We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“not good for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cocal & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cocal & Casino
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“not good for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

stayed at this very hotel 11 years ago with my wife. back then jaco was a sleepy little town with not much going on. the same could be said of the hotel. very quite and simple. the hotel looked like it needed a major remodeling back in 2002. they have done the major remodel. the hotel looks great. the rooms are very comfortable. the reason i say this hotel is not good for families is because of the night life that is in the hotel that does not stop till 1am. there are many working women in the main courtyard area/pool area at night. they are even there during the afternoon or earlier. if you are single are you are a very open couple this is the hotel for you. the rooms facing the beach are great. they have a reasonable price. the girls that work the bar in the pool area are also very friendly considering they drunks they have to put up with. in general the whole hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. on a bad note do not leave any valuables laying around or behind they will go missing. one guest left his iphone at the breakfast table and did not realize it was gone till a few hours later, he told management and of course it was gone. it did miraculously reappear after he offered a 200 usd reward no question asked. can you say wow amazing.( read between the lines here) this is normal to me in a third world country. just watch your stuff. the hotel is really not responsible for it. great hotel for singles

Room Tip: get the rooms facing the ocean. a little bit more but worth the view in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Troy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    30
    14
    23
See reviews for
11
15
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The working girls have moved from the Beatle bar to the hotel cocal. I paid $50 most of the time while others paid $100. What you pay depends on who is fishing for whom. Restaraunt staff is serious unattentive and am surprised with so many English speaking customers, the lack of English spoke by the staff. If you're expecting a good night sleep ever, forget it. It's better to stay anywhere else and spend the night partying and seeking companionship. My room had cockroaches (staff did give me a can of raid) and noise levels were my main complaints. American absentee owner from Chicago, a local manager who was in San Jose = a ship without a captain. Did I say construction work in the pool area at 6:00 am? I walked down to complain and they said they would not stop. Nice looking place but I'll never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richinalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have been to Costa Rica many times and this hotel offers the most fun if you are a single guy. They have a nice albeit small casino with a nice little sports bar. They have American sporting events on the flat screen TVs. The outdoor pool and bar usually gets going about 10 PM and is frequented by many ladies. Short, tall, brunette, blonde, you name it, they are all there! DO NOT GO THE THE BEETLE BAR! This is the place to go in Jaco!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kimbo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Many of the previous reviews are really unfair. Yes there are beautiful young prostitutes at the two bars and yes some business takes place. But the rooms are all recently remodeled, clean and beautiful. The location is right on a gorgeous beach with some great surfing to do or to watch. The location is right in the middle of town with the ability to choose from literally a hundred restaurants within walking distance. The staff is all excellent including an exceptional desk clerk Uriel and the poker room boss Frank. There is music late but some of us like it. This is really a bargain compared to the other beach hotels that I have stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank budd113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I just got back from a 4 night vacation in Jaco..... 1st of all this hotel sits directly on the beach. Its very clean and the ocean side rooms where just remodeled. I was in room #9, It has a king size bed, flat screen tv, and housekeeping came everyday. Just leave a little tip and your room will get extra treatment......... the property is 1 block away from the club loft and 2 blocks away from the grocery store.......there is a fantatic restaurant 4 blocks away called Rustika. Its where alot of the locals eat, its buffet style and the food is very good, fresh, and cheap...... lunch and dinner buffet is $7.00 the restaurant is closed on sunday....... just a couple of side notes..... the ladies from the Beetle Bar have moved to this location just within the past two months.. The Beetle Bar increased there charges for cover, drinks, and entertainment, so everything moved to this location........also there is construction going on that starts at 7am everyday...... so no sleeping in if you get the ocean or pool side rooms..... the party starts around 6:30pm and ends a little after 12:30pm...... I hope this helps..... have a great time.

Room Tip: if you stay in the poolside rooms you will get no sleep until after 2AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bailey39Baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

My first stay here. Yes, a lot of hooker action, and loud music at night. So, be prepared, if this is not your thing. Construction was going on, not very peaceful. Should be done by now. Had a beachfront room (recommened), though very small, and behind the bar/loud music. Food at the restaurant was quite good. Also, had an on site outdoor masseuse.

Room Tip: They have JR. Suite (beachfront), that I originally booked. Was told there was construction going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2dragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I went with my husband. the rooms are modern and clean. But the heavy atmosphere. At afternoon begins to fill with hookers looking for customers. At night had 30 hookers stalking guys in pool area, it was terrible . Is a great place if guys is looking hookers...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#12 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cocal & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocal & Casino

Property: Hotel Cocal & Casino
Address: Calle El Cocal, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Cocal and Casino, we know the importance of understanding the needs of our guests and we make every effort to insure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cocal & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cocal Jaco
Hotel Cocal And Casino
Hotel El Cocal
El Cocal Hotel
Hotel Cocal & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing