We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High luxury - from very high up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“High luxury - from very high up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

We were in Jaco to photograph a wedding, and had the opportunity to stay at 3 different hotels. This was our second, after staying in downtown Jaco. A lot of reviewers have complained about the town of Jaco itself. And they are right. It is dreary and run-down and feels pretty seedy at night. But there's good news. You can stay at Villa Caletas and avoid all that :)

If money isn't an issue for you, or you are celebrating a special occasion like your honeymoon, book yourself at Caletas. It is one of the most gorgeous properties I have ever seen. Located out of the city and high up, the views are jaw-dropping. You can sit on the edge of the restaurant and have breakfast or afternoon cocktails while looking out over the vast expanse of mountains and ocean. The food is fantastic, but very expensive. Ceviche was great.

The staff is trained to perfection. They are so nice, so helpful, always wanting to do everything for you, always smiling, always friendly, despite working in such humid heat.

The rooms are beautiful, huge beds (although ours was two fulls pushed together - kinda weird). Super clean, with little verandas. We sat out there and had room service several times. So nice.

Above everything, though, my favorite thing about Caletas was the pool. Oh my gosh, please go just so you can swim in this amazing pool. It's an infinity pool with a view over the mountains/ocean, and very lagoon-like with tree branches and vines hanging in the water. Seriously the most beautiful pool i have ever seen.

Oh, I should mention that they have a shuttle down to the beach that leaves every hour. We never went, but were told that it's a rocky beach. You really don't need the beach anyway when you have this incredible pool :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperWaterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    215
    88
    61
    27
See reviews for
191
737
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

This hotel was incredible in every way. The location - at the top of a mountain - provides breathtaking views from every spot. The service was incredible. Friendly, attentive staff from the gardeners to the receptionists to the waiters and cleaning staff. No request seemed too much and all requests were promptly filled. Our room #20 had its own private garden with a fish pond as well as a private swimming pool. The room consisted of a huge bedroom with king-size bed and many seating areas, as well as a separate living room and a private patio. It was very luxurious. The amphitheatre where one can sit and watch the amazing sunsets is worth the visit. The restaurant which is open air but covered in case of inclement weather had the best food. The breakfast was included and there were multiple choices on the menu from a typical North American dish to several Tico dishes and the view is awesome. There is an infinity pool beside the restaurant where drinks and snacks are available. The gardens are filled with exotic flowers and thus attract many bird species such as toucans, scarlet macaws and hummingbirds. A quiet, peaceful place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrygirl6841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

Our stay at Villa Caletas was AWESOME!! We went there to atttend a wedding at Zephyr Palace and it was amazing! Beautiful placeto stay and have a wedding!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrandeeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

We just got back from Villa Calletas after having our wedding there with 42 of our closest family and friends. The location looked like it was out of a painting. The service was phenomenal. Food was great and event came together perfectly. Our master suite was a room we wish we lived in year around. Only knock on the property is lots of animals and spiders everywhere and the day to day food and alcohol is pricey for costa rica. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for an amazing destination wedding.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishnj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

Thank you for making my large destination wedding of 87 people perfect.. This is the place for a breath taking experience. Relax and Enjoy everything about it.. Thank You Again..

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myatravelingrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at Ville Caletas for a week. The hotel, staff and resturants were all top notch. The staff was attentive without being intrusive. The hotel has fantastic views in all directions. The beach while rocky, has some areas to swim and is very secluded with a fully staffed bar, it was one of our favorite parts of the trip. It was much better than any of the other beaches we visited. The hotel resturant's had a nice mix of local and non-local food it was all fresh and well prepared.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTraveler2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

We loved our stay here. But i will start with few reservations:
-while the beach is private, one can only swim in high tide, in low tide the volcanic rocks, that are very slippery, are exposed
-food was not great, breakfast was fine, but dinner was not very good and both were very expensive - you pay top New York prices. we read about food before, but were tired one day and also wanted to try out for ourselves and see the beautiful sunset. the sunset was worth it, but you can just have a glass of wine as you enjoy sun setting (very quickly). But after giving it a try we ate dinners elsewhere for 1/10th the price and much better quality.
-the hotel is a bit isolated from everything. the closest place- Jaco beach is un unpleasant place to be (if you are going for the luxury of this hotel, this is not what you would want to see). without a car, i dont know how people would get around.
Now, why we enjoyed it.
-service people at the hotel were extremely friendly (special compliments to the beach service!)
- the views from the room are very beautiful (we stayed in an independent cabana, which was also very private).
-the infinitity pool is quite nice and has phenomenal vistas too.
-the hotel property is vast and beatiful, the 15min. drive to the beach itself is like being in the jungle.
- not too long a drive from San Jose.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing