We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location of this hotel, whilst remote (not walking distance to anything including a beach) is unbelievably beautiful. The hotel is 5 stars and although once there you are pretty much captive, the hotel will shuttle you anywhere within reason.
I had a deluxe double room with sea view which was pretty small and fairly basic and lacked some of the amenities of a 5 star hotel (robes, slippers etc) and felt that the rate per night was steep for the quality and what was provided.
That said, the restaurant, bar, pool area and vistas are impeccable and no doubt contribute to rate. A great place to spend a few nights to just relax and do very little.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffin257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very very much for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we do hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    216
    91
    62
    27
See reviews for
197
746
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I actually had the good fortune of meeting one of the owners during my stay and was absolutely delighted by his friendliness and light hearted attitude.

He explained that the beach was actually washed away by a hurricane many years ago and was slowly comin back naturally. During High Tides the beach was spectacular.

Tons of wildlife on the grounds, great service and just a generally positive ambiance. I will certainly revisit for many years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you very very much for your review. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was truly amazing. Villa Caletas was our final stop in Costa Rica. After spending time in larger more congested resorts, it was refreshing to have a quiet moment in a place so serene that words cannot describe. The property is beautiful and very well kept. The service and staff were exceptional. We stayed in a Villa with an ocean view. Just breathtaking! Sunsets in the evening in the amphitheater overlooking the Pacific is not to be missed. It was all just perfect. Every detail attended to. Even the music throughout the property was amazing. I would love to have a playlist to remind me of this wonderful experience. If you have health concerns you may want to make mention of that because the property is well spread out and there are a lot of stairs depending on where you stay. I got a good workout every day going up and down stairs but I enjoyed that too.
My only regret, I did not stay here longer

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very very much for your review. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we do hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I visited for a friend's wedding. Upon arrival to the airport the couple had arranged for shuttle services to the resort and sent us detailed information about who was expected on each shuttle and what times to expect to leave. We were able to find the shuttle driver easily enough, but he seemed to have very little idea as to whom and how many people he was picking up. Through our own initiative we were able to locate everyone on the shuttle (although many of us were strangers to each other) and leave together.

The trip to the resort from the hotel takes about an hour. The resort itself is located in a jungle overlooking the beach. It takes at least 20 minutes to get to the grounds from the turn off from the street. Unless you want to spend all of your time at the resort (and trust me, you won't) you'll have to factor that in to every single trip you take off the property. More of an annoyance than anything.

On check in, our room was clean and relatively well-maintained despite the clearly older structure and fixtures. The view was tremendous and gave us the impression that we were the only people there! We overlooked a valley and the ocean. There were no structures or pathways in our view, we never saw a single person out the window and had no worry that anyone could see in. The bathroom had a nice open, giant shower which is huge for me. We did have a few issues with those tiny tropical ants that seem to get into anywhere we've stayed in the tropics, we had a resident gecko - which I loved because I hate bugs. We saw very few bugs in the room - I'm thanking the gecko for his voracious appetite. We also spent time in several of the suites / villas and were impressed with the grounds and conditions of all the rooms we were in.

The grounds were reasonably well kept. There is a species of spider endemic to the area that spans a few inches, is creepy looking and spins webs prolifically. The resort is in the jungle, so fine, as long as they stay out of my room, which they did. For the first few days it seemed that they managed to destroy or move any spiders spinning webs across the pathways. On the fourth day we did notice a spider in a web at eye / head level that I almost walked into across one of the main stairways that stayed there at least 24 hours.

The pool area and amphitheater are very attractive, but don't expect to be served drinks or food correctly or in a timely manner or with any semblance of courtesy. Every time I asked for anything (in Spanish or English) the waiter would look very confused and wander off. I routinely waited 30-40 minutes for a beverage (even bottled beer located in a cooler standing behind the guy at the kiosk who took orders) and several times received the wrong drink. The food service was terrible. The poolside / amphitheater menus are mundane and uninteresting and the food is average, at best, if it ever comes. On the day of the wedding I waiting over an hour for french fries I ordered and only got them after I walked up for the third time and told them I need to get cleaned and dressed for the wedding - if you can't bring my food immediately, then just cancel the order because I need to leave.

The exception to the abysmal food and service was their upscale restaurant where we received decent service and decent food for a premium price. (As opposed to the premium price we paid for terrible service and edible at best food we received elsewhere at the resort).

The only acceptable (and actually quite good) service we received was at the activities desk where tours and activities were scheduled easily and accurately including transportation off the property. No fuss, no muss. The staff there was friendly and welcoming. If only that could spread across the resort it wouldn't be such a disappointment.

FIVE STARS - LAUGHABLE. Aside from location, this s a THREE STAR HOTEL AT BEST - ON A GOOD DAY. We undoubtedly will never return and discourage anyone from visiting. IF YOU'RE GOING TO PAY FIVE STAR PRICES, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE and perhaps get what you pay form.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r-gun623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you very very much for your review. We have paid close attention to your comments. We hope you will change your mind and hopefully visit us again. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but we visited with friends for an evening. They have a gorgeous Greek amphitheater facing the ocean where guests can delight in magnificent sunsets whilst listening to classical music playing softly. The waiters are courteous and efficient even to the point of providing small tables for those who wish to enjoy their dinner along with the view. Just wow!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartandDenese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friends thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had such a great time with us. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta Lake, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spending time on the private beach was the best time my husband and I had on our 12 day honeymoon in Costa Rica. We felt like celebrities. we had our own cabana,could order drinks and food (both were fantastic) plus we saw all sorts of wild life. we saw 2 Macaw's, tons of crabs, sting rays, jelly fish, wahoos, coatis, and other unknown fish - all without actually getting in the water. It is rocky so there is no laying in the sand, but there are beach chairs. Plus we found lots of amazing shells in the rocks. The restaurant was great service, and our breakfast's were so delicious. The room was out of the world breathtaking. Pictures do not do it justice. We had room 35 that was best views with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the ocean. Our dinner was slightly disappointing. for our 1 week "anniversary" we made reservations at Mirador - the fine dinning restaurant. we showed up for our reservation on to find out that Mirador decided not to open up on Saturday like they usually do. We received no explanation, just that our reservation has been moved to the usual dinning area. we were bummed because it was going to be our first fancy dinner as husband and wife and i had made reservations like 2 weeks prior. anyways the other restaurant was good, but for the price the presentation was lacking and the taste was not spectacular. for amazing food and presentation try graffiti wine bar, and for great food in more laid back atmosphere try Taco Bar. Overall, great experience and perfect for a honeymoon - worth the price

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalinj_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friend thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had such a great time with us and were able to see so much wild life around you. We are sorry that you could not enjoy the Mirador Restaurant has you have planned. We are working harder on comunication to avoid these situation in the future. We hope to see you soon back with us.. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We ate lunch at the Anfiteatro restaurant and really loved it. We had gone on one of the crocodile tours on the nearby Rio Tarcoles and wanted to go somewhere afterward that had nice views. The beautiful outdoor restaurant at Villa Caletas did not disappoint. The view across the water was absolutely breathtaking. It's an elegant little spot, and the service was really warm and friendly. We had a tilapia and shrimp ceviche that was served with crispy plantain chips that was so good. Also had a nice fresh salad that was perfect for a hot day. The restaurant has a beautifully columned amphitheater - lots of good photo opportunities here; it would be a perfect spot for a wedding. Prices were high, but we expected that given the setting and thought it was definitely worth it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank volcanogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Friend thank you very much for your review. We hope you will visit us again soon and enjoy the view from the Amphitheater !!. best reagards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
522 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
#1 of 2 in Punta Leona
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing