We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“beautiful beach resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Club del Mar
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful beach resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We found this place by accident and they gave us a one bedroom condo with a beach view. The condo was beautiful and we stayed 3 nights and used it a base for Manuel Antonio. The unit had a kitchen and AC and fans and a king bed with a great ocean view. The only negatives were a small safe and no in room wifi.
It was a little out of town but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you are going to Jaco for the party scene though, a place in town might be a better option. We rented SUPs and surf boards and were able to both right in front of our hotel. The beach was gorgeous.
We did encounter some tiny little ants in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igotmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    102
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
112
114
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ca.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

After reading many reviews and warnings about travelling to Jaco, we researched and booked 2, 2 bedroom condos. We were right on the beach with nothing obstructing the Beautiful view. We were 2 families = 11. I was so excited to find a washer & dryer ( had been traveling 5 days already and it was needed. Resort in at the southern end. We felt very safe! Resort is very nice, staff is wonderful! Pool is big, they provide balls for volleyball, with net or water polo or....Breakfast was included. Great choice. We would return and highly recommend. Owner also comes around to ensure all is good!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cybrpinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Club del mar, Jaco, Costa Rica. Be aware that the two bedroom and two bath suite, #10 is very noisy because it is facing the highway . Also, the air conditioning is worthless because the windows only have screen and wooden slats. The layout is nice and the kitchen is ready for cooking. There is also a nice large washer/dryer. This particular unit needs updating!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank samson4537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We never expect much when staying in Jaco, but we had an extra night, so we booked into this hotel. I had stayed there years ago.

I was very happy with our short stay. We had a nice room, dinner and enjoyed the pool.

We were welcomed and treated well.

Room Tip: ask to see the rooms.......the locations vary based on what you are looking for. you will not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just stayed at the Hotel Club del Mar for a week with my sister for a special getaway vacation. We found this hotel to be our oasis for the week during our surf/yoga retreat with the Del Mar Surf Camp. The grounds are very beautiful and the staff is so friendly, including the owner, who you will see almost daily making sure everything is in order. The reception/lobby area has a cool open layout and looks into the bar restaurant area, which all looks out on to the pool and the ocean. Our room was very clean and had a direct ocean view with beautiful wood sliding screen doors that allowed us to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. We thought the beds were great, firm and comfortable. We also found the hotel food to be excellent and affordable, we were concerned because another reviewer had rated it poor, maybe they had made changes. The hotel provides towels for the pool and beach which is very nice. And its location is at the very south end of Jaco so you can visit the city, but you are also away from the city. If/when we go back we will definitely be making a stop at the Club Del Mar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynann_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Second time here.Got a condo.Staying a while.I would do the condo.it was fully equipped. Clean ,on the beach.this is must stop on the way to Quepos.I fished here for one day and they cooked my wahoo for the 11 of us excellent.Its not to bad.High tide is neat to watch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blakes8542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel grounds and pool area are pretty and relaxing to spend time. The restaurant is low quality/ average and overpriced. A cup of coffee should not cost over 2 dollars... I ordered French toast one day that was delivered to me so soggy I had to return it. Another day I ordered eggs rancheros which consisted of 2 eggs with canned spaghetti sauce on it, not so tastey. A small ceviche given as an appetizer was $9, the same price as ordering a hamburger with French fries. You would think the quality would be better for this
Price considering other restaurants on the beach make this very typical food for half the price and give you an entree size with higher quality. Besides the disappointment with the restaurant, the mattresses in the rooms were less comfortable than if I would have spent the night on the ground at the beach. We asked for maintenance to fix a clogged toilet and it was never done. The hotel itself has a view of beach (which definitely is not the nicest of quality in Costa Rica) and a nice pool, but don't expect quality service for what you have to pay to stay here. It's not worth the price you pay, I've stayed at plplenty hotels in Costa Rica where I get the service and quality I pay for and will not be staying at club del mar again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe21986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
6.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
2.7 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Property: Hotel Club del Mar
Address: | Jaco Beach, 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing