We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing is the location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only good thing is the location.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Other than the location of being right on the beach, this place is terrible! Have slept on floors more comfortable than the beds! Took the A/C a day and half to get the room comfortable. The small fridge was off so that took better part of a day to cool off and put drinks in. There was no coffee maker as advertised. Had to ask just to get a hand towel and face cloth. Had to ask to have room cleaned second day. The breakfast was average..nothing special. The pool while small did not look clean or appealing. Never even dipped our toes. An how classy can the place be when the sign at the front desk basically says "no sex" in the pool. Save your money and get a condo! Won't be back to this place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    43
    39
    33
    24
See reviews for
46
74
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rottingdean, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed here before but this weeks trip was great
Our room has been refurbished.
Staff seem more friendly.
And a great breakfast
I can only congratulate the management and staff for a great break
Paul Turner

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deansman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was one of many stops on our recent honeymoon. The hotel was okay (the room was small and the bathroom needed updating), but the location was great. We really didn't spend much time in the room so it wasn't that big of an issue for us. The locals were really friendly. My husband quickly became friends with a couple of the surfers. Speaking of surfing, if that is something you are looking for Jaco beach is the spot. The sets were amazing each and every day. I could hardly get my hubby off the board long enough for lunch!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooneyChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here in nov 2012, paid $113 per nt for 3rd floor room with king bed, room was comfortable, great little deck in room for smoking and sunsets, small but nice pool area, close to everything but quiet enough to get rest. Well secured and safe, you can hear the waves/ocean at night, restaurant was very good. excellent, very kindly service in front desk, restaurant, maintenance from to to bottom. Bathroom was a little small but had hot water and was sufficient. Hotel does not allow chicas so no hookers and old men looming around. Jaco is a nice place, yes there are hookers and drug dealers but if you ignore them it's not a problem. Jaco is not really for families and definitely not for honeymooners or couples. I would stay at hotel balcon de mar again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jajeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here with a student group and was plesantly surprised witth the motel and location. The room we had was roomy, clean and had a beautiful view. The other rooms my students were staying were nice and roomy as well. We were not able to get wifi in our room, so we had to go to the lobby. It was about a 3 block walk to the downtown area, which had lots of touristy shops the kids enjoyed. The beach is NOT for swimming, the tide is rough and the beach is rocky. This is a nice place to stay if you are not planning on any serious beach time.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view, so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larikev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. It's located right by the beach and really close to the main strip.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. My room had a balcony facing the pacific and the a/c and hot water worked well. I had a little trouble with the wi-fi in my room, but in the pool/restaurant/bar area, the connection was good.
Food is available either buffet style or à la carte, and it was tasty.
My room was on the second floor, so i had no issue, but there was no elevator and it is also not safe to go into the water on this section of the beach due to rip tides.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during an educational tour with our daughters school. We did not choose the hotel but we were pleasantly surprised. After a long trip of very poor lodgings this hotel came as a treat. At this point our standards had been lowered in terms of what to expect at each new location but we were happy and comfortable here. The pool area was great, the food and variations were terrific, the poolside bar was great and service was super. The rooms were comfortable with A/C, safes, small balconies to courtyard area and nice views. The hotel is right across from the beach which is nice and as an earlier reviewer mentioned, the number of macaw we saw every day was a super treat. I'd recommend this location.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 41 in Jaco
114 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#20 of 41 in Jaco
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#23 of 41 in Jaco
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tangeri Hotel
Tangeri Hotel
#19 of 41 in Jaco
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon del Mar

Property: Hotel Balcon del Mar
Address: Bohio Street, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#11 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balcon del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Balcon del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon Del Mar Jaco
Balcon Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Balcon Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing