We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Outstanding Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Villa Caletas for 2 nights. When researching this hotel I read many reviews about how many stairs there were to go from one area to another. My wife are in good shape so no problem. (so I thought) I hurt my leg while volunteer dog walking at a local dog shelter right before vacation. Upon checking in we were given room #205, 106 stairs each way to and from the room. (I counted them) This room was one of the farthest rooms out. I went to reception and asked if they had a room with less stairs. A short while later the manager of the hotel, Mr. Rodrigo Dias told me he had another room for us with no stairs. (#34) This room was a free upgrade and it had to be about 5 times the size of the original room. I can't even imagine how much this new room would have cost. It had a jacuzzi and a hot tub on the balcony. The room was up high with a view of the world! Thank you Mr. Diaz! Sometime during the first night our rental car was hit in the parking area. A broken tail light and scratched bumper, not to bad, but I had visions of being at the mercy of the rental car company. I told the hotel office staff and they told me not to worry they had non-stop video and would find out who did it. They spent a lot of time and energy reviewing the video and they gave me the man's name, plate #, and the tourism company he worked for. I thought it would end there, but no they got on the phone and talked with the rental car company. Next the contacted Jaco police for us. EVERYBODY in the office seemed genuinely concerned for us and spent a lot of time to do what they could to help us. They went above and beyond what we ever expected. Thank you! If you're going to stay here with a car, parking is tight, but we discovered there is another parking area just down the hill from the reception area. We stayed in 4 beautiful hotels during our 12 days in Cost Rica and this was the only one where breakfast was not included. I looked at the breakfast menu and it would have cost about $30.00 plus tax and tip for two people. So $35.00 + for breakfast? Maybe I'm a funny guy, but I'd rather give the money away to people who need it before I'd spent that much on breakfast for myself. This was my only negative with this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jad5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your comments. We all are glad to know that you had a great time with us and that our staff was able to assist you in solving these "pesky " moments that can happen during vacations. We look forward for your next visit to Costa Rica !!. Best regards. manager@villa caletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    208
    84
    59
    26
See reviews for
182
692
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Me and my wife stayed in a Villa for 5 nights that we booked through Groupon. The interior of our room was not our favorite but we did not mind since it had a beautiful view of the ocean and we were always busy with activities anyway. The weather was excellent during our trip and we saw many great sunsets from the restaurant, pool, and the gym (it became our favorite spot during the evening to watch for toucans and macaws). The food and drinks were all delicious and the Caletas Breakfast was probably our favorite. Most of the time the hotel felt very private and we rarely saw any other people except for our last day or two. The swimming pool and private beach were so relaxing and we took one of our trips to the beach using the steep trail, which was quite an adventure. The wife was also happy with her spa experience and the concierge and all of the staff were very friendly. We definitely wouldn't mind coming back.

Room Tip: Our room (#28) was one of the further rooms from the main area and had a lot of steps. We only got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review. Toucans and Macaws will be waiting for your next visit !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had an amazing stay in this quaint little hotel just 5 km away from Jaco Beach. We rented a car which I recommend to get to town and back. We had a junior suite with a personal jacuzzi overlooking a phenomenal view of the town and ocean. Great food, friendly service, and beautiful room. The concierge also got us hooked up with two amazing adventures where we were picked up and returned right to the reception. I loved it and would recommend it to anyone needing a perfect get away for two.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, Front Office Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your very nice comments, We strive to give the best service and make each and every stay magical. We hope you will visit us again soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

My friend and I visited Villa Caletas with a Groupon. I do hope the Villa offers this again via Groupon. I would love to return. It is a wonderfully unique older establishment with 5 star service. We wanted a quiet place with scenery, good food and drink. We received so much more. We rented a car in San Jose which I would recommend; the drive is beautiful and having transportation gives you some flexibility to see the closest town, enjoy the local shopping, local restaurants and beach. The Zip Line tour was so much fun and quite reasonable! I would caution you not to take the Horseback Ride to the Falls unless you are in tip top shape. Thank goodness my guide, Jose, saved me with minimum effort! This truly is a quiet, serene, beautiful break away from the working world.

Room Tip: The rooms are scattered so if you have walking issues, please specify when booking! Rooms 35 and 36...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pomelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your warm review !! We love to be unique ! and will always try to give the best to each and every of our guests. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your time with us and are looking forward for your next trip to Costa RIca !!. Pura Vida. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had sunset drinks and dinner at Caletas. I can't speak to this place as a hotel as we didn't stay there overnight but if you are in the Herradura/Jaco area I'd make sunset here a must do. The view is spectacular. I will note that if you are a nervous driver the ride up to the hotel is steep and winding.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your very nice words over our restaurant Anfiteatro !!. we are glad to know that you had a great time with us and hope that you will visit us again soon ans discover the Hotel as a whole resort !! Best resgards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time to Costa Rica. We stayed in a Junior Suite at Villa Caletas for four days. We absolutely loved it. The hotel is very unique, extremely private, with amazing views of the ocean. I can't say enough about the views from our room!!
The food at the restaurant was good but a little pricy. The private beach is beautiful and if you are feeling adventurous you can hike from the hotel to the private beach. My wife and I hiked down and back up. The way down wasn't to bad but hiking back up was brutal! It was challenging but we made it!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Larsonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for you very nice comments. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your first stay in Costa Rica and that Villa Caletas was part of this success. We hope you will visit our beautiful country again and stay with us on another occasion. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I visited VC in June 2014 via a Groupon Deal. The views from our room (30) were amazing! Our room/bathroom were spacious. The staff/service were excellent. The food was great. The grounds were beautiful and relaxing. I will say that if you are someone who desires nightlife, does not enjoy nature, or has a physical disability, this may not be the hotel for you. VC does not use pesticides in an effort to maintain the natural ecology of the rainforest and the hotel is basically built into the side of a mountain which necessitates lots of stairs. Overall, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm review !! It is true that Villa n°30 has an amazing view where nature lover and sunset seeker usually have a great time. We hope you will visit us again soon. Pura Vida !! manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing