We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not thrilled”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
dallas
14
Reviewed July 8, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a five day stay at Villa Caletas and my reviews are mixed. Our master suite was beautiful and the view from the room was spectacular. ( I suggest suite #20. It's the largest.) The room and all the hotel ammenities were clean and comfortable. We enjoyed several spa treatments and thought that the staff was quite professional. Our only complaint about the hotel was the food. We had read other reviews which warned of the dining situation at the hotel. Unfortunately, it was all true. The food left much to be desired and was way overpriced. The hotel is about one mile up a curvy mountain road, so traveling outside the hotel for every meal is unreasonable. Nearby Jaco, a surfer town, doesn't offer many dining choices either. We suggest the hotel for a long weekend and nothing more. ( We left a day before we were to check out and moved to the Intercontinental near San Jose. )

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Villa Caletas for a couple of nights in the middle of May, 2006. The location is one of a kind and the view is picturesque. The first time you drive to get to the hotel – you may want to drive during the daylight…It is a narrow, winding, up hill road. But the view will take your breath away.

We stayed in the standard deluxe room w/ocean view. It was close to the main building. The room was nicely appointed and had everything we needed, but do not expect Marriott amenities. It is an older hotel, but had that nice charm to it. And yes, there are some bugs in the room – but you are in the middle of a jungle!!! This hotel won our hearts comparing with Marriott (we stayed there for 3 nights before getting to Villa Caletas).

We loved the infinity pool. It never seemed crowded.

As you have already read in the previous reviews, the prices are very high for Costa Rican standards.

We liked the breakfast, the lunch and dinner were just ok.

The worst part was the massage. The most beautiful setting that anybody can wish for but the masseur was chewing bubble gum the whole time… Here you are, trying to relax, enjoy the jungle serenity, but instead you hear that chewing gum sound. How awful! I thought the masseur was not experienced either. I thought that there is no way that somebody can ruin the massage, but after this one…

We arranged one excursion from the hotel. The Arenal Volcano w/Tobacon hot springs ($100 per person). It was about 12-13 hour excursion. It took about 4 hours to get there on a bumpy/windy road but when you get there – it seemed worth it. We loved the hot springs. I wished we were able to stay there overnight. The excursion included lunch and dinner. We enjoyed meeting all the people on the excursion. It was fun.

Overall, I would recommend staying at this hotel if you are in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

This is a gorgeous location. The rooms were so unique as we felt like we had our own little house in the rain forest. A/c worked great and employees were nice and gracious. Jaco is a fabulous surfer village with great restaurants and a grocery store.
I ran into trouble making reservations over the internet. They had me booked for one night more than I had planned and it took 2 meetings with the manager and a letter in which I had to detail my experience to get a refund. They determined their site was getting intercepted by a 3rd party agency because I explained and showed them that making reservations the way I did online was my only option. Make sure you are booking with the hotel directily!
Beware that the beach is horrible and you're at the mercy of the hotel shuttle to get you there and back. The food is bad and extremely overpriced (even water is $2 a bottle!) The biggest rip off is the $50 cab ride too and from the town of Jaco. The pool is beautiful but only about 6 chairs at a time get sun and there's only about 12 chairs total. Only book the most expensive stand alone villas if you can sleep through the gang of frogs that will mate in your pool all night. If you have a car, this place is ideal. If you don't have a car and you only stay a couple nights, you're in great shape. But if you don't have a car and you want to use this as home base to explore this part of the country, you are making the wrong choice.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wileySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2006

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in, and I run luxury tours for a living...

First off, yes the food is not great. It is more than edible and highly overpriced by Costa Rican standards. It did not detract from our stay though, and we just ordered a main course and no starters or desserts as the portions were immense. Thus, our meals were less than $20 each. They did do a very good beef tenderloin. It seemed the simpler the dish, the better the food.

Our private villa was amazing. We had a breath-taking view and spent lots of time watching the scarlet macaws fly by. There were also toucans sitting on the trees outside our room for hours. The whirlpool was clean and had massage jets and was very spacious.

The hotel allowed for lots of privacy and is a little romantic slice of heaven. The food is disappointing, prices are through the roof, but we loved every minute of our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaiyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2006

This was my first trip to Costa Rica. I thought that getting rooms for $85/night was on the high side so paying $120/night sounded extravagent. I've stayed at 5 star resorts so I'm not looking for the lowest priced room to stay at but it seemed like $120 was a lot to pay. I was wrong. The room was the nicest out of 4 places we stayed in Costa Rica. The view alone from the bar and amphitheater is worth the $120 not to mention from the Infinity edge pool. I can only guess how much money was spent developing that resort which is off the main highway and is probably 1000 ft above sea level. We got look down on Los Suenos where there is a Marriott resort. We didn't eat in the restaurant after reading the reviews and one of my friends that stayed at Los Suenos confirmed the reviews on eating at their restaurant...high price, beautiful room, average food, and slow service. There were two weddings while we were there and mostly Americans staying there. You have to drive to get into town but who would want to...you could easily stay there for two days and enjoy the property and views. I wouldn't mind staying in one of the private villas and paying their off season price.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimPFairOaksCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

Just got back from a three week journey through Costa Rica with my girlfriend. We scheduled our two nights at Villa Caletas right in the middle of the trip because we knew we'd need some luxury accomadations after staying at some budge hotels on the beach. After two nights at the hotel, we left with mixed feelings.

I think people on this website who review Villa Caletas have a tendency to be rather hard on it because they have such high expectations for it. Also, I think for Costa Rica standards it's an excessively expensive hotel, and people feel they should get their money's worth. My expectations for Villa Caletas were certainly set high, and as far as the aesthetics of the hotel, they were met if not exceeded. At the surface, this hotel looks gorgeous. Designed in a French Colonial style, it's perched high atop a mountain that overlooks the Pacific. The views are unparalleled, especially the sunset each night. It has an infinity pool that appears to run right into the Pacific. The grounds are well manicured with wild exotic flowers and it seemed like there was a soothing sound of a fountain almost every corner I turned. I mean, it is really a gorgeous hotel.

The service at the hotel is incredible. Any time I walked by an employee of the hotel they would stop smile (genuinely) and greet me. It was actually a little bit bizarre at times to be honest, but at the same time nice. Any thing I wanted, they would get me. Our room was wonderful (we had a villa) and it was nice to wake up staring at the Pacific every morning. The spa was great--got a massage that was reasonable compared to US standards.

My only real complaint about Villa Caletas is the food. Before going on this trip, I read a lot of reviews on this hotel that slammed the food at this hotel. In my mind, I figured that these people were just food snobs who were looking for something horrible to say about this hotel. Wow, I was wrong. I was utterly disappointed. Mind you, I am not a food snob, but I do appreciate a really good meal. I knew the food was going to be expensive, but my girlfriend and I had designated that dinner as the big romantic dinner of the trip. The first thing that struck us as ridiculous was how vague the menu was. It gave almost no description of what you were ordering. Be sure to have your server describe in detail what your ordering, or you may find them bringing something completely different than what you expected.

To make a long story short (because my review it dragging), we left the dining room disappointed. Did it ruin our stay at Villa Caletas? Absolutely not. I recommend this hotel, but be sure to plan only one night at their restaurant. If you go eat in Jaco, I recommend eating at a place called Hicaco. It's right on the beach, has reasonable prices, and you can get an amazing piece of fish.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank chicago6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2006

my husband and i stayed all over costa rica this is an awesome hotel.eeach little villa is all by itself very private and romantic.most have there own pool"beautiful pools".very lush with beautiful floral everywhere.if your looking for a special place with for you and a loved one this is it.the spa is the best and ive been to lots!

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lori c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
585 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
4.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $165 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing