We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything good but service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cocal & Casino
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
chas. sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything good but service”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here four nights. When I checked in no bath soap or shampoo. Asked for it at front desk and never got it. Breakfast free but coffe a coffee refill took forever. Had an incident with the ladies at bar, stolen money and phone, told front desk-no effort to contact security. Told about losing safe key costing $75 but nothing about bath towels being accounted for. When I checked out it cost me $20 for missing towel that I used to swat a roach outside my door and left on chair outside room. Bar service very slow and food was substandard. Greek salad was iceberg lettuce with three cucumber slices and salsa? No feta, olives or peppers. Great for single guys and the evenings have a very favorable ratio of ladies to men. Room was very nice!

Room Tip: ask for one near the beach but away from front desk bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliesouthcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    31
    14
    24
See reviews for
11
15
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carrollton, tx
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great place to stay and have a good time. Ocean is right outside and make for pleasant sound for sleeping. Just make sure you have sunscreen. Also very nice pool bar and restaurant. The pool bar appeared to open about 9 or 10 in the morning and closed about 1 on weekend nights.

Room was clean, spacious with the staff being very attentive. Hotel convenient to shopping and eating in Central Jaco. It was a short ride up to Los Suenos for what that offers.

The only negative was the casino manager. They could do much better if they got rid of him. His attitude is not conducive to gamblers.

Room Tip: At this time beach in front of hotel has tricky undertow. Sea bass along with the ceviche was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cocal has all of the things you want in a quick getaway to Jaco. Good Bar, Food, Nice little Casino with poker. 2 pools next to busy bar on on beach. The condos accross the parking lot are also very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A beach front hotel with fairly modern/clean rooms,efficient staff and security, and good value relative to similarly located properties. The restaurant serves simple meals prepared just right. For instance, I paid $150 for a less than average seafood meal for two just south of the hotel, and the next night had a delicious and much more satisfying seafood meal at the Cocal for $32 for two.

There is an offsite tour guide named Ketty that is well known at the property and stops by regularly. There is also an onsite tour coordinator, but they seem to represent a select group of vendors, whereas Ketty has the flexibility to select a vendor, or customize a tour that best suits your desires.

Yes, there are working girls at poolside and in the casino, but not aggressive. For the most part just decent people that haven't yet found an alternative way to make a living, and some have interesting stories to tell given the opportunity. Beyond that, what happens between consenting adults is not my business.

I have a fairly well established itinerary when visiting Costa Rica that always includes one or two nights in Jaco, and Cocal will be my go-to spot for the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms overlooking the parking lot for privacy, value and a quiet sleep. If you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I visited the Casino / Bar while i was in town. What an experience. Hard to put into words but definitely a place i will never forget. Look up stories about this place on the internet, all of them are true. You want an experience to tell your future grand kids about one day, do not miss a night here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackMac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I very much enjoyed visiting this casino hotel while there last week.

The tables were generous with me and I came away a winner. Drinks were priced fairly. There were many attractive local ladies, as well as some from San Jose, in the bar area next to the casino that more than just a little friendly. I found it to be a fun place with many locals from San Jose and foreign visitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was my first time in Costa Rica. What an awesome time for a single guy looking to let loose. The room was nice, I had the parking lot side room 43. The room was clean,with small fridge and Cable TV,Air condition. Only problem I had was shower head fell off and maintenance had it fixed in five minutes.

The staff was very friendly at the Restaurant, Front Desk,Security,Bartenders and Casino. They worked hard and it showed.

Had a chance to go on some nice adventures first in Jaco. Me and my cousin went four wheeling in the mountains. Then I went zip lining. So,the hotel location was perfect. Close to downtown as well. Many Americans were there and it was easy to get around knowing little
Spanish. Also, went down to Manuel Antonio National Park. Saw Monkies and Slothes. Real cool trip.

Most people stay at the hotel because of the working girls. They come in by the dozens and they are playboy material. So may not be a good place to bring your family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodfan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.5 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#29 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 41 in Jaco
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#30 of 41 in Jaco
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cocal & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocal & Casino

Property: Hotel Cocal & Casino
Address: Calle El Cocal, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Cocal and Casino, we know the importance of understanding the needs of our guests and we make every effort to insure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cocal & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cocal Jaco
Hotel Cocal And Casino
Hotel El Cocal
El Cocal Hotel
Hotel Cocal & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing