We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and unique!”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unique!”
Reviewed October 7, 2006

I spent two nights recently at Villa Caletas and absolutely loved it. The hotel is unique with views that are unmatched in many surrounding hotels and many hotels in Costa Rica for that matter. I disagree with the reviews about the food - we ate all of our meals there and thought the food was amazing (would highly recommend the coconut shrimp dish). The beauty of this hotel lies in the uniqueness and the fact that they have kept a lot of the natural beauty. Therefore, there are going to be 'animals' but that's all part of Costa Rica and the adventure.

  • Liked — View and the service
  • Tips/Secrets — If you are looking for a big resort, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for adventure, natural beauty and amazing views, this is a place that will 'wow' you!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank costarica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    222
    93
    62
    27
See reviews for
204
769
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syr.,N.Y.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

If you are looking for a romantic place to stay this is it. We stayed in room 20 and had our own pool, garden with fish pond , large cottage like room with a view from every room. Very clean and nicely decorated and the view!

The staff was helpful and you need not leave your room for a thing. Room service was excellent. We ate on site and found the food very good. Service at dinner though seemed to go down hill after you were served your entree. I waited ten minutes for a glass of wine and ten more to have my finished plate removed. Our waiter and another seemed to busy waiting on another table. I don't know why it took the two of them plus a buss boy to wait on the other couple but it did. This kind of service happened both nights.

  • Liked — The room, sunset and all the views
  • Disliked — Wait staff at dinner.
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the bus to the beach, make time to watch the sunset on the terrace.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

We stayed at Villa Caletas the first week of May which is the first week of the off season. It never rained so it was perfect weather. As for the bugs....we saw some....not that big of a deal. I usually get attacked by bugs where ever I go and I never got bit. My boyfriend did get a bite on his face the last day we were there which he said was uncomfortable but not that big of a deal. He has since made a full recovery :)

The pool is amazing!! The food was great. My only recommendation is don't stay there too long. We stayed 7 days 8 nights which was about 2 days too long. Since you are a little bit isolated you start to get sick of the same food everyday. It would be great to drive to the Tabacon hot springs and stay a few days at their resort. That is what we will do the next time we go. YOU MUST DO THE ZIP LINE TOUR! We also did the crocodile river tour. Fabulous!! The private beach is rocky with tide pools but has wonderful hammocks under the trees!! Loved it! I highly recommend this hotel. Its beautiful, private, staff was wonderful, relaxing, eclectic, romantic, and quiet. Exactly what I needed to unwind from my very stressful job. This is a resort you can not miss and I can't wait to return!

  • Liked — Its warm pacific breezes, pool, hotel grounds, and sunsets.
  • Disliked — Food and drinks are little expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay the first week of the off season. Rooms are cheeper and crowds are smaller.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank love2relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Family of 4, A mothers point of view, traveled with a 7and 11 year old. Costa Rica in General is such an awsome place how do you begin?We stayed from july 28th-Aug 6th 2006, but only 3 days at the Villa Caletas(as we had planned)we were not sure what to expect after reading the reviews. But we were quite pleased the reviews were right about the food it is a bit pricey. and is just Ok, but you do get a lot of food. We paid around 150usd a night. for dinner (we did that because it takes about 7 min just to get down the drive way of the hotel, not complaining. It just seemed easier and safer with the kids. Driving at night could be tricky especially with the rain that is not predicablel. The road to the beach is an adventure in its self, You defintly need 4x4. I am not sure if the beach is even swim abel? But it sure is nice. The pool is beautiful and has awsome sunsets and was never crowded I dont know why? also you will do a lot of walking and stair climbing depending on where you stay, make sure if you need handicap assistance that they even offer it. Also a lot of bugs at night so make sure you bring your bug spray! But what else could you expect look where you are at! Overall we had a great time the grounds are gorgeous the view are spectacuar the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. PURA VIDA
P.S I want to say thank you to trip advisor and to everyone who writes a review. You make my trip planning just that much more easier Thanks

  • Liked — Clean Rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — If driving your car to the beach make sure it is 4x4
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank family6pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

We have just come back from Costa Rica and as part of our tour we had a five day stay at this hotel. From the moment we arived it was the little touches that made all the difference. (Cold towel upon arrival and iced lemon tea). We had a junior suite (26) and to wake up in the morning and look out onto the wonderful views was just amazing. I disagree with the other reviewer over the food. Here in England at a hotel such as this you would find it very hard to get a three course meal for 35usd. (Around 18 gbp)
Thank you to everyone at Villa Claetas for such a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — excellent overall
  • Disliked — going past all the giant frogs on the path when it had been raining!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 8, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a five day stay at Villa Caletas and my reviews are mixed. Our master suite was beautiful and the view from the room was spectacular. ( I suggest suite #20. It's the largest.) The room and all the hotel ammenities were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed several spa treatments and thought that the staff was quite professional. Our only complaint about the hotel was the food. We had read other reviews which warned of the dining situation at the hotel. Unfortunately, it was all true. The food left much to be desired and was way overpriced. The hotel is about one mile up a curvy mountain road, so traveling outside the hotel for every meal is unreasonable. Nearby Jaco, a surfer town, doesn't offer many dining choices either. We suggest the hotel for a long weekend and nothing more. ( We left a day before we were to check out and moved to the Intercontinental near San Jose. )

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Villa Caletas for a couple of nights in the middle of May, 2006. The location is one of a kind and the view is picturesque. The first time you drive to get to the hotel – you may want to drive during the daylight…It is a narrow, winding, up hill road. But the view will take your breath away.

We stayed in the standard deluxe room w/ocean view. It was close to the main building. The room was nicely appointed and had everything we needed, but do not expect Marriott amenities. It is an older hotel, but had that nice charm to it. And yes, there are some bugs in the room – but you are in the middle of a jungle!!! This hotel won our hearts comparing with Marriott (we stayed there for 3 nights before getting to Villa Caletas).

We loved the infinity pool. It never seemed crowded.

As you have already read in the previous reviews, the prices are very high for Costa Rican standards.

We liked the breakfast, the lunch and dinner were just ok.

The worst part was the massage. The most beautiful setting that anybody can wish for but the masseur was chewing bubble gum the whole time… Here you are, trying to relax, enjoy the jungle serenity, but instead you hear that chewing gum sound. How awful! I thought the masseur was not experienced either. I thought that there is no way that somebody can ruin the massage, but after this one…

We arranged one excursion from the hotel. The Arenal Volcano w/Tobacon hot springs ($100 per person). It was about 12-13 hour excursion. It took about 4 hours to get there on a bumpy/windy road but when you get there – it seemed worth it. We loved the hot springs. I wished we were able to stay there overnight. The excursion included lunch and dinner. We enjoyed meeting all the people on the excursion. It was fun.

Overall, I would recommend staying at this hotel if you are in this area.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
564 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
4.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing