We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise that felt like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Club del Mar
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise that felt like home”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days recently. It was our first trip to Costa Rica. We upgraded to the one bedroom condo and it was amazing. It was clean, spacious and had all the amenities we needed. A full kitchen with everything we needed to make our own meals. It even had a washer and dryer which I didn't think we would use, but given the heat and humidity we experienced in Costa Rica, it really came in handy. The staff was super helpful and sincerely friendly. The owner, Phillip was on the premises every day and was amazingly helpful. The hotel is right on the beach and had great surf for beginners which was perfect for my husband and older daughter. The pool was refreshing and clean and my younger daughter could have stayed there for the entire trip. The whole place felt very safe and friendly and is close to some great family attractions. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a laid back, comfortable, relaxing trip to Costa Rica. It is far enough away from Jaco so that you are away from the hustle and bustle. I LOVED this place and was super impressed with everything.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend upgrading to a condo, as I heard the rooms in the main hotel were not as ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherwood21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    106
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
126
120
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I had the good fortune to spend 2 weeks in Condo #1 at Club del Mar. I was there to inspect, review, and enjoy the accommodations in Jaco and Los Suenos, as well fish offshore with Good Day Team out of Los Suenos Marina.

My stay at Club del Mar was so much fun! My condo was at the end of the complex next to the Jungle. The beach was about 20 steps away and this is at the South END of Jaco Beach where the very best waves are consistent for Surfing, Boogie Boarding, and Swimming. Pool was always nice to rinse off the saltwater. The condo had a full kitchen, huge King bed, Washer/Dryers, Flats Screen TV, Internet, and 2 balconies - very cool. Sunset right there ...every night about 6PM. McCaws and Iguanas galore ....

The food was AAA+ with the chef being there for many many years. The owner Phil was always present watching and maintaining excellent service. Staff was fabulous - I actually miss them !!

This place is very "Homey".

Can't wait to go back ...

Capt. Bill Hutchinson
President & CEO
Fishing International Inc.

Room Tip: Any of the Condos are fabulous ....can't beat it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The good: Very nice, spacious rooms with nice furnishings. Located at the end of the Jaco beach. Good pool, clean beach, security personnel just in case. Friendly staff. Good value for the size of the rooms.

The bad: No beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach, only around the pool. The pull out sofabed was too uneven, thin, and noisy to use.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cronkleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We rented a two bedroom condo, #6.

Pros -- the rooms, amenities, decorations, etc. were perfect. The rooms were clean, well lit, and equipped with everything you need. There were also security guards along the beach front part of the property. I felt very safe and comfortable.

Cons -- we were on a bottom level and had a partial view. I would have appreciated a condo with a better view. The highway backs up to the condos, and you could hear trucks roaring by all night. The bugs were also VERY loud.

Recommendations to hotel -- Our package included breakfast, which was actually a plate of fruit, toast and coffee. I would have appreciated something with protein like an egg or nuts or something. We stayed at other hotels that included breakfast plans, which were more generous and included warm items and juice in addition to coffee.

Room Tip: try to get closer to the beach and away from the highway to get a good night's rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We recently stayed for a week at Hotel Club Del Mar and had a fantastic time. We booked a 2 bedroom condo, and the space was perfect for my wife and I and our two teenage kids. The kitchen was fully outfitted, the condo was spotless, and there was tons of room for us to spread out and relax between surf lessons. Jaco beach was right out front of our hotel, and the Del Mar Surf school team had our whole family up surfing waves on our first lesson. The staff at the hotel and surf school were outstanding. Big thanks to Marcel and Natalie at Del Mar Surf - You guys made our holiday. Thanks to Phillip the owner of Club Del Mar for providing such a well run place to stay. Popcorn at the tiki bar to watch the sunset was the icing on the cake. We will be back next year.

We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Try for one of the condos close the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our family (2 adults and daughters ages 13 & 9) had a wonderful Spring Break week at Club del Mar in Jaco Beach. We had a two bedroom condo - great space for our family and very clean. I was worried that the resort was too small and our girls would be bored by the end of the week, but Club del Mar really grew on us and by the middle of the week we were in love with this place. It's quiet and just a great place To relax whether you have kids or need adult time. Nice black sand beach that's great for jogging barefoot. Wonderful yoga classes. The massages at the spa were awesome. Food at the repost restaurant is great and very reasonable prices. We met several nice families and the kids all played in the pool together. There is nota a fITness CRT but with jogging on the beach and yoga we were ok. The staff and owner, Phillip, were amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffan_2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The friendliest staff here and a beautiful location! The restaurant here had the best food we found in Jaco! The owner Phillippe was friendly, helpful and informative. Within walking distance to town, beach and great hiking trails.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
6.7 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
1,279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
521 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 44 in Jaco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Property: Hotel Club del Mar
Address: | Jaco Beach, 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing