We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Naturally Exquisite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Club del Mar
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Naturally Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is my second review of this hotel, so that must speak for itself. The first visit wowed me, and the second was just as wonderful. I can't decide which is best....the environment or the staff. Both are spectacular. The plants and fauna add to the charm. The staff is attentive, friendly, and diligent. Most impressive was the owner. He lovingly and meticulously cares for his guests and the property. Being at the end of the beach, it is secluded but close enough to town that you can easily take a stroll there or take a quick taxi. Also, its proximity makes it easy to enjoy the sites and adventures nearby. This place is what you come to Costa Rica for!!!

Room Tip: The noise from the trucks on the highway could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nasaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    102
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
112
114
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saint louis
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great location with stunning sunsets at the south end of Jaco beach. Beautifully kept grounds with iguanas and tropical plants, helpful friendly staff, nice pool and a really fun beach for playing and boogie boarding. The highway is close so there is some street noise. To go to downtown Jaco you'll need a cab, but the desk staff will happily order it up and it's not expensive. The wifi works better in the public spaces than the rooms, but try your balcony... it worked for us. The condo unit we had was a little dark, but it's nice to have a small kitchen to be self sufficient when you like. The food at the restaurant was fresh and delicious... a little relaxed. Wine selection is decent for a tropical locale and the caipirinhas are fabulous. I think our favorite thing about this place is it has all the amenities you want, but it's not fancy and doesn't feel like a resorty resort. There aren't a lot of rules (pool is open whenever, sure they'll serve food on that patio). It feels comfortable, like home away from home.

Room Tip: upper level condo... in case there is torrential rain plus, we like having a balcony for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aschilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

After reading many good things about this place I booked a room to celebrate our one year anniversary. The beach is amazing and the beach location proved to be what others had stated. The sunset was breath taking. We had already spent 6 wonderful days in the country and had not encountered a bad meal or hostile person. We ordered a chicken quesadilla after a long day of traveling and bit into grisle and fat. We had to spit it out. We returned it and ordered an acceptable hamburger. When we went to pay our bill it had not been removed and when I questioned this the bartender stated "We have been making quesadilla's all day and no one has complained", and he then referred me to what now appears to be one of the owners?
Phillip, an older gentlemen who sits at the bar all day, stated that he had in fact eaten the rest of my quesadilla and there was nothing wrong with it. Are you kidding me?
After a few minutes of explaining how I don't need a freebe and just don' t want to pay for something of such poor quality he eventually threw his hands up and said "Fine! Customer's always right" and I was given a credit.
Now I know why the bartender and staff don't go out of their way to be accomodating. The team is only as good as the coach. It's a shame that this hotel, with decent rooms and an amazing location could be so jaded by an ugly attitude. We took the free breakfast in the morning, which was only ok, and spent our dollars elsewhere for dinner.
Just a heads up, it's a great place as long as nothing is wrong or you have a concern. If you do, don't go to Phillip.
I also asked for a room very close to the beach since we were only there for 24 hours. They told me there were none available but the resort was deserted.

Room Tip: Pool area is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a week long stay at Club del Mar for a wedding. Excellent spot for a wedding, absolutely breathtaking!! Great location, near the town of Jaco, can take a long stroll down the beach to the town or a real quick cab ride. Great spot to surf, super close to zip-lining, 4 wheeling, mountain biking, and on-site yoga which was great! Definitely will return to Club del Mar! Staff was wonderful!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank V M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I just recently returned from a very relaxing week long vacation in Costa Rica. In addition to the fact that Costa Rica is an amazing place, my trip was even more wonderful due to my stay at Hotel Club del Mar. The service at the hotel was absolutely top notch. From the employees at the front desk to the maids to the grounds keepers, everyone was friendly and ready to help when needed. The rooms are spacious and impeccably clean. I had a view of the pool from my room which was only overshadowed by my beautiful view of the ocean. Clean rooms and ocean views aside, the best part about Hotel Club del Mar is its owner, Philip Edwardes. He makes everyone feel welcome. This was my first time in Costa Rica and I was traveling alone. I saw and/or talked to Philip every day of my stay at the hotel. As I was doing work in my “office”, I witnessed him treat every guest with kindness and gratitude. He treated all of the guests like they mattered so one was never really alone in the hotel. Beyond the certain level of awareness one should always have when traveling, I did not worry about anything. If you travel to Jaco or Playa Hermosa and you want that home away from home experience, I highly suggest that you stay at Hotel Club del Mar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Very nice and comfortable place since it is the last on the beach of Jaco, nice pool and the great surrounding areas
I recommend it as a family place or for couples that wanna be away but not too much from down town Jaco

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticorides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Idyllic location at the south end of Jaco beach. Beautifully kept grounds, great staff, awesome pool, amazing beach. However - it's close to the highway, and there's a fair amount of road noise, especially the big trucks and their engine brakes, all night long. And the beds are rock-hard (we asked for an extra comforter to sleep on). Also, it's not close to downtown Jaco - a cab ride is required, tho it's only $4. Another nit - the wifi isn't overly strong - we had to lean over the balcony to get it sometimes. But in a nutshell - I'd go back there in a heartbeat :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
6.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
2.7 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Property: Hotel Club del Mar
Address: | Jaco Beach, 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar
Hotel Club Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing