We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay at”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cocal & Casino
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great place to stay at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

A great place to stay at, right on the beach, great security. In the middle of the town close to everything. It has its own tour desk. Breakfast that is included is not very good its very basic.The restaurant has great food during the day/evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    43
    31
    14
    23
See reviews for
11
15
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great hotel with excellent value, good location, terrific food! Staff very pleasant with desire to accommodate your needs. Love the views! Good drinks and pool features! Hotel manager is best in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Rolled into Jaco with no reservation and the intention of finding a quality room in a central location. By day this place looked great.. on the beach.. nice bar and restaurant... guarded parking.. walk to everything.

Should have double checked with TA. Evening was 100% of what the title describes. Families and others were placed in the parking lot rooms which were really not that bad... just be aware of what the place is about .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TravelinMan314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

http://www.costaricantimes.com/us-tax-evasion-and-raids-at-hotel-cocal-and-casino-in-jaco-costa-rica/3318
rooms suck and are very noisy, extremely hot and muggy.
Beatle Bar much nicer and has AC and nightly entertainment
Now looks like owners are getting payback.
See link....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank wiseguy770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

stayed at this very hotel 11 years ago with my wife. back then jaco was a sleepy little town with not much going on. the same could be said of the hotel. very quite and simple. the hotel looked like it needed a major remodeling back in 2002. they have done the major remodel. the hotel looks great. the rooms are very comfortable. the reason i say this hotel is not good for families is because of the night life that is in the hotel that does not stop till 1am. there are many working women in the main courtyard area/pool area at night. they are even there during the afternoon or earlier. if you are single are you are a very open couple this is the hotel for you. the rooms facing the beach are great. they have a reasonable price. the girls that work the bar in the pool area are also very friendly considering they drunks they have to put up with. in general the whole hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. on a bad note do not leave any valuables laying around or behind they will go missing. one guest left his iphone at the breakfast table and did not realize it was gone till a few hours later, he told management and of course it was gone. it did miraculously reappear after he offered a 200 usd reward no question asked. can you say wow amazing.( read between the lines here) this is normal to me in a third world country. just watch your stuff. the hotel is really not responsible for it. great hotel for singles

Room Tip: get the rooms facing the ocean. a little bit more but worth the view in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Troy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The working girls have moved from the Beatle bar to the hotel cocal. I paid $50 most of the time while others paid $100. What you pay depends on who is fishing for whom. Restaraunt staff is serious unattentive and am surprised with so many English speaking customers, the lack of English spoke by the staff. If you're expecting a good night sleep ever, forget it. It's better to stay anywhere else and spend the night partying and seeking companionship. My room had cockroaches (staff did give me a can of raid) and noise levels were my main complaints. American absentee owner from Chicago, a local manager who was in San Jose = a ship without a captain. Did I say construction work in the pool area at 6:00 am? I walked down to complain and they said they would not stop. Nice looking place but I'll never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richinalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have been to Costa Rica many times and this hotel offers the most fun if you are a single guy. They have a nice albeit small casino with a nice little sports bar. They have American sporting events on the flat screen TVs. The outdoor pool and bar usually gets going about 10 PM and is frequented by many ladies. Short, tall, brunette, blonde, you name it, they are all there! DO NOT GO THE THE BEETLE BAR! This is the place to go in Jaco!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kimbo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 44 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 44 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#13 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cocal & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocal & Casino

Property: Hotel Cocal & Casino
Address: Calle El Cocal, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Cocal and Casino, we know the importance of understanding the needs of our guests and we make every effort to insure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Cocal And Casino
Hotel Cocal Jaco
Hotel El Cocal
El Cocal Hotel
Hotel Cocal & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing