We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We traveled with our adult daughters and Jaco was our second destination in CR. Upon arrival at check-in gate, our family was impressed immediately as we began the 1 mile drive (well-lit & paved) up the mountain. The walk to our room (#14) was a little adventure in its own, seeing wildlife and animal sounds along the way. We had arranged for 'extra guests' (our daughters) so the sofas in living room had been swapped out for two nice and comfy twin-bed size cots. The a/c worked very well so we stayed cool, slept well at night, which was the only time we spent in our room. We took the shuttle down to beach first time, but used our rented 4 x 4 after that. The path is safe but a bit steep. One of our daughters walked down one day but didn't attempt the hike up later since it would have been exhausting and taken a while. I think its about 5 minutes by vehicle. There is a bar at the beach and the staff was very nice and accomodating. We didn't have any meals at the hotel only because we enjoy checking out local cafes and restaurants. We did enjoy happy hour by the lovely infinity pool on our final evening. Great drinks and good prices. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at Villa Caletas again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm. 14 but saw Rm. 16 was being developed or renovated and it would be really nice for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovetheyucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your review, We all are glad to know that you had such a great time with us and that the whole family enjoyed the stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit to Costa Rica and Villa Caletas. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    215
    88
    61
    27
See reviews for
191
737
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was my first trip to Costa Rica and I could not have been happier with our room, the service we received and how accommodating all of the staff was. First the views were amazing. We saw monkeys, toucans, frogs, iguana and more right outside our suite. Second, the rooms were spacious and private with comfortable furniture. We stayed in a Junior Suite Superior and it was everything I could have asked for. We had a private pool, balcony and jacuzzi. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating from the front desk to the wait staff. We enjoyed all of the tours we scheduled through the concierge and were pleased with our transfers to and from the airport. Whatever we needed they brought or went out of the way to find. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I loved the Junior Suite Superior. You get an amazing view of the Pacific Ocean, private pool and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you so much for your warm review. All our staff feels very proud of your comments. We internally share all reviews on a daily basis and words like yours push them to give the very best service and experience they can to all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit to Costa Rica and Villa Caletas. Pura Vida !! manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Beautiful Hotel, Amazing Views & Excellent Service

Posted Dec 5, 2013

This hotel, especially the pool view, feels like your looking out at the ocean from heaven! Really was an amazing experience, very relaxing as it is a quiet boutique hotel. Our suite was truly beautiful as well. Highly recommend this hotel... I've been to Costa Rica many times. Each time I'm looking for a fresh experience and we got it here. The setting is gorgeous! The best restaurants near by were Taco Bar (not BELL) and the Hook-Up.... Enjoy! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quesadilla_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your warm review. We are glad to know that you were able to relax and unwind with us. We sure hope you will visit us on your next trip to Costa Rica !! Have a great day. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is set on a mountaintop in the middle of the rain forest. It is totally beautiful, the rooms are well decorated and the service is excellent. You need to be ready to climb around because of the hillside setting. There are stairs everywhere, but the views are out of this world. This place is great for a retreat, a get away from the hustle and bustle of work. There are tours you can take that conveniently pick you up at the hotel, but this is a very isolated setting. Be ready to relax!!
My only complaint was the level of lighting in my room - 31. There was no reading lamp. The night stands we're just empty, no lamp, no alarm clock, nothing. So, I don't know if this was an oversight or intended, but I asked for a reading lamp and got a misfit old thing but it worked. The room had LED lights in the ceiling and that was all. I was constantly using my travel flashlight to get in and out of the safe which was in a dark cabinet. The room was really lovely though, so this was odd to me. Everything else was over the top!

Room Tip: I was in room 31 which is in the main reception building. The rooms are all over the hillside so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke_56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to know that you had such a great time with us. We hope to see you back with us soon ! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed in what was supposed to be the rainy season but it only rained in the evenings and the rest of the time the sun was out and it was beautiful. The infinity pool alone is worth the stay and if the perfect Pacific view and spotless rooms aren't enough the kind and friendly staff make up for anything lacking. A waiter there named Edgardo Carillo is one of the nicest people we have ever met and made our vacation very special.

If I had one complaint it would be the vast amount of insects but being in the middle of the jungle it is to be expected. A little bug spray takes care of that though.

Overall it was an excellent vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleOfCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your warm review. We thank you to point out all these ingredients that make the perfect stay !!. We are looking forward to your next visit to beautiful Costa Rica and hopefully Villa Caletas. Pura Vida. Manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Larissa Banting and Weddings Costa Rica planned my insanely amazing, jaw-dropping, movie-esque wedding at Zephyr Palace this past December. Within 6 months, Larissa and her team helped me put together the wedding of my dreams -- with some very unique requests (fusion ceremony, larger guest list, special events at multiple locations). I never thought I could have a wedding as amazing as I did, and both my rehearsal dinner at the Marriott and wedding day at Villa Caletas/Zephyr Palace exceeded all of my expectations. I 100% recommend Larissa Banting and Weddings Costa Rica if you are planning a destination wedding in CR. As a busy Oprah producer, I had pretty high expectations for my wedding planner (because I produce large scale events at the highest quality in my work), and I walked away feeling proud that I made the right choice with Larissa. I was pretty nervous about it at first especially because everything had to be planned from afar. I never visited the wedding locations prior to my event and that required a ton of faith in Larissa. Anytime I need to speak with her throughout the 6 month planning process, she was there via phone and Skype. We were very budget conscious, and she was very patient with our concerns. Also, my father is handicapped and the wedding site had tons of stairs, and Larissa/team made sure he was comfortable and taken care of throughout the evening. On my wedding day, I felt so connected with Larissa (like she knew what I was thinking before I said it) and so relaxed knowing my event was in her hands. Larissa and Weddings Costa Rica made my wedding unforgettable for my husband and me -- and all of our guests!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dattchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear friends, thank you very much for your warm review. We as a first class destination wedding hotel, strive to work with the best companies in the country. We want our guests to experience incredible moments and we strive to deliver perfection on each and every wedding set at Villa Caletas. . We hope you will visit us soon for your first anniversary ! We wish you the best in life. Pura Vida. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is a great place to stay if you need to get closer to the airport before returning from Costa Rica. We were not the only ones that had this idea - we recognized several people from the patio dinner room at the San Jose airport the next day. Of course we wish we could have stayed longer. This would be a VERY good honeymoon location. The sunset views are breathtaking, and across to the other side you can see sunrises too! The hotel has its own beach which is very nice; you can order food and beverages down there, get towels, relax comfortably, etc. The amenities and staff are impeccable. The Zephyr Palace sister property is even MORE luxurious, if that's even possible. The room rates are refreshingly affordable, I think they make it up some with the food prices though. Still, all in all, this experience is fit for a king at a good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirtski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your comments. We just love your vision of the hotel !! We hope you will visit us back soon. Have a great day. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing