We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed one more day”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fair Oaks, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Should have stayed one more day”
Reviewed May 18, 2006

This was my first trip to Costa Rica. I thought that getting rooms for $85/night was on the high side so paying $120/night sounded extravagent. I've stayed at 5 star resorts so I'm not looking for the lowest priced room to stay at but it seemed like $120 was a lot to pay. I was wrong. The room was the nicest out of 4 places we stayed in Costa Rica. The view alone from the bar and amphitheater is worth the $120 not to mention from the Infinity edge pool. I can only guess how much money was spent developing that resort which is off the main highway and is probably 1000 ft above sea level. We got look down on Los Suenos where there is a Marriott resort. We didn't eat in the restaurant after reading the reviews and one of my friends that stayed at Los Suenos confirmed the reviews on eating at their restaurant...high price, beautiful room, average food, and slow service. There were two weddings while we were there and mostly Americans staying there. You have to drive to get into town but who would want to...you could easily stay there for two days and enjoy the property and views. I wouldn't mind staying in one of the private villas and paying their off season price.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimPFairOaksCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    223
    92
    62
    27
See reviews for
204
770
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2006

Just got back from a three week journey through Costa Rica with my girlfriend. We scheduled our two nights at Villa Caletas right in the middle of the trip because we knew we'd need some luxury accomadations after staying at some budge hotels on the beach. After two nights at the hotel, we left with mixed feelings.

I think people on this website who review Villa Caletas have a tendency to be rather hard on it because they have such high expectations for it. Also, I think for Costa Rica standards it's an excessively expensive hotel, and people feel they should get their money's worth. My expectations for Villa Caletas were certainly set high, and as far as the aesthetics of the hotel, they were met if not exceeded. At the surface, this hotel looks gorgeous. Designed in a French Colonial style, it's perched high atop a mountain that overlooks the Pacific. The views are unparalleled, especially the sunset each night. It has an infinity pool that appears to run right into the Pacific. The grounds are well manicured with wild exotic flowers and it seemed like there was a soothing sound of a fountain almost every corner I turned. I mean, it is really a gorgeous hotel.

The service at the hotel is incredible. Any time I walked by an employee of the hotel they would stop smile (genuinely) and greet me. It was actually a little bit bizarre at times to be honest, but at the same time nice. Any thing I wanted, they would get me. Our room was wonderful (we had a villa) and it was nice to wake up staring at the Pacific every morning. The spa was great--got a massage that was reasonable compared to US standards.

My only real complaint about Villa Caletas is the food. Before going on this trip, I read a lot of reviews on this hotel that slammed the food at this hotel. In my mind, I figured that these people were just food snobs who were looking for something horrible to say about this hotel. Wow, I was wrong. I was utterly disappointed. Mind you, I am not a food snob, but I do appreciate a really good meal. I knew the food was going to be expensive, but my girlfriend and I had designated that dinner as the big romantic dinner of the trip. The first thing that struck us as ridiculous was how vague the menu was. It gave almost no description of what you were ordering. Be sure to have your server describe in detail what your ordering, or you may find them bringing something completely different than what you expected.

To make a long story short (because my review it dragging), we left the dining room disappointed. Did it ruin our stay at Villa Caletas? Absolutely not. I recommend this hotel, but be sure to plan only one night at their restaurant. If you go eat in Jaco, I recommend eating at a place called Hicaco. It's right on the beach, has reasonable prices, and you can get an amazing piece of fish.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank chicago6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

my husband and i stayed all over costa rica this is an awesome hotel.eeach little villa is all by itself very private and romantic.most have there own pool"beautiful pools".very lush with beautiful floral everywhere.if your looking for a special place with for you and a loved one this is it.the spa is the best and ive been to lots!

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lori c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2006

What a beautiful little hotel. It was elegant, the service was excellent, the spa was outstanding, the food was superior, the rooms were superb, the views were incredible...what more do you want? We'd go back in a minute! We stay at Westin, Marriott, Hyatt, Hilton and all the other first class hotels routinely, but this special little hotel, Villa Caletas, has all of them beat.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tvkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2006

My boyfriend and I had planned a trip to Cancun for 11/5-12/05, 3 weeks prior to our trip Hurricane Katrina hit the coast and devastated the Cancun area. We scrambled to make alternative arrangements and found some decent airfare to Costa Rica (a place we had both also wanted to go). At this late date, we went online to investigate. We had planned to stay the 1st night in San Jose (ended up staying closer to the airport at a local B&B type of place which was very nice), 3 nts at Jaco Beach and 2 nts at Manuel Antonio. I had been reading up on all the area properties on TripAdvisor and other sites and was interested in Villa Caletas. Several of the reviews I read said it was over priced and isolated so we chose to head for Jaco proper. When we drove to Jaco Beach for our 3 night stay at Hotel Cocal and Casino, we found it to be a run down (being renovated) Motel 6ish looking place. Our hearts sank and we cancelled right then. We went down the road to the Best Western which was better, but full of families with kids (noisy) - and again looking like it was on Colfax in Denver. We were so disappointed with the "dirty" appearance of Jaco and the shape of the beach front properties, we drove back to where we had seen the sign for Hotel Villa Caletas. This was the perfect place for us! They showed us two rooms which were both gorgeous. They offered us a decent rate (just slightly more than the in-town properties)so we booked it right then (we were lucky they had availability, we realize). It was very romantic, peaceful and beautiful. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The views were spectacular. Our favorite spot was the outdoor restaurant above the small ampitheater. From there we enjoyed breakfast every morning and soaked in the sunset over a light dinner and cocktails one evening. Perfect! We enjoyed a very gourmet dinner in the more formal restaurant on another night which was delicious and beautifully presented. The guest room was spacious with pale yellow/gold walls, dark wood furniture, a unique octagonly shaped wall window and a patio from which to enjoy all the flowers, wildlife and ocean view. Lush jungle all around, monkeys in the trees and gorgeous tropical flowers - the smell was delicious and the ocean breeze soothing. The infinity pool looked like a great place to hang out, but we were too busy sight seeing to stay there. It was a short drive in our rental car to all the local attractions. Just down the road a mile or so, was another of our favorite places, Pura Vida, botanical gardens. This was a bit of a drive along a steep dirt road up to a spacious, green, modern yet very Costa Rican motif restaurant and gift shop surrounded by beautiful gardens filled with tropical trees, flowers,toucans and two waterfalls. Highly recommend this place too! Another day we drove into Jaco, about 2 miles up the road and took the gondola ride up into the jungle to observe the natural wildlife and a small exhibit featuring the jungle snakes and frogs as well as more tropical flowers (I was too chicken to try the tree canopy!). It was a most romantic stay and Hotel Villa Caletas will live fondly in our memories forever! (We are definitely hoping to get back there one day - so many beautiful interesting places to see in this world though!) Will try to get our beautiful pics to accompany this review soon. It is a very special and beautiful place.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Font
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon and absolutely fell in love with this place. Our Master Suite had a beautiful view of the ocean with our own swimming pool. We couldn't get over how gorgeous the grounds were and all the awesome wildlife and surrounding jungle! Everyone we encountered was so friendly and helpful. I don't normally write reviews like this, but I just had to give my opinion after reading so many negative comments about this wonderful treasure! I didn't enjoy Jaco at all, but I will definitely go back to Villa Caletas for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2006

We just returned from Costa Rica and a two night stay at Villa Calletas. We wish it was longer. Unique resort with wonderful views. Our room had a direct view to the ocean and beautiful sunsets. We thought the food was also excellent. The portions were more than I can typically eat, but it was all very well prepared and fresh. I understand they have a new chef. I especially liked the fact that Toucans visited the tree in front of our balcony every morning. We will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubbles2055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
576 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
4.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
0.2 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing