We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A quiet place in Jaco...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Club del Mar
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A quiet place in Jaco...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before. We stay here because it is off the beaten path for a busy place like Jaco. It is a 15 to 25 minute walk via the beach to the main part of town for restaurants and such. The restaurant on site is average but not great, in my opinion, and it can be expensive for the quality of food. The service in the restaurant and bar, however, is very good. The pool is great and you can see the ocean from your room or the pool. This is pretty good value for money in my opinion and the staff are usually really great, with a few exceptions. Unlike many hotels in CR, breakfast is not included unless you book a special deal through a website or travel agent, so know that in advance. Rooms have fans and AC and are comfortable. Some people said the beds weren't comfortable, but we found them to be fine. Lots of room, usually relaxing if there aren't big tours staying there. One downside is that there is a surf school on site... On some days of our stay there would be five to ten people hanging out pretty much in front of our room and it was noisy and it made it hard to sit back and relax with all those people just sitting around out there. The rooms have safes and there is security on site. I've stayed elsewhere in Jaco and this has been the best to date. It really is a nice beach and a lovely view. Our room did not have wifi, butt hats not the end of the world for us...we just used it in the bar area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelReviews411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    98
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
106
113
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel itself is nothing special, except that you get great breakfast and have large rooms. But it is very well located in Jaco at the end of the beach where there is pure dark sand and no stones at the beach...we saw Ara's and other nice animals too...good place to stay for a night or two but not more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in room #1, the view and spacious room were awesome. The bed was not very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and refreshing.

Room Tip: Room 1 as first choice, 2 as second. Best view from these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during the low season. The hotel is located in southern Jaco and is right on the beach. Comfortable king sized bed, ocean view room, clean, air conditioning (room only, not in the bathroom which was hot as a sauna), sizable balcony, and a mini fridge. Oh, and free wifi! Like I mentioned earlier, it was the low season so the pool tiki bar was closed (bummer) and the hotel felt deserted. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and booked our day tours for us. Do have dinner at the hotel restaurantant, Sandales. I had a mixed seafood dish for dinner on our last night there and it was quite delicious! I probably wouldn't stay here for a honeymoon if you are looking for a four star + boutique hotel, but it was fine for a quick stay in Jaco.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three nights with my wife and our 18-months-old daughter.
At the same time, there were other families with small children and all of us had a wonderful time.
Getting into details:
1. The hotel is quite old and it is noticeable in its arquitecture and the structures seem to need some paint and a little care, but despite these minor details, the rooms have everything you need: comfortable beds, nice shower, a little refrigerator, nice quiet A/C and a superb balcony facing the ocean.
2. The hotel location is marvelous, right by the beach, but far enough from Jaco downtown to avoid all the noise and the partying that goes around the town almost every night. The beach is nice and it was a nice surprise for me as a costarican who hasn't been to Jacó for more than 20 years to find out it is still clean and full of life (crabs, clams, small fishes by the shore, etc.)
3. The restaurant is very nice, the food is excellent and the service couldn't be better.
4. The pool is very clean and safe for children, with enough space for kids to play around without disturbing other people not related to them.
5. The staff deserves a whole review all to themselves: every single person which we had to talk, even for the smallest thing, were helpful, with a smile in their faces and a great attitude; even the owner, a very nice gringo called Phillip: visiting every table at dinner to say hi and check on customers' satisfaction.

Overall, a great place to stay, which could be a little renovated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RafaCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Im writingn this review a little late, but better late than never I suppose! I was married here in June 2012. Although I did not stay here, much of my family did. They had a wonderful experience with the staff and rooms. We had the rehearsal dinner here as well and with 65 of us, we got a little rowdy and had a blast! We were never told to be quit (we weren't disturbing, just having fun) and partied into the night. The wedding night was the exact same. They catered the dinner the wedding night, which was incredible and thanks to Victor, ensured I was taken of the day before and day of my wedding. He listened to what I wanted and it magically all came together for us. I cannot thank him enough for making this the best (and easiest) wedding day ever! The view was beautful ,pretty much right on the beach and the lush grass was great to sit and take in the ocean if you didn't want to sit in the sand. The rooms were a little pricey for me, however the rest was great!!! Thanks again Victor and the chefs at the Del Mar for all their work in ensuring we had a great experience!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellie1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Sleep comfortable while have everything at your fingertips. Club Del Mar is a smaller quaint beautiful place with all the amenities of a large hotel and affordable. Club Del Mar has great personalized service, you will think of "Cheers" where everyone knows your name. By far the Very Best Live Jazz Music right between the pool and the Beach and the most beautiful sunsets, take the quiet time to enjoy one of natures gifts to us. . The jazz music performed by the Owner "Phillip's" very good friend from Great Brittan, thank you Phillip for making our vacation over the top, with all of our expectation exceeded by the friendliness, the service with great food and cocktails and for making us feel safe on our travels.

Room Tip: Check this out!! All the rooms at Club Del Mar have the Master Headboard always facing the ocean, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
6.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Property: Hotel Club del Mar
Address: | Jaco Beach, 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing