We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing sunset”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Most amazing sunset”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous, every villa is different and beautifully decorated. The spa is lovely, the staff is friendly and helpful. The main pool has a gorgeous view of the pacific. If you stay here I recommend renting a car on your way to jaco, keep it through your stay so that you can drive out to town and the multiple beaches in the area. Go down to hermosa, jaco beach or punta Leona they are worth it. Also, make sure you view their sunset, it's the most amazing sunset I've ever seen.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyMinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review !
It is true that the sunset at Villa Caletas is recognized as a must see !!. We are glad you could enjoy all the other facets of the hotel too !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    222
    92
    62
    27
See reviews for
203
762
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went there to celebrate my wife birthday, we enjoyed a beautiful sunset at their amphitheater, amazing service from all the staff (from Don Rafeal at the main entrance to the General Manager who kindly stop to say hi). Special thank to Edgar our waiter and Don Dougles who put all this together for us! (kudos!!!)
W'll be back!
Pura Vida!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBAWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear friend, thank you very much for your kind comments. It is allways a pleasure for us to know that guests not only enjoyed the place but also the service we give. We strive to give the best of us every day and we thank you for your words. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VIRGINIA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

PROS: The cliffside villa we reserved (a Junior suite) was spacious, unique --- hot pink and black --- and had a stunning, tropical jungle/ocean views. The large porch was totally private and had a hot tub. Landscaping was LUSHLY TROPICAL. A Toucan perched in a tree right beside our porch the 1st day. Staff were extremely pleasant; the concierge, Laura, was especially helpful. Meals we had at the terrace restaurant were delicious Costa Rican specialties presented beautifully, some wrapped in palm leaves. Sunset drinks in the mini-colosseum seating were perfect.
CONS: The beach (way down below) is accessible only by their jeep or a LONG, steep, jungle-y walking trail. They do provide walking sticks, and you will need them. The beach itself is so rocky it is not very desirable, even tho' there are comfy cabanas and a gracious attendant providing beach towels and serving food/drinks if desired. If you plan to swim, wear shoes! The one hotel pool is lovely, mostly shallow but small. We paid a driver to take us to the black sand Playa Herradura which we enjoyed one day, and we ate a nice Costa Rican lunch at the Pelicano restaurant on that beach.
While there is a beautiful yoga studio, there is only instruction on the weekend. There was confusion about whether or not we were even permitted to use it ourselves, which we finally did as my travel companion is a yoga instructor herself.
In summary, go there if you want a secluded, romantic getaway. Otherwise, keep looking...

Room Tip: I think we spent more than necessary in order to get two beds. Probably you should call re your des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGrandma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review ! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your room and the Toucans that came to visit you !!. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the newly-built suites, with its own pool and a short walk down from the main hotel. Views from the large balcony were stunning, with capuchin monkeys seen frolicking in the trees below on our first evening. Shame the wet weather ruled out any proper sunsets, which would have been magnificent from the balcony. Our package included a great selection of a la carte breakfasts at the semi-outdoor Amphitheater restaurant. Although we didn't partake in the spa, the setting and facilities looked inviting were we in more of a mood to splurge. Ditto for the handmade crafts and textiles in the boutique. The only annoyance during our 2-nights stay was during check-out when the lady at reception charged us for the breakfasts - this was of course rectified but only after a seemingly unnecessary delay.

A great base for the Jaco region, including the golf and facilities at Los Suenos, away from the surfing horde.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lostinhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review ! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your Junio suite superior. They are indeed a very good option and as you said boast from an amazing view from the bay and the nature around. We hope to see you back with us soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Villa Caletas is a little far from town, but they make it very easy to get a taxi ($20) and head to Jaco, or they can book any tour/adventure you want to go on. The restaurant was very good for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The pool and views were amazing. The walk to the beach was long and pretty tough but definitely something to do at least once. The beach is very rocky and not recommended for swimming, but we went in and it wasn't bad at all. It's best to go at low tide so you can walk around and explore more while to tide is out. Rooms were clean, and out suite had an amazing view. If your looking to be able to walk places and to town this isn't the place for you, but if you don't mind taking a taxi and enjoying the grounds of the resort then definitely check out Villa Caletas.

Room Tip: We stayed ocean view and it was excellent. Room 34 was also very close to central location of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review ! We are glad to know that you had such a great moment with us. We hope to see you back with us soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Villa Caletta's is just what all the positive reviews say. The only thing I would mention is that you are in a forest. Think big spiders, bugs, and roaches. The ambiance is lovely, but if you can't handle these oversized creatures, you are better off staying closer to town. WE Had a great time, but I would highly recommend getting a car so you can do what you want to. We would have died never being able to leave. We got a GPS and did so much that way. Seven days in Jaco was way to long for us. We loved Manuel Antonio. We are in our late 30's married, not crazy, so Jaco at night was a bit yucky. Our room here was super clean, staff friendly and it is breathtaking. I had seen someone else say that they did not get their wakeup call, we also had a problem with that which could have resulted in us missing our tour.

Room Tip: We staye in a Villa. I don't know what all of them are like, but they are pretty small. Room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear friends, thank you very much for your review. As you shared in your review, nature has create wonderful insects that all of our guests can approach in a safe way. That is part of the experience of the Tropical Forest !! As we have said before, Villa Caletas is deeply involved into Sustainable Tourism and will do all that can be done to keep them in their natural environment.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in January, just Stunning. Rooms were amazing. View Spectacular. We stayed 3 nights, went to Tabacon for 2 nights and came back for 3 more nights. Small boutique hotel in Great Location, on top of mountain, with a beach. Incredible sunsets. Very close to Zip-lining, monkey and butterfly farms, Hermosa Beach (Surfing Capital), Jaco, alligators pits, active volcano's, hiking with hanging walking bridges.

Room Tip: Really, almost any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear friends, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that could not only enjoyed the hotel but all the activities around. Villa Caletas can indeed be a wonderfull base camp to take avantage of all the incredible options around the country !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
548 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
4.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing