We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Went for the sunset and dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Went for the sunset and dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place has a stunning view overlooking the Pacific Ocean with their very pricey cocktails going on sale for $5 USD for the sunset. The hotel is beautiful and the scenery is amazing. It is totally worth the cab ride from Jaco and the overpriced drinks to see this view.

The food was very good, but also very expensive, and the service was just good, for the the prices I would expect more.

My recommendation is to go for the sunset and cocktails and go somewhere else for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjoemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had a great time with us and enjoyed your dinner at the Amphitheater. I just would like to underline that our drinks and our food prices are at the same level than other restaurants you will find around us ( for example at the Los sueños Resort and Marina). You can actually check them at our web site where you will find menus and prices of our restaurants and bar.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    208
    84
    59
    26
See reviews for
182
692
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Pros - great view, decent service, wildlife around u (we saw a few iguanas, monkeys, sloths & birds).

Cons - remote location (10 km from Jaco, on the top of a hill), overly priced food & drinks, private beach is not really a beach (rocky) & requires a 15 min ride down the hill.

So we stayed there from Dec 12 - 15, booked our stay through hotels.com. BEWARE hotels.com bookers - we were given a 2 single-bed room with the worst possible view (looking at a couple of trees and a wall), and the front desk would not apologize or change our room. So they ended up pulling the 2 beds together to make a king sized bed! They wanted $75 a night for an upgrade to a good room with a decent view, which I wish I had known in the first place.

We were in shock that night looking at their food menu - USD $16 for a chick quesadilla! Overly priced, but tasty though.

I am giving them three staffs only because of the wildlife and staff (/excluding the front desk). Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GanaK98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you loved the view and the Wilde life around the hotel. After reading your comments it seems that you are blaming us more than everything for a reservation that you did with a third party online agency and for not giving you a free upgrade that you believe you were intalted to. When reserving with online agency, guests should pay closer attention to what they are doing, as the hotel cannot be held responsible for everything. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed on December 5 and 6. A nice property but it appears they are letting it go. Although the rooms were clean, the outside of the building is in need cleansing. The property is showing its age. Even the shrubs are growing into the sidewalk area's.
We also stayed at The Parador down near Manuel Antonio was more than expected, spic and span clean, overly friendly staff, tremendous experience. I expected more from Villa Caletas.
Lastly I made an error in leaving a jacket after check out. The hotel found it and said DHL wanted over $100 to send it to the US. Regular mail would cost over $50. How can this be true? This is still not resolved. The cost of the lightweight jacket new was less than $100. Very dissappointed with their service. They were going to charge me to send it back but I can't even get them to this this after trading numerous emails. I urge you to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Friends , thank you for your review . We are glad to know that you enjoyed your room. Talking about what you will see around you at Villa Caletas is a bit about " the Style" of the hotel. One might call it "let go", others will see "The Magic touch of Caletas".
Concerning your Jacket, it is true that DHL is asking 74 000 Colones ($150.00) to send it from Costa Rica to the USA Illinois, the package weight is 1.3 kg, about 30 cm long / 20 large and 10 cm high.
You can actually check the price by yourself at DHL web page, they offer an option to check prices worldwide. The regular post service from Costa Rica is asking for $ 99.00 with insurance. We are waiting for your answer. We can also keep it at the hotel and wait for somebody that could pick it up for your during a trip to Costa Rica if you believe the cost of the freight is not worth the Jacket.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I am not much of a reviewer. As long as the good outweighs the bad as is the case with most luxury hotels we're happy. I have never felt compelled to review a place until I had the unfortunate experience of staying at the Villa Caletas. This was by far the most unpleasant "luxury" hotel experience we have ever had. From the second we arrived, the staff was rude and acted like we were there for them and not the other way around. The vibe was pretentious, gaudy, and snobbish. The staff also seemed completely indifferent – no pleasantries or welcoming. This is not the place you stay at if you enjoy/appreciate the little things nice hotels usually like to do for you. We never felt or were made to feel very comfortable.

Hotel – not the ideal location to get around if you don’t rent a car. The hotel will charge you $20 (one-way) to go into Jaco, which is about a 15 minute ride. Do not exchange currency here as their exchange rate was the lowest we experienced while in the country. We had a mishap while exchanging too. The guy at the front desk could not compute the rate and shorted our change. Luckily, we caught it, and naturally, he did not apologize for the mistake.

Rooms - the room itself was fine (Jr. Suite Superior), but located in an isolated building outside the main security gate, which we did not like because we felt removed, nor the walk back to our room at night in the dark. One of the managers did offer us an upgrade and let us check out the room before deciding to move or not. The upgraded room was much smaller than what we were in and considered it to be a downgrade, so decided to stay put. Even though the problem wasn’t resolved, the hotel did not try to reconcile any further.

Food – only has one restaurant that’s open regularly – overly expensive with poor value and quality.
(On Saturday night, they held a concert in the amphitheatre. We thought it might be fun and looked into going only to find out they charge their own guests $15pp to attend which also gained you access to the main restaurant. Since we didn’t pay the only dinning option was their really expensive place that’s only open every once in a while. After spending a lot to stay here in the first place, I was surprised they would charge for such a thing)

Beach – just a heads-up this is not really a beach. It’s a rock cliff with some beach chairs on it. There’s a shuttle that takes you from the main hotel to the cliff that leaves every hour and picks up on the :30 to bring you back. Both times we went down (once to the beach and once after an activity which dropped us off there) the shuttle was more than 20 minutes late picking us up. No apology from the driver, just a scowl. I have read numerous reviews telling similar stories about their shuttle service being late and the hotel doesn’t want to take responsibility for offering a service if cannot fulfill.

Overall, this was just a huge disappointment. We did not feel this place was worth was cost and that the value was poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GregS875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you for your review. We are sad to know that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. It is true that the hotel is at the top of a mountain and far from the noise of the city, but being in the middle of the rain forest and only 15 minutes away from town is ( we believe) not that bad.
We are glad to know that you loved your Junior Suite Superior that are conveniently situated 100 meters from the main gate and where our bells boys can pick you up with our golf carts at any time just after calling them. I am very happy that you are talking about our Concerts, i would like guests to know that we do have an annual festival at the hotel, and we are very proud to say that the main idea of these concerts is to promote arts and help young guitarists in their career with part of the proceedings. (that explain why we do charge guests and non guests). We are sorry that you had to wait for the shuttle after your tour with the Hotel's private
boat. As you will understand these are two different activities. The shuttle goes up and down every 30 minutes to and from the beach, tours from the Gulf of Nicoya can come back at different time due to tide, current or just because guests are enjoying it to much !!.
On a final note we hope that you will keep an overall "good vibe " of your trip to Costa Rica.
Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel at the top of a cliif with wonderful views and was our favorite part of the trip.
Room: Our room was the best part of the hotel. After receiving a great value on Groupon we were able to afford the junior suite which is off in a separate building. Our room had a private terrace and jacuzzi as well as a private pool for the building. My favorite moments were enjoying breakfast or a drink on the terrace watching the macaws and toucans. Wifi and Cable were also great in the room and made the trip effortless in terms of doing research during the trip.
Food/Drink: Were definitely overpriced and only so so based on what we had. Breakfast was the best value but since our room had a refrigerator i was just as happy going to supermarket in Herradura picking up snacks and relying on those.
Beach: Was not worth the trek pool is a much better deal for sunbathing and relaxing
On grounds jungle trail: was very steep make sure to grab walking stick or wear hiking boots
Overall i would recommend Villa caletas for the views alone. Head into Jaco for dinner the food there was excellent.

Room Tip: Junior Suites were beautiful. We took a peek at some of the other rooms and they were much smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabs624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Friends , thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you had such a great time with us and that you enjoyed your Junior Suite Superior. They really boast a great view,
and as you said Macaws and Toucans are your closets neighbors ! Best regards
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We truly enjoy coming here for cocktails and watching the sunset from the amphitheater that offers the most breathtaking views of colors, lightening on the horizon and a serene place to let your mind relax. Great place to entertain out of town guests during sunset.

Personally, we preferred staying at the hotel back when it was small and less built-up however, the amphitheater is still lovely and the location is the only part of Jaco that we enjoy visiting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you for your review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the sunset from the amphitheater. We do hope to see you soon back with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel at the top of a cliif with wonderful views. The service was excellent.
The rooms were good but a bit small.
Restaurant is good but expensive. Beef dishes should be avoided.
Make sure you are there for sunset as the vew is fantastic

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seni0r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.2 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing