We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic boutique hotel on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica!”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lemoore, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Romantic boutique hotel on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Villa Caletas is a great romantic getaway on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica! Our villa featured a jetted tub over looking our deck and the beautiful view of the rain Forrest. Beyond that was a spectacular ocean view! While having coffee on our deck in the morning we ordered a room service breakfast and watched the Toucans sitting above us in a tree. Right red Macaws flew above the canopy one afternoon as well! The restaraunt on site had wonderful service, and great sea food. The property also has an infinity pool, outdoor theatre, private beach, and a spa. We enjoyed a couples massage immediately after arriving! the staff is always there to meet your needs,but we also felt our privacy was a top priority. Near by is the cute town of Jaco with fun shopping and restaraunts. We also went on a crocodile boat tour, and a ranger led rain forrest hike. Didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Villa Caletas has private villas with oversized king beds or hotel rooms with canopy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerrijhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. We are very to know that you had such a great time with us. As in your words " the staff is always there to meet your needs,but privacy is a top priority ". That is exactly the experience we want our guests to have !! We hope you will visit us soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    220
    92
    62
    27
See reviews for
202
757
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a strange trip to Cost Rica this time. Due to some issues, we were not able to finish our trip. More about that later.

This is a great hotel. We stayed in the Zephyr Palace and had room logistics issues. Randall one of the top bellman I have ever met was able to move us without any hassles and our short stay was terrific. Everything was great, service, room, food, pool, everything.

Then when we had to leave due to a surprize, Frederic the manager did his best to accomadate us.

I cannot tell you how well we were treated.

This is a must stay property in Costa Rica

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your words. We will be waiting for you on your trip to Costa Rica !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review as I lay awake in this odd and uncomfortable hotel room. We were going to originally stay 3 nights but are leaving in the morning for the following reasons.
1) the rooms are damp, I understand, we live in costa Rica! There are things you can do to fix this.
2) terrible beds. And cheap bedding! 5 star by no means.
3) small rooms and bathroom as well they are poorly decorated
4) it's a little out of the way..I understand the view is great but it's still very out of the way
5) poor sleep. Both nights these big nut things fell on the roof, scary!
6) restaurant was alright.. Service was great but the food is hotel quality not restaurant quality.
7) this is the main reason I wanted to leave.. Prostitution, during dinner a couple men showed up with 2 women who clearly were working girls. Dressed so provocative it was disgusting. As a 5 star like they advertise this along brings down the hotel to a all time low.
8) spiders every where! Yes I know what kind they are and they are not super poisonous but they are disgusting and yes they can bite! The golden orb spiders were everywhere and left us feeling uncomfortable every time we looked up. I get saving the world and everything, but this is crazy
9) sad beach smelled gross.

The hotel itself is very run down. Needs a good clean the gardens are very over grown. They advertise a beach, but I would not be advertising a beach that looked like that.
I would not stay at this hotel again we have stayed at many actual 5 star resorts and this is far from any of them. I would give this hotel a 3.5 star mainly for the view and service that's it.
Won't be back and won't recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cabobunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear friend, Thank you for your review. We obviously feel sad that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to find out if everything is fine with our guests during their stay and it seems we were not able to catch your discomfort. I really would have been happy to share your views if you have reach out and try to find solutions. On a last note and speaking of spiders, as you know the hotel is very involved in sustainable Tourism and part of the CST program. We actually just received our Fourth 's Leaf (out of five possible) and are working hard so the hotel can run in perfect harmony with natural surroundings. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The villas are spacious. Breathtaking vistas. Watching the sunset while swimming in the infinity pool was surreal. The service is prompt and staff
very personable yet professional. The food prices are a bit high. A lot of stairs and steep and slippery alleys (when it is raining/wet) can be tricky for some people. Overall, it is a gorgeous hotel. I'd definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEB1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you so much for your kind words, We are very happy to know that you had sucha great time with us. We hope to see you back soon with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

my daughter got married here in august,she got married in the terrace room, it was perfect, the registrar was brilliant and really made the ceremony special, we had an off the cuff lunch as we were booked in for dinner later that night,the food was perfect as was the service.
we had a pre booked dinner that evening and i would defy you to eat better food anywhere in the world, it was just perfect from start to finish.
in summery, the staff were brilliant the wine was great and the food exceptional.
i would recommend this hotel to any one

Room Tip: room 10 is one of the bridal suites, its gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suekiernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your warm words. We do try to give the best we can in any occasion and make magical moment stay for ever in everybody's mind. All our staff is proud to know that your Wedding ceremony was a success and that all your family went back home full of great memories to share ! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful place and view were amazing. Gorgeuos lush green landscapes.Good hospitality of the local. Rooms were clean the room service was excellent. If lucky will get to see some wild life.Will definitely recommend this. This hotel is close to downtown,shopping is good and beaches are unique

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 78734cruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear friends, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you not only enjoyed the hotel, the service and your room , but also our landscapes that make you feel like really being surrounded by nature. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This has to be one of the nicest hotels I´ve stayed at. And has probably the best ocean view of the Central Pacific area, if not of all the Pacific coast. Rooms are very nice and romantic. Food and drinks are great. And the hotel staff is very attent and courteous! Totally recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oscar Federico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you very much for your kind words. All our staff is feeling proud for your comments and is waiting for you on your next stay !!. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing