We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Club del Mar
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
long island new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed March 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed here and it was great. We were in a 2 bedroom condo. The rooms are spacious, high ceilings, nice furniture, firm beds, a/c and ceiling fans, nice kitchen. The maids do a beautiful job with nice, personal touches. The front desk has someone there all hours and they are very nice and extremely helpful. The beach side has someone always present to prevent anyone but guests from coming on the property and the parking lot has a guard on duty all night. It's all the way at the south end of Jaco beach so it's more quiet than the zoo up the beach without all the vendors. The waves are not as large as further up the beach but are better shaped and hold together nicely. Late afternoon at high tide they were the biggest. I'd recommend a rental car because it's a bit of a hike to get to town to shop, eat, etc. In a car it's 3 minutes to the center of town. Some excellent restaurants in town and very convenient to Hermosa beach about 5 minute drive south. Jaco is a great starting point for day trips north and south along the coast. This is the place for a perfect stay at the beach in Costa RIca.

  • Liked — feeling as if we were home
  • Disliked — checking out
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    107
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
128
121
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

I'm so glad that I stayed at Club del Mar and picked it over all the other hotels that I looked at. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated with great views of the pool and beach. The hotel had good staff bilingual in English. The food was good and the bartenders were so friendly - I miss them already! The hotel is safe, further away from town, with security guards. There are activites around the hotel that you can book. I traveled here with only my friend and being two girls we felt safe here with no problems at all. I will definetely stay here again the next time I visit Costa Rica, hopefully that will be soon.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Traveler021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, ON Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2006

While each of the 4 hotels on our trip were very nice, distinct and different in their own right, Club del Mar proved to be a real gem. It's at the very end of Jaco Beach minutes from town. We arrived early and our hotel room, which was rather small with a limited view, wasn't yet ready, but we were offered an up-grade to a 'casita' (at additional cost of course), consisting of two bedrooms, two baths, full kitchen, washer/dryer, A/C, living room, room safe, etc. If you can, definitely try to book into one, particulary if you're more than two people. The extra space, comfort and convenience was well worth it (especially being able to do some laundry!). We saved alot of $'s by going into town to stock up on the basics for breakfast and lunch particularly. MasXMenos is a very nice modern supermarket where you can find just about everything. We even found cookies made right here in Ontario, and a better selection of diabetic foods than most supermarkets here at home! ! The restaurant was very nice for supper and there is a great variety of restaurants in town.

Club del Mar is fairly small and intimate. The staff were just great and very helpful. The housekeepers even do your dishes! The parking lot is very close to the highway and is not guarded, however, so be very careful about leaving anything in your car.

You'll see lots of Scarlet Macaws here! We particularly enjoyed being able to lie in bed in the early evening looking out over the illuminated pool and gardens to the ocean surf crashing over the rocks at the end of Jaco Beach and the frequent lightning shows farther out over the Pacific.

Which gets me to about the best part...the beach! You're at the end, so there's very little foot traffic and we didn't see any beach peddlars on it at all. It was rather busy on the Sunday when we arrived (presumably with locals) but throughout the rest of the week it was essentially deserted and you felt like you had it all to yourself. The beach is very flat and shallow for a long ways out, with lovely firm sand (no stones/pebbles, sea shells or sea urchins!!). The surf is amazing and initially intimidating, but the rollers break nicely with basically no under-tow at all to worry about. Good surfing and body-surfing! I've been on beaches all over the Caribbean, Brazil and the Med., and while Jaco isn't perhaps the most dramatic, it certainly ranks as one of the nicest beaches I've ever been on!

All in all, our time at Club del Mar was the highlight of our trip!!!! We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank atyourfingertips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

Hotel Club del Mar is by far the nicest place to stay in Jaco. Los Suenos and Villas Caletas are perhaps nicer in some ways but are out of town. Del Mar is at the far south end of the beach so away from the noise of town. You could walk into town along the beach if you like. Surfing is good directly in front of the hotel and the pool is nice.

We stayed in one of the ground-floor condos and it was nicely furnished, one bedroom with a full kitchen. THe kitchen was well supplied with all you need to cook. The restaurant is a little expensive but quite good. I tried the lobster one night at $24 and found it to be great. It was not tough. I had lobster in other places in CR for less $ but this was the best one.

Rooms near the road can get a little noisy with trucks using their Jake brakes but we did not find this to be a problem.

I would suggest the Del Mar for anyone wanting a classic beach vacation. Quiet but plenty to do nearby.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Groucho123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2006

Just got back from another trip to CR. Stayed at this very nice place at the south end of the beach in Jaco. $2 cab ride to the main drag of Jaco, this hotel is not in the busy section of town. Very clean, functional with kitchen and two decent bedrooms, kitchen, dining and living room. Met some families from CA. Their kids seemed to enjoy it. Food was good but a tad pricey, food overall in CR is very good and usually very reasonable. Got their lobster dinner one night for $24. 2 decent sized lobsters that had been cooked on the grill. The chef needs to learn to go easy on fresh lobster as it turned out to be one of the toughest sea creatures I have ever tried to extract from a shell. We had room 19 on the first floor. I think that I would go with a room on the second floor and one with a view of the ocean. Phil, the owner, was very nice and was around every afternoon talking to people. He is a busy man building a bunch of stuff in Jaco.
Hotel is right on the beach so it is an easy walk to the ocean. Water temp was 87 and the water stays shallow for a good ways out. Would be good for kids. Great waves for beginnner surfers. They have boards that you can rent with lessons. Next time.
Hotel rented us their van that they use for pick ups and deliveries to San Jose airport. Great way to get back and forth from the airport. We got the van for a 1/2 day for $120 and had a driver take us south to Quespas. Neat journey but watch out for the bridges. Have never seen anything like it. Do not drive south at night. Roads go from great to nothing in no time flat.
Did the zip line tour through Chicklets in Hermosa, just south of the hotel. That was a hoot gliding through the trees.
Wish I could go back.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank curtsellshomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2006

I stayed here with my wife and friends who had a young baby and I must say I have stayed ina lot of Jaco hotels and please just do not bother looking any further. I gurantee a great vacation here at Club del mar, the 2 bedroom Condo's were great, we book our vacation through Costa Rica Holiday and they we great!!! Only a short stoll on the beach to town, just a great place if you are in jaco!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2005

While the rest of Jaco is a little dingy, Club del Mar is a real treasure. Situated just outside of Jaco, it is right on the beach with excellent surfing right in front. Every morning we woke up to scarlet macaws flying overhead.

Rooms were great, service was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sbustobante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
6.7 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
547 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Property: Hotel Club del Mar
Address: | Jaco Beach, 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing