We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the jacuzzi suite - nice location + pools”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
grand rapids, minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Loved the jacuzzi suite - nice location + pools”
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Stayed here while on an EF tour of Costa Rica. I certainly can't complain. Hotel was full and they gave us a wonderful jacuzzi suite overlooking the beach. That suite was great. Wonderful large romantic king sized bed, bathroom, separate shower, and a nice large jacuzzi with a view of the beach. Also a great balcony. The whole suite was obviously redone and is great. I saw the full rnage of other rooms with our students. Some were nice, some average, and some, well lets just say they needed to be redone. The pools are nice. The breakfast restaurant is very nice and outdoors. The food was good and the staff there is nice. The reception desk staff were a bit cold and not real helpful. The porter was awesome - very helpful and friendly. As for the location, we enjoyed the beach - of course some safety tips are important with occasional rip tides. The surf school right down the beach is great. The kids loved surfing. All in all Jaco and the Balcon del Mar exceeded my expectations. I'd go there again as would all of my students!

  • Liked — the beach and the jacuzzi suite
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    43
    39
    32
    22
See reviews for
44
74
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VERMONT
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Had a third floor walk up room that gave me a good view of the neighboring police department. The PD was quite active during my stay as one person drowned right in front of the hotel due to the riptides that rage unexpectantly. We witnessed several drunks being brought in for sobering up by police holding them down in the bed of a pickup. The rastafarian handcuffed to the bench out front added some leisurely local color. One evening we found the street closed off while Costa Rica CFI investigated the death of a prisoner next door. Due to the frequent opportunities to purchase drugs and converse with working girls, this might not be the best place for a family vacation.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The three handed jury rigging I had to do to lock my room
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vtbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaco hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

When you first drive up, you'll be impressed, but beyond that, you'll be ready to go.

We stayed here just one night and that was enough. On arrival we had to request a new room, since ours looked like a rock band had stayed there (broken window, musty smell, lumpy beds). Our next room was better, but okay at best. The main thing to note is the shower didn't even work! From the looks of it, I didn't really want to get in it anyway.

The desk staff was okay, but not the most friendly I've encountered. When asking for food recommendations, the guy actually suggested Subway. In hindsight, he was probably right, but still.

The pool seemed nice, but we didn't swim. The breakfast buffet was terrible and we ended up going to the Taco Bar in town instead. That was the only decent food we found by the way.

The only good thing I can really say about this place is the location. It's right across from the beach and next door to the police station, which is probably good in this nasty town.

Pass on this one altogether.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We were unfortunate enough to stumble into this hotel whil walking down the beach. What a big mistake.

Way overpriced, dirty rooms, beat up showers, uncomfortable beds, faulty electronics. The rooms had stains on the floor and the walls. The beds were tiny and beat up with thin mattresses that had huge holes in the middle. The comforters smelled as if they hadn't been washed in years.

The water in the shower was horrendous! It smelled so bad it made the entire room stink. When we turned on the TV, it started shaking violently and making loud cracking sounds. We thought it was going to fall off the ceiling it was attached to.

We stayed at 4 different hotels in Costa Rica and this is the worst of any hotel any of us have ever stayed anywhere. You are much better off staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RedskinsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcapon03
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2008

great hotel, big rooms, cold a/c big beds, nice pool, AWESOME PANCAKES FOR BREAKFAST!!!!
very friendly people.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alcapon03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

This is a small hotel right in front the beach but not all the rooms have this option. It has a very clean swimming pool, rooms are comfortable, the price is OK.

When I got there I found they gave me a room in the "blind side" it means I have no chance to see the beach, I ask the guy and he told me something like "sorry, you should tell us you want that kind of room", I showed him my confirmation slip and clearly it said my room has a balcony in front the beach.

Well, after that he could send us to a not so bad room but the problem is why this things happens.... ?

Then I had a problem because my A/C remote control just stop working and we were virtually frozen in the room, I went to reception, they sent the maintenance guy but they did not have more remotes, son he fixed the temperature...it was really cold at night ....

  • Liked — The breakfast is included, it is very good
  • Disliked — This is a good hotel that can avoid some problems easily but they do not do it
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crislab4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

Let me just start off by stating that I did not choose to stay at this hotel. I went with a tour group to Costa Rica EF Tours booked this hotel for us for 2 nights on February 19th and the 20th, checking out on the 21st.

Driving Up: When the bus pulled up to the hotel, it seemed nice enough. The beach was extremely close to the hotel, which we all loved, and the water of the ocean was sooooo soooo warm, it was excellent.

Hotel Stay: The hotel is undergoing serious renovations. There were wires hanging down from the ceilings, which seemd like a safety hazrd, yet it was a foreign country. The reception was in a separate building. My roomates and I were given room 17. When we found our room, we realized it didn't have a door knob. In order to shut the door, you needed to lock the dead bolt, which posed a problem if someone else had the key, as this hotel doesn ot have key cards. The door was also extremely beat up with dents and scratches all over it, and it was made of cheap wood. The first thing that we noticed was the awful color. It was like a very ugly blue and it had scratches and scuffs and nicks and anything you could imagine, all over it. There was a balcony with an ocean view, and the door was extremely old and made a crashing sound if it hit the wall. We realized that there were 2 beds and 3 of us, b ut came to the realization that one of the beds was a trundell bed. and pulled out from under one of the other beds, which forced us to move the night stand. There was barely room to walk, let alone store our suitcases. There was a ton of furniture in the room, and it was all very cheezy. So how did we solve our problem? Well we took the night stand, the desk, 2 aphulstered chairs, and some other stupid piece of furniture and put it all out on the balcony so that we could have room for our suitcases. The curtain rods were rusty and gross. The curtains were always shut because they didn't open. We removed the curtains and put them out on the balcony too. Moving on to the bathroom, it was tiny, and just simply disgusting. The molding on the ceiling in the bathroom was falling off. The shower had no hot water or pressure. It was moldy and disgusting. The knobs for the shower were rusted and gross, and there were huge holes in the tile wall around the knobs. I will attach pictures later, and they will explain themselves. The room was tiled and it was extremely slippery if wet. There was no closet in the room. I was truly afraid to sleep on the bed, as there was something disgusting on them. It was a good thing that I packed an extra sheet just in case this happened. The pool was nice. It had a swim up bar that looked like it wasn't done, as the stools were just polls sticking up from the ground and there were wires dangling off the top of the bar. The jacuzzi was cold and was extremely poorly designed. The employees at the restaurant spoke little to no English, so if you don't know Spanish, you are SOL. Luckily we know Spanish and our teacher knows spanish too, so she interpereted for us a lot. As for the area not being safe, I didn't think it was that dangerous. If you went around the corner at night then yes because there are are a lot of bars and such, but the road directly across from the hotel is fine, or so it appeared. I will give credit where credit is due, as a lot of the other rooms that we saw were perfectly nice because they had been renovated or the hotel had added on or soemthing. However, there is still the chance of not getting a renovated room, so I highly suggest you stay away from this hotel. The hotel advertises its free internet access, and when I asked, the lady said yea hang on a second and got out of her chair. They let you behind the desk to use the internet. There is no internet room. Oh, and there are no phones in the rooms, and if you want to make a collect call to the US, you have to go to the front desk and use their phone. The staff was friendly for the most part. I will attach pictures soon, so be patient, but book another hotel. Jaco was absolutely beautiful. Don't miss it for the world. Stay at the Four Seasons.

  • Liked — It was close to the beach!
  • Disliked — Everything Else!
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank songair234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 42 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 42 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#17 of 42 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#22 of 42 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sports Bar and Hotel Oz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon del Mar

Property: Hotel Balcon del Mar
Address: Bohio Street, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jaco
#10 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balcon del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Balcon del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon Del Mar Jaco
Balcon Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Balcon Del Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing