We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocal & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cocal & Casino
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Very decent place. Clean enough, excellent, friendly staff. Pools, beach, tiki bar at the pool, casino. Friendly locals hanging out at the pool bar at night. Not the finest in the world but in Jaco you just need a clean place to sleep and bath. Who needs to watch tv? Excellent food in the restaurant and they'll cook fish that you catch when you fish with Down East Guide Service.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobbyB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    30
    14
    21
See reviews for
10
14
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fla
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Stayed 08/08 - $75/night

PROs:
1. Simple but nice decor on the pool grounds
2. Tiki bar is a fun venue to meet other hotel guests
3. surfing is very good on the beach break with offers right/lefts - just be in the water "before 11am before the winds get on it"
4. Clean but simple rooms (ie. on a par with cheap motel - see below).. AC works well
5. No more than 60 feet before walking on the beach!
6. massage beachside is possible ($60 x 60min)
7. Manta rays frolic in the surf - and swim along side you
8. 2 toucans which will gladly eat marachino cherries from your hand

CONs:
1. No TV !!! Hay caramba... No Phone either
2. bed is rather hard
3. View of beach is nice, but beware of stones/rocks - & avoid the middle part of the beach (ie. water run off from hills empties there).. yuck
4. Jaco as a town is there to be surfed.. but otherwise doesn;t offer a whole lot.

Overall, a 3-STAR hotel (without a TV) with good surfing nearby !!

  • Liked — Surfing with the manta rays... feeding the toucans
  • Disliked — the
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Son-of-Poochmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Overall clean and comfortable, Not a luxurious place but comfortable, the bed was good, the bathroom clean and nice. staff was very helpful, great location in relation to the town was absolutely perfect,in front of the beach..but the beach was very very bad and dirty!! i was looking for place just to stay!! and was OK for me but not cheap as well. there is no fridge in the room and the city was very very hot. i think it is 2 or 3 stars hotel. the breakfast was very bad !!. the pool is nice and small but clean. the hotel and the location are very safe as well.
because the city not safe..and you are free to do what you like in the hotel, i mean at night!!

i think it is nice place and the location is good. all the people there from USA..was a good choice for me!!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — clean
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oscaruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We stayed at the hotel cocal y casino for two weeks. The room, dining, pool, beach and great location in relation to the town was absolutely perfect. I think I most looked forward to our complimentary breakfast every morning with the best coffee in the world. We rented a car from a nearby travel agency, but we barely ended up using it because we loved surfing and sun bathing. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jackash042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

Sorry for my English.
We did complicated trip in Costa Rica with kids and teenagers in January 2006. Stayed in Cocal 3-4 days.
Very big room with 4 queen-size beds, small pool, excellent bar, grate beach, breathtaking view. When I red other review I remembered it was construction, no phone, small place e.t.c. But place was so enjoyable that we didn't pay attention to inconvenient and didn't want to leave.
Just watched our pictures 2 years ago... All family agreed: we didn't stay enough days in this hotel. I would recommend it to my friend.

  • Liked — Beach, bar, outdoor adventure
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Svet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

the hotel was great!! the staff was very helpful. yes it is true that the rooms do not have tvs or phones. but the way i see it, if im going to costa rica why the hell would i want to waist my time in my room. there is so much to do in jaco, dont be afraid to go out and see it all.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank purelife08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

Small Hotel and Casino. Staff very courteous and cheerful. Right on the beach. Overall clean and comfortable. Not for every traveler. Hotel is dated, but gives a great local flavor. Not a luxurious place, but comfortable. FOOD is great! We even had them to prepare meals with the Mahi Mahi and Tuna we caught while fishing out of los Suenos Marina. I would rather stay here than in a fancy hotel. No TV or hone in room, laundry service available. The construction next door is almost complete and then they will raze part of the quaint hotel and start on Phase 2. Tourism has arrived to Jaco and the area is growing. Too bad.

  • Liked — Old Local Flavor and Food
  • Disliked — Dated AC equipment
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ReelTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#27 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cocal & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocal & Casino

Property: Hotel Cocal & Casino
Address: Calle El Cocal, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Cocal and Casino, we know the importance of understanding the needs of our guests and we make every effort to insure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cocal & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cocal And Casino
Hotel Cocal Jaco
Hotel El Cocal
El Cocal Hotel
Hotel Cocal & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing