We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for relaxing”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
sycamore,il
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for relaxing”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Let me start by saying this hotel has Great views and one of the most beautiful pools in the world, This hotel is all about relaxing and great views. My wife and I like this hotel and who would not ?. We are more active on vacation then relaxing so with that be said it was a little more laid back then we perfer. but if you perfer relaxing and tranquillty this is the best you will get in Costa Rica. This place is unique and beatiful, The rooms are very nice and private you feel like your staying in a mansion not a hotel. sunset at this hotel is quite frankly AWESOME !! and it is a big deal at this hotel. This hotel is 4.5 star and the views and pool is a 5.0 star.

Room Tip: You should try to get a room that faces the ocean to take advantage of the stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetSycamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us and we hope to see you soon back with us. best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    222
    92
    62
    27
See reviews for
203
762
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the villa Caletas in early February for a site visit for my wedding next year. My fiancé and I loved the beauty of the resort and the helpfulness of the entire Villa Caletas team. I only gave four stars because it is very expensive and I was expecting a little bit more hospitality since we are spending a lot of money there for our wedding../we did get nickled and dimed throughout our stay. We stayed in a Junior suite that was very close to the concierge house so we were in walking distance to everything. It was so beautiful and had an indoor and outdoor jacuzzi and hammock overlooking the jungle. We walked up and used the infinity pool at the Zephyr palace, truly magnificent. Some people complained about bugs, you are in the rain forest so it's to be expected. We saw some interesting looking creatures around the grounds and did see a couple of cockroaches in the room. This could very EASILY be remedied by putting a metal sweeper on the door as there was a good inch to inch and a half gap between the door and the ground. For anyone thinking of getting married here, the event coordinator is wonderful. I was a little hesitant about not using a wedding planner but that went away after meeting with Pilar. Pilar is very organized, responsive and great to work with; she gave us lots of tips and ideas for our wedding and was very accommodating. My fiancé and I are both very excited to return next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We are so happy to know that you had such a great time with us. We will be waiting for you, your friends and family for this very special day that we will share with all of you. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
169 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was very happy to learn that I had to attend a meeting in this property. However, although they have a stunning view and nice pool, the place in extremelly overpriced. The room where I stayed while it was large (too large), it was poorly distributed. For instance, the living room and the bath tub were large but the toilet area was tiny and very uncomfortable. The whole property is over-decorated to the point that in some places it looks tacky. Why are there so many lion heads all over the place? What is up with the Egyptian symbols? And the greek columns? Please define a theme and stick with it. The internet wifi was very erratic and when you are on business this is a problem. It was difficult to visit the beach early in the morning or for the sunset because the hotel bus makes trips between 9 am and 3 pm, the hike to the beach takes about 1 hour downhill, uphill is VERY steep and hard work. The food was very good but I think it was too expensive. The restaurant staff was very accommodating and kind. I believe that the price is a good reason to look elsewhere, especially if you want to be close to the beach. Fortunately the country offers many options.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Friend, Thank you for your review. We do know that Villa Caletas is a special place. You will not find anything close to our decoration anywhere in the world. We do know too, that some people might not enjoyed it !!. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the view, the food and your room. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wonderful experience, private, quite and well serviced. Everything was perfect and relaxing for some very tired travelers. Suites are perfect for accommodating a tag along son. Everyone was comfortable and private. Private infinity pool was completely over the top. See you next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review!. We do hope to see you next year so you can enjoyed Costa Rica again with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in Los Suenos but made the short drive to the restaurant on a friend's recommendation! Wow! I can't believe they don't film a movie here. Just incredible. But I can't stop at the just the scenery, the food and service were fantastic as well. Great wine list! Truly nothing negative to say except I wish I had stayed at the hotel. Next time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USShredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you for your kind words, we hope you will come back soon and enjoy the Hotel too !!, Best regards, manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a junior suite superior room at this hotel and it was fantastic. Room 88 is on the top floor of a separate but discrete block and had impressive rainforest and ocean views.
The room was huge (approx 76m2) and had a comfortable kingsized bed, a whirl pool bath and a jacuzzi and hammock on the balcony.
The food was reasonbly priced with fair sized portions and I would recommend room service to enjoy a private meal on your balcony.
The infinity pool has stunning views and watching the sunset from the amphitheatre whilst enjoying a cocktail is not to be missed, even if the accompanying music is a little cheesy!!
We took the complimentary shuttle to the private beach which was stunning and virtually empty.
The whole hotel area is beautifully clean with landscaped gardens and all the staff were very helpful.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 25Silver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your Junior Suite Superior. As in your words, the private terrace is the perfect spot to enjoyed a nice cocktail while watching the amazing view !. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We didn 't stay at this beautiful old hotel .but we took advantage of visiting the cocktail bar ,which is open to visitors to view a sunset from their ampitheatre . There are many places to view sunsets in the area,but this has to be the most spectacular. We would recommend this attraction ,as a must for anyone staying in the Jaco area of Costa Rica

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear friend thank you very for your comment. We hope you will visit us on your next trip and stay with us so you can feel the whole experience of Villa Caletas !!. best regards. manager@villacaletas,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
549 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
4.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing