Does cater to surfer. Bajery next door, yum yum, and a grocery acroos the street. Kitchettes help save money. Had to write in to discreit the "bad experience" reply.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Havanabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#9 of 41 in Jaco
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#30 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#13 of 41 in Jaco
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso del Sol

Address: | 150 mts de la Pops, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAmily hotel ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paraiso Del Sol Hotel
Hotel Paraiso Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing