We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Monte Carlo Condominium(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Club del Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$209
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Copacabana Hotel & Suites(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$122
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mango Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$100
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc's Resort & Casino(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$274
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$365
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
62
49
48
34
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
49
48
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparty townbeachfront hotela nice place to staymanuel antoniooceansurfingtourswaves
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 223 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights as a part of a school group tour and found it to be adequate, especially as far as Costa Rica hotels go.

Great proximity to the town and beach. Beautiful views, especially at sunset.

Rooms were small and clean. Furnishings were outdated and beaten up. Air conditioning was very nice. Pool and bar/restaurant area were pretty.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank paul-delaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Horrible service, no hot water and was promised a discount but at check out I didn't get any discount and manager couldn't be contacted. Only 3 start for looks, service and beds are nothing to brag about.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conthies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is right in front of the ocean which is prime location. 2 blocks from the main strip where bars and restuarants are. The place is pricey for what the rooms look like...imagine a dorm room Our room didn't have a tv remote control, alarm clock or phone. Pretty small too. Breakfast is free in the morning, but I couldn't bring myself to eat what they were offering...even the cereal was stale. I had coffee though (breakfast of champs). No elevator in this hotel that is 4 stories. So now you know!

On a side note...Jaco is a good place to visit only if you are a surfer. The beach is ugly and has nothing to offer. The restaurants and bars are sleazy and crawling with prostitutes....I would stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Restaurant and cocktails are super expensive $7-8 bucks for a cocktail. The pool is nice and the view is nice too, room is very much standard.
Service is good.
If you go to the beach ask for beach chairs, you get them for free all day.
I think overall is too pricey for a standard hotel but we had a great time

Room Tip: 3rd floor, but some rooms view would be blocked by the building, so ask for one that is not
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHELA026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Traveling with EF Tour - some variation in the rooms, our was pretty large and clean. Central courtyard swimming pool and outdoor restaurant seating. Directly across from Jaco beach so the views were great no matter where you were sitting. Staff was friendly and helpful though we had to fight to get towels on our first night. They didn't seem quite prepared for 35 people at once. They were kind enough to allow us to use the hotel computer to send a message home about an injured student when we couldn't get the wifi to cooperate on our phones.Food was good - buffet for all meals - standard Costa Rican fare, but plenty of it. Quick walk around the corner to Main St, in Jaco. This is the only of the 5 hotels we stayed at that I would consider staying in myself if I make a return trip for vacation.

Room Tip: Although the ground floor rooms are large, the only way in/out is through a glass sliding door with a questionable lock.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews